We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Historic Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jackson Rose B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jackson Rose B & B
Save
You added The Jackson Rose B & B to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Union, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historic Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went to Harpers Ferry for a couple of day hikes on the Appalachian Trail. Although we left the Inn well before regular breakfast time our first two mornings, Phil put out fruit, coffee and fixins. Our third day we had the breakfast, and it was wonderful. We are mostly vegan, and they worked with us., Deb and Phil were fabulous hosts, and gave us a tour of the garden. The room was clean and quite comfortable. It was a perfect location to tour the historic district. We met several people who had stayed there multiple times, and can see why they return. We will too, on our next hike.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
126
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Jackson Rose B&B is lovely and provided the perfect backdrop for a much needed getaway weekend with dear friends! It was easy to see that the owners, Deb and Phil, take great pride in providing a memorable guest experience and in the preservation of their exquisite historic home. The rooms are handsomely decorated, comfortable and meticulously clean. We were greeted with wine upon our arrival and pampered with tasty warm homemade ginger cookies and sherry when back from a hike on the AT Trail, and the breakfast fare was a feast for our eyes and appetites. Details of the house and experience were thoughtful and abundant, and none overlooked – even Roy, the dog, was charming! Our hats are off to all of you – we are already planning our next trip to Harpers Ferry.

If this were not all enough, the historic and cultural resources within walking distance of the Jackson Rose B&B, are outstanding and a pleasure to explore. In the evenings, we enjoyed excellent restaurants within a two block walk. We especially enjoyed The Canal House Café staff were caring and the food was fabulous, plenty and beautifully presented; the fireplace was a welcome sight on a chilly night.

Enthusiastic applause and loud cheers! Well done!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the finest b& b's we have stayed at! We only had one night and it left us wanting to return. The owners were super nice and our room was just lovely. Breakfast was wonderful! I didn't make it down to breakfast but they graciously sent a tray up to me by my friend. So glad they did!

Room Tip: Ask if Stonewall Jacksons' room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim1964-714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Leonard, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We are already looking forward to going back. We stayed in the very private Garret Suite, which was spacious and very comfortable. The atmosphere was very relaxing and surrounded by history. The distant sound of the train whistle was great as well as the chime of the grandfather clock. I totally enjoyed the style of the home - it reminded me of my grandparent's home in some ways.The gourmet breakfast was delicious. The muffins and gingerbread cookies were the best I have ever tasted. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. The location is terrific. My children especially enjoyed the resident dog. I could go on and on with positive comments...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Located right in the Historic District of Harpers Ferry, it is a wonderful Federal style home that has been somewhat modified over the years. As I was the only guest, they gave me General Jackson's room. Jackson used this as his headquarters early in the war when he was in charge of training recruits. They serve a very nice breakfast, had lots of good recommendations for local restaurants and the best way to visit Antietam. Thy even had a beer for me the afternoon I arrived. Parking is off street and very handy for getting you things into the house. There are of course stairs. The town is right down the street and well worth the visit. The Battlefields require a car as they are spread over considerable distances.

Room Tip: Ask for the General's room. It was quiet and had nice views. No ghosts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware City, Delaware
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our stay in the Jackson Rose room was perfect! Breakfast was incredible; even the jams are homemade! The Jackson Rose B&B included many historical photos, books, and movies. We came back from a hot afternoon walk to the river, and found a pitcher of delicious lemonade available--we really appreciated this. Sitting in the swing on the front porch in the evening, near the gardens, was very romantic. The owners are terrific hosts, and we hiighly recommend the Jackson Rose. Wow!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanticTravelers888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was a real treat and added significantly to our Harper's Ferry visit. Deb and Phil seem to have found their niche in life with a harmonious and coordinated skill set focused on guest comfort, gourmet food presentation, decor, classical music and presenting themselves as just all around nice people. Outstanding food, outstanding location, outstanding rooms, outstanding service. I simply can not think of one thing to complain about......and this is unusual.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
8.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jackson Rose B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jackson Rose B & B

Property: The Jackson Rose B & B
Address: 1167 W Washington St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-6487
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1795 Federal-style home listed on the National Register. Original heart of pine wood floors, high ceilings and warm ambience takes one back to simpler times. Full lavish breakfast, private baths, queen-size beds. A comfortable and quiet retreat from daily cares. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing