We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the first restaurant you notice, but food was good.”
Review of Cannonball Deli

Cannonball Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the first restaurant you notice, but food was good.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant while on Potomac Street in Harpers Ferry. We noticed the outside back patio and inquired about inside seating. This restaurant is a complete block front to back, so rather than walk around the block we were directed inside through the back door. We walked through the kitchen and work areas of the restaurant before arriving at the front. The seating inside was cramped. Our server was pleasant and knowledgeable. Our order consisted of a falafal, hot dog, french dip, and philly cheesesteak. The food was plentiful when it arrived. The hot dog was a jumbo size, which my 10 year old could not finish. The remaining dishes came with chips and a side salad. All dishes were very good and quite filling! We decided to get ice cream on the way out. A single (2 scoops) was $3.45, which I though slightly high. Well, those 2 scoops are the most generous scoops I can recall being served! I did not have any more issue with the cost of the ice cream after seeing the cone. Upon leaving the restaurant out the front door, we found that the front door is below street level (like Cheers :) ). We probably would not have noticed it if we were walking on High Street, but we are glad that we did find it as the food was good and plentiful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    60
    24
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emmitsburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greek Pizza”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Best Greek Pizza I've ever eaten!! Loved this place! Enjoyed eating outside but was crazy with flies around.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cowboysfan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great good, very quick and courteous service at great prices. Would definitely return for lunch. They are able to pull off sandwiches, italian and greek. Very impressive. Nice outdoor patio for dining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food, good prices”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

In Lower Town Harpers Ferry, this is hands down the best place for great food at reasonable prices. Take it from a long time Harpers ferry denizen.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good fresh food & friendly service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a resident in Harpers Ferry I have eaten at this restaurant on several occasions. Unlike some of the other tourist trap restaurants downtown, I have always been impressed by the friendly young staff and the freshly prepared food. I can especially recommend the chicken and lamb gyros, on freshly toasted pita-type bread with grilled meat, greens and their home-made yoghurt sauce. The also have the usual range of burgers, curly fries, pizza, etc, as well as smoothies and scopped ice cream. The owner is a friendly guy named Annwar, originally from Afghanistan, who when he is not cooking carves walking sticks which are sold in the restaurant. The ambiance is rather basic inside, but there is a large outdoor eating area facing the old train station. It is definitely the most popular eating place in town for National Park service employees and local business owners.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagerbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannonball Deli also viewed

 

Been to Cannonball Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing