We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“A Must-See for both the Thru-Hiker and the Arm-Chair Hiker” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appalachian Trail Conservancy Headquarters

Appalachian Trail Conservancy Headquarters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The main visitor center for the Appalachian Trail and one of the most famous landmarks on the entire 2,190-mile national scenic trail. It's considered the 'psychological half-way point' on the Appalachian Trail. All are welcome, from tourists to "thru-hikers" walking the entire trail. The center has exhibits, a gift shop where you can purchase maps, books, and souvenirs. A 10-foot 3D map shows the entire East Coast, with a miniature replica trail shelter built into the back side. A hiker lounge offers long-distance hikers a place to relax and recharge, with cold and hot drinks available. A collection of more than 25,000 photos of hikers taken since 1979 is one of the most unique features. Those intent on walking the entire A.T. will have their photo added to the collection, but anyone can take a photo of themselves out in front on the sign for a memorable snapshot. By visiting Harpers Ferry, you'll have already started the 14-state challenge, which encourages hikers to visit one location in each of the Trail's 14 states. If you visit lower town historic Harpers Ferry just a half mile away and walk across the footbridge over the Potomac River, you'll have already completed two states.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Must-See for both the Thru-Hiker and the Arm-Chair Hiker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Spent the week before Father's Day weekend with my Daughter hiking the Appalachian Trail from Front Royal to Harpers Ferry. ATC HQ is a mandatory stop for all of us who hike the trail as the "unofficial" halfway point. It allows hikers to see old friends we have missed on the trail. As soon as you walk thru the door, the staff instruct you where the water or Gatoraide is and get you ready for your famous picture, the one in front of the ATC sign. Of the hundreds of pics and memories you take on the Trail, three are the most important: at Springer Mountain; at Katahdin Mountain and at ATC HQ. The museum is a great display of our country's greatest hiking trail.

Visited June 2014
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very neat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here while checking out Harpers Ferry. Very neat to learn more about the Trail and helpful people there. Take the short .2 mile hike from the building to the actual Trail!

Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My favorite place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

What an awesome team of individuals. This is a must see stop for the traveler or hiker. We picked up some nick-nacks and purchased maps. We have done MD and half of NJ with plans of doing all of GA next summer and parts of NC. Every time I have come here it has been warm welcomes and friendly faces. I recommend this stop to everyone! AND BECOME A MEMBER! I am hoping to start a hiking club and try to petition for a MD AT license plate.

Thank AndBmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
238 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Makes me want to do the through hike from GA to ME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This small building explodes with laughter and adventure. Just a few small exhibits showing the Appalachian trail - but the photos displayed that were taken along the trail, plus the memories of the hikers themselves are SO motivating and beautiful! Lots of cool hiking items and shirts to buy. While we were there a group of scouts were preparing for a hike, some thru hikers stopped by and some tourists were there as well. Go into the hikers lounge to read the book on what the hikers wrote - so interesting! Love their trail names! One of the workers had completed the entire trek and we spent some time speaking with him about his experiences - SO cool! If you are a hiker, or a wanna be hiker, this is a must stop. There is a parking lot behind the building or you can walk up the steep hill from Lower Town, which is what we did and it wasn't too bad. Enjoy!!!!

Visited May 2014
Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must See if you Hike the AT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have stopped here every time I am in the Harpers Ferry area. I love to meet the through-hikers and talk to the staff. They also have lots of really good Appalachian Trail (AT) stuff for all types of people, from Georgia-Maine through-hikers to the weekend tourist. The staff are very helpful and love to talk to people about the Trail as well as show off exhibits about the trails history.

Visited May 2014
Thank TerpyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Trail Conservancy Headquarters also viewed

Harpers Ferry, WV

Been to Appalachian Trail Conservancy Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing