We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Terrific salad and ice cream!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bisou Bistro at The Canal House

Bisou Bistro at The Canal House
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in a charming 1790's stone house in historic Harpers Ferry-Bolivar, Our Menu is seasonally changed to offer classic New Orleans Cajun & Creole French cuisine. We focus on, fresh, delicious, local food in a friendly and casual atmosphere. While holding true to our South Louisiana Heritage, we also have developed gluten free and allergy sensitive versions of most items. Owner & Executive Chef Kevin Plunkett, a New Orleans Native and Classically trained French Chef, is passionate about sustainability and supporting local producers whenever possible. Together with his wife Amanda, they have made a commitment to transform a little slice of West Virginia into Cajun Country with a dash of South Louisiana Hospitality and traditional New Orleans fare.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Terrific salad and ice cream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped in for a later night snack before heading to our lodgings for the night and just had the Roasted Fruit Salad -- it knocked our socks off. REALLY great salad for six bucks. The ice cream is made at a nearby Amish Farm and we got ample portions for $3.50. Terrific service and wonderful environment.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    92
    42
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I came here twice during Labor Day weekend. We ordered primarily seafood dishes, which were all terrific in terms of quality of ingredients (mostly local and organic) and preparation. The menu changes daily so it's hard to make specific recommendations, but it's well worth the trip if you're in the neighborhood. Lastly, the decor is quite charming and makes for a relaxing evening, particularly after a day of hiking or outdoor activity.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second trip - food as good as the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had lunch; started with a delicious soup - tomato with italian sausage & black beans, served with fresh baked bread. Next we ordered sandwiches - turkey w/swiss again served on fresh baked bread with a touch of dijion; the turkey was so moist. Came with an interesting & tasty side dish that had lentils, beans, and other vegetables that were combined and seasoned perfectly. Large portions, we shared the soup and bread and I took home 1/2 of my turkey sandwich & side dish. I only wish I had room to try the desserts! Maybe next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adew4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice little local joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I came here for our anniversary meal and the staff was exceptionally friendly. Everything is locally sourced, the menu changes daily and best of all - BYOB!

The only thing is we felt the chicken was really dry... but that may be because the chef has to learn a new menu daily? Overall it was a nice evening.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Restaurant with Great Healthy/Local Options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Perfect Little Restaurant with Great Healthy/Local Options. Only 4 or 5 options on the menu each cost $9.00 but all delicious!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 276Robb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bisou Bistro at The Canal House also viewed

 

Been to Bisou Bistro at The Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing