We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Halfway point on the Appalachian Trail...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian Trail Conservancy Headquarters

Appalachian Trail Conservancy Headquarters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The main visitor center for the Appalachian Trail and one of the most famous landmarks on the entire 2,190-mile national scenic trail. It's considered the 'psychological half-way point' on the Appalachian Trail. All are welcome, from tourists to "thru-hikers" walking the entire trail. The center has exhibits, a gift shop where you can purchase maps, books, and souvenirs. A 10-foot 3D map shows the entire East Coast, with a miniature replica trail shelter built into the back side. A hiker lounge offers long-distance hikers a place to relax and recharge, with cold and hot drinks available. A collection of more than 25,000 photos of hikers taken since 1979 is one of the most unique features. Those intent on walking the entire A.T. will have their photo added to the collection, but anyone can take a photo of themselves out in front on the sign for a memorable snapshot. By visiting Harpers Ferry, you'll have already started the 14-state challenge, which encourages hikers to visit one location in each of the Trail's 14 states. If you visit lower town historic Harpers Ferry just a half mile away and walk across the footbridge over the Potomac River, you'll have already completed two states.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
222 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Halfway point on the Appalachian Trail...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very interesting place. Although not a hiker there is a topographical map of the trail along with photo albums of all the hikers that come through Harpers Ferry

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    27
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Informative and Super Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Whether you are planning to hike the trail or just learn more about the area, this is the place to visit. When my son was doing a home school project about the Appalachian Trail, the people here were awesome and even gave him a Jr. Trail Guide book to use as part of his research. Best of all they were patient in answering all of his questions and genuinely helpful. We also love their Facebook page!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“hiker headquarters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Fun to visit with the volunteers and read about other long-distance hikers. This is the Holy Grail for backpackers

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We passed thru HQ on our hike from Georgia to Maine,we were early in the season and we were met at the door with hot fresh muffins baked by one of the volunteers that staff the HQ's, with lots of info and offers for shuttles we left on our trek and finished our hike with fund memories of our morning in Harpers Ferry

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If You're Interested in the Appalachian Trail, Worth a Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Not lots to see but still interesting to look at some of the testimonial posters of through hikers on the AT, plus the volumes of photo books for people who stopped through the ATC HQ on their way North or South. Nice people. We also took time to look at a National Geographic video on the AT while there--very worthwhile to see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Trail Conservancy Headquarters also viewed

 
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Been to Appalachian Trail Conservancy Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing