We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quite and seren”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jackson Rose B & B
Ranked #1 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2009

My now fiance took me to the Jackson Rose as a suprise. It had a wonderful feel, the owners were very nice, and helpful with lots of suggestions. We hadn't been to the area before so we took most of them, and they were all spot on. Our room was not just comfortable but cozy and romantic, (this is where my fiance popped the question), and it was a wonderful scene for our engagement.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAK1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2009

This B&B is a wonderful experience!! The room was clean and comfortable and also was the room in which Stonewall Jackson literally sat at his window and plotted some battles. But the best part of the experience was the hosts. They were so sweet-there's no other way to put it. Absolutely helpful and informative about places to see, eat etc, but a the same time not in the least intrusive. You didn't know they were there unless you needed something. And the breakfasts were absolutely to die for. Highly recommended if you're travellng that part of the country and need a comfortable haven.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bayouwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

As part of our Christmas gift, my parents gave my husband and I a gift certificate for the Jackson Rose Bed and Breakfast in Harper's Ferry (Bolivar), W.V. We love to travel and always try to stay at smaller facilities such as B & Bs and guest houses--so this was the perfect gift. Figuring that May would be a peaceful time to get away (before the onset of the Summer tourist season), we planned our trip.

Deb and Phil were wonderful hosts. Upon arrival both Deb and Phil greeted us and oriented us to both the house (gorgeous) and the local attractions. Our room, the Garrett Suite, was located on the third floor and could not have been more quaint and cozy. Breakfasts were fantastic--tasty and very filling.

The town of Harper's Ferry is a bit of a walk from the B & B; however, it can be done. For those who prefer, there is limited parking in the town; however, ample parking at the National Park (they offer a shuttle into the historic town). The shops were quirky and cute. We fell in love with a little used bookstore and its friendly owner. Be sure to check out the cycle store--I stocked up on numerous shirts and goodies for my cycling parents. One of the highlights was a visit to the Appalachian Trail Conference headquarters. Located just a minute or two from the Jackson Rose, it is a great stop to meet both thru-hikers and day-hikers. In addition, the staff are a fountain of knowledge about the Harper's Ferry/Bolivar area.

Perhaps one of our favorite moments, however, was at the Jackson Rose itself. After returning from exploring (and being greeted by a refreshing pitcher or lemonade and freshly baked cookies), we relaxed in our room and listened to the rain fall on the tin/metal roof. It was such a relaxing sound.

The Jackson Rose and Deb and Phil are sure to impress. We highly recommend this lovely B & B.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbmickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We just came back from a relaxing trip to Harpers Ferry. We stayed at this wonderful bed & breakfast after reading the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor and other sites. Deb and Phil are the innkeepers and are extremely gracious and hospitable. Our room was very comfortable (it was the same room where Stonewall Jackson stayed!). Deb and Phil serve a delicious breakfast every morning, and it was fun to sit with the other guests, get to know them, and eat a meal. The first day, Deb served cinnamon raisin french toast, cranberry muffins, fresh sqeezed orange juice, and fresh fruit. The second day we had vegetable frittatas, biscuits with homemade jam, fresh squeezed orange juice, muffins, and fresh fruit. YUM! In the afternoon, she serves homemade chocolate chip cookies and fresh squeezed lemonade. Everything is fresh and homemade. What more can you ask for?

The inn itself is located in Bolivar, which is about a 1 mile walk from Harpers Ferry. The location isn't ideal only because it's not necessarily walking distance (it is walkable, but it's a hike) from town, but that didn't matter to us. We just took our car and parked in town, so it was no big deal.

I would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone visiting Harpers Ferry for the weekend. Deb and Phil could not have been nicer and the breakfasts are amazing. :)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeautifulCapeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Great B&B! Deb and Phil were excellent hosts. Deb cooks an awesome breakfast! The house is very clean, well appointed with everything we needed (including wine on our arrival!) and beautifully decorated. The B&B is conveniently located to the historic district. We had a wonderful time. And, for Civil War buffs, Stonewall Jackson slept here!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobfrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

This was the first time staying at a bed and breakfast for myself as well as my boyfriend. What a great experience! The house is absolutely beautiful and everything was PERFECT. The bed was super comfortable and I loved that the room was nice and dark at night and that there was a "sound machine" provided. I use one of those at home and it helps to drone out the creaks of other guests walking around, although that was extremely minimal to begin with. I'm just a light sleeper, so that was perfect for me. The owners were great, the breakfast was fabulous, it's in a great spot to walk to Harper's Ferry and we loved every second of it. Thanks to Deb and Phil for their hospitality! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meena1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My wife and I spend each New Year's Eve with 2 other couples and this year we stayed at The Jackson Rose. It was windy and cold outside when we arrived but warm and inviting inside. The hosts are a wonderful couple who are helpful but not intrusive. The breakfast was a feast! The rooms are nice and large and the beds comfortable. We rang in the new year in the comfy parlor with fireplace, piano and Christmas tree. We live in Northern Virginia and it's nice to have a B&B like this an hour's drive from home.
Thanks Deb and Phil for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iguanaeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
308 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.7 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jackson Rose B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jackson Rose B & B

Address: 1167 W. Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: $110 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1795 Federal-style home listed on the National Register. Original heart of pine wood floors, high ceilings and warm ambience takes one back to simpler times. Full lavish breakfast, private baths, queen-size beds. A comfortable and quiet retreat from daily cares. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing