We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delightful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holtwood
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first time to Harper's Ferry, and to the Angler's Inn. We loved both! We stayed in the room on the first floor. It was beautiful, quaint, with a private bath and sitting room. The bedroom opened to a lovely private back porch where we could sit and have tea and cookies. The bed was very comfortable and we had a quiet, peaceful nights sleep. Our room opened directly to the dining room, which was fine, we were not bothered by any noise. There are more rooms upstairs that we did not see.
Breakfast was excellent! Debbie paid attention to little details to make it special, and she was very helpful answering our questions and offering suggestions about the town. We would go back in a heartbeat.
I can think of no negatives. The Angler's Inn has charm and character, as do many of the older Inns where we have stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    19
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
139
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I travel several times a year and this was our third stay at a B&B. Each successive time has been better than the last but if you're like us and typically stay in 4 star hotels, manage your expectations because this is a quaint old home and you might find it a bit of a let down. The room we stayed in was large but the furniture was all miss matched and gave me the feeling of being crowded. The bed (king size) was comfortable with lovely high quality cotton sheets. The room had a small sitting area off the bedroom which was an added bonus but the floor appeared to slant downwards bit. However, with old homes, uniqueness is to be expected. We had our own bathroom (also an added bonus) with an old claw foot tub. The water pressure in the shower was wonderful but if you have problems with balance, use caution since the top of the tub is several inches higher than today's models and could be a challenge getting in and out of). Both the bedroom and bath were spotless. We also found the innkeeper very helpful. The highlight for us was the breakfasts! They were delightful and you won't walk away hungry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at the Angler's as part of our bike ride on the C&O Canal. The only negative is that you have to climb a hill to get there. But....it is worth it! Debbie's hospitality, the comfortable rooms and best of all, the wonderful breakfast (homemade breads, omelets made to order, etc.) make the final pedal strokes worth it. Debbie was very accommodating, providing us with an early breakfast so we could head out a bit earlier on the next leg of our journey. Fantastic, all around!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Girlfriend acquired a group-on for my birthday to spend a weekend here. Unfortunately, my work schedule prevented us from getting in to the B&B before the group-on expired, however, they still accepted the group-on past the expiration date after we explained the circumstances. Upon arrival the room was very clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and best of all for me there was no TV in our room. This really pushed us to spend time together talking and actually getting out and about the town. The B&B is located very close, we walked, to downtown Harper's Ferry. We were also very close to Antietam National Battlefield, which we also visited. Overall, This was an amazing weekend which started with the exceptional hospitality and kindness of our hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here with 2 other friends after biking on the C&O Canal trail. Debbie was very warm and welcoming. This older historic house was tastefully appointed and very clean. We had the Wager room that was 2 rooms with a private bath across the hallway. We enjoyed the evening snacks of homemade cookies, while creating our own happy hour on the front porch swing. Breakfast included fresh baked berry cobbler with fresh cream and pancakes. Bikers: be aware this Inn sits about 1 mile up a big hill at the very top of Harpers Ferry. Be ready for a long climb. And, the Inn does not have separate bike storage, but has space behind the house.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cyrusrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Angler's Inn is charming, friendly and the breakfasts were excellent. It's in a perfect location and the host Debbi was very helpful in suggesting places to explore or places to eat. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we could even open the windows. We really liked the coffee being offered early and sitting in the downstairs parlor before breakfast. We will definitely be back.
J&J

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Angler's Inn is a quaint, friendly place with delicious, home made breakfasts every morning. I liked that though the coffee comes out by 7:30AM (which is wonderful to grab and enjoy on the beautiful front porch) we were able to eat a little later at 9:30 and still have the freshly prepared meal. It's nice be at a flexible bed and breakfast and not have to rush down to miss the breakfast...especially when the rooms are so peaceful and conducive to relaxing morning lounging!
The Inn's location is ideal for walking to the various sites and businesses in Harper's Ferry. The owner, Deb, was very nice, present and helpful with everything. She provided a lot of great, tourist information and was very attentive to all our needs. The house itself is comfortable, clean, quiet and VERY CUTE! As I mentioned earlier in the post, the porch is lovely and I enjoyed watching a passing thunderstorm from there, while safely shaded in a rocking chair. Fresh homemade cookies and soft drinks in the afternoon give an added touch to the entire experience. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast for a long weekend getaway.

Room Tip: remington room is lovely but be sure you're up for having a standing tub with a hand shower, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoeyellit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 867 W. Washington St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angler's Inn, a spacious Victorian B&B is located in the Historic town of Harpers Ferry, WV, a scenic place to explore U.S. history, enjoy the outdoors, do some shopping and dine. Our Guest Rooms each include private sitting rooms and private baths. A full Gourmet Breakfast is served each morning, and our famous homemade Chocolate Chip cookies and refreshment are available in the afternoons. Professionally Guided Fishing Trips for Smallmouth Bass available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Hotel Harpers Ferry
The Angler`s Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing