We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Money well spent!”

O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment
Ranked #3 of 5 Tours in Harpers Ferry
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: O Be Joyfull offers historical tours of Harpers Ferry and historical concerts featuring music from the Civil War and from the Irish. Tours and concerts are entertaining, educational and fun!
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Money well spent!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a wonderful evening! Our tour guide, Rick, was funny and informative. A great history lesson for the children, and add in some ghost stories and strange occurrences....you have a perfect night out for the entire family. Thank you for making our first night in Harpers Ferry one to remember, Rick!! :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mom4autism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    11
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“informative & entertaining tour”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Rick's tour of Harper's Ferry gave so much more of the town's history. Not simply the attack on the arsenal and John Brown's raid.
We enjoyed this and would recommend it to anyone who had the time...
A very worthwhile adventure.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudcroft, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“O be joyful tour of Harper's Ferry”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our visit to Harper Ferry was made so much more meaningful with Rick as our guide! We thoroughly enjoyed our trek around town with Rick explaining "who and what and when" as we walked leisurely along with him. He is knowledgable and FUN!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Charivy88317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Long, but great tour!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went on a nice day in January and Rick was able to accomodate us and a few other people by giving us a tour even though it is Harpers Ferry off season. The website said the tour was 2.5-3 hours long but ours was actually 3.5 hours long. My husband and I knew very little about the history of Harper's Ferry, so it was a very informative tour for us (probably not a good tour for kids though because they will not have that attention span). He goes into great detail about US history in general to get you set up for the history of Harpers Ferry. I liked that he delved into history, culture, religion, politics, etc. so you got the entire picture of what was going on at the time. The only thing we didn't care for is that he voiced his own political, educational, and religious views a little much for our taste. Overall, he is a wonderful story teller and keeps you engaged in the stories by asking you questions. It was getting colder as the day went on, so we visited all of the sights, but did the final stories back at the church. The tour includes St. Peter's Church, Jefferson's Rock, Harper House, then walking around town. After you are done with the tour it is a good idea to go check out some of the National Park museums (that are free) and not included in the tour. Overall, it was a great afternoon and we look forward to coming back in the summer and trying the ghost tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaplane, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a birthday treat!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I planned a weekend away to Harpers Ferry to celebrate my birthday. Even though early January is not a popular vacation time, Rick Garland was gracious to accomodate the two of us on a fascinating and eye-opening individual tour that lasted almost 4 hours. History becomes truly exciting when explained by Rick, who has such an in-depth knowledge of the area along with a passion for these events. We enjoyed learning about the different perspectives that influenced the events, and were grateful for the additional resources he provided for further information on the topics. A fun highlight was the birthday song he sang to me in the church. How special, and memorable! Highly. highly recommended, and we hope to return for another one of his programs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment also viewed

 
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Been to O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing