We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not eat here again”

Bisou Bistro at The Canal House
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in a charming 1790's stone house in historic Harpers Ferry-Bolivar, Our Menu is seasonally changed to offer classic New Orleans Cajun & Creole French cuisine. We focus on, fresh, delicious, local food in a friendly and casual atmosphere. While holding true to our South Louisiana Heritage, we also have developed gluten free and allergy sensitive versions of most items. Owner & Executive Chef Kevin Plunkett, a New Orleans Native and Classically trained French Chef, is passionate about sustainability and supporting local producers whenever possible. Together with his wife Amanda, they have made a commitment to transform a little slice of West Virginia into Cajun Country with a dash of South Louisiana Hospitality and traditional New Orleans fare.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would not eat here again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I hate to write this, but our experience at the Canal House was abominable. We both had the "Brunswick Stew" which should have been renamed "flavorless, tepid, thin soup with dry chicken chunks." I could NOT believe just how flavorless it was. I needed to put about a teaspoon of salt into it to make it edible. The bread was dry and stale as well. Plus, we asked for sweet tea and were given unsweetened tea. I just ate it because I was starving and needed something, anything, even this dreadful soup.

Then there was the bill - $26.00. Seriously. Just paid it and left. There was no point in complaining because it was clear this is just what they put out of their kitchen. Sad sad sad.

We left the restaurant still hungry, went down the hill, and ate another meal within 30 minutes.

I'm still stunned. This was the worst food I've ever been served in a restaurant. Maybe they were just having a bad day. I hope that's it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VerySatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriegsells, Owner at Bisou Bistro at The Canal House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am sorry that you had a bad experience at the Canal House Cafe. I wish you had let us know how unhappy you were at the time because you would not have been charged. We would have tried to remedy the situation immediately. We want to know if something we serve is bland so that it can be corrected. If you would please contact the restaurant directly we would be happy to issue you a full refund with an invitation to return and try us again, of course the meal would be paid for by Canal House Cafe. Thank you for letting us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Creative cuisine in a historic building with a piano.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had the interesting experience of being able to perform on the piano for the fellow diners on one of the two evenings when my wife and I enjoyed dinner at this place. The menu changes daily and is surprisingly creative for a small town. The prices are also reasonable. This is my favorite restaurant in the uptown section of Harpers Ferry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank StevenJonKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
433 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 551 helpful votes
“Less Than Meets The Eye”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went here for dinner with two friends based on the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Plain Jane interior akin to eating in someone's underfurnished livingroom. Menu arrived printed on a single sheet of white printer paper. It consisted of two appetizers, two salads and three entrees. The entrees were priced between $15 and $16. Aps between $4 and $7. Roasted Pork Loin, Flank Steak with Green Peppers and a vegetarian Lentil dish served with Beets and an odd tasting 'Protein' sausage. We ordered the pork and the lentils. Good sized portions with a sprig of fresh Rosemary. Rosemary was the predominate flavor in all of the entrees.

The pork was a thick cut slice which was dry and slightly tough. As if it had been made earlier in the day and kept on a warming tray. The meat lay on a bed of pureed carrots that had the texture of Gerber baby food. The lentils were dry and flavorless. The bread which accompanied the meal was very good. Freshly baked and quite tasty.

Service was slow as our server 'Michelle' was not only responsible for taking and serving our orders but also had to clean and set the tables after the customers left. There were three couples there besides ourselves. All of them appeared to be of retirement age.

We complained about the lentils and Michelle graciously removed the charge from our bill. We understand that the menu changes every day depending on available ingredients. Perhaps we just visited at the wrong time though we will not chance another visit. All in all we were quite disappointed given the restaurant's great write-ups.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food in harpers ferry, WV, area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I recently visited Harpers Ferry for an extended weekend and found the best food at the Canal House. It is a delightful and elegant restaurant with a creative menu new each day, fresh ingredients and not expensive. Due to some arcane WV law having to do with proximity to churches, they cannot serve alcohol, but you can bring your own. Like all restaurants in the town, they don't stay open late, so call ahead for closing time. But unlike most other restaurants, this one is not geared to the touristy crowd but rather focused on providing a truly great dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank haw2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Terrific salad and ice cream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped in for a later night snack before heading to our lodgings for the night and just had the Roasted Fruit Salad -- it knocked our socks off. REALLY great salad for six bucks. The ice cream is made at a nearby Amish Farm and we got ample portions for $3.50. Terrific service and wonderful environment.

Visited September 2012
2 Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bisou Bistro at The Canal House also viewed


Been to Bisou Bistro at The Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing