We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Far beyond expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jackson Rose B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jackson Rose B & B
Save
You added The Jackson Rose B & B to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medina, Ohio
1 review
“Far beyond expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was a real treat and added significantly to our Harper's Ferry visit. Deb and Phil seem to have found their niche in life with a harmonious and coordinated skill set focused on guest comfort, gourmet food presentation, decor, classical music and presenting themselves as just all around nice people. Outstanding food, outstanding location, outstanding rooms, outstanding service. I simply can not think of one thing to complain about......and this is unusual.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
123
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a way to finish our weeklong bike trip of the Great Allegheny/C & C Towpath. Pushing our bikes up the final long hill (yes, pushing) we hoped not to be disappointed. We five middle aged women were ready to celebrate our success and the Jackson Rose B & B provided the perfect venue. Our host was more than generous and helpful (such as the offer of wine and help finding more) we lounged before dinner in a games/TV/den room and after dinner in a beautiful living room that took us back to a much earlier time of this majestic home's life.
Breakfast was the very best of our trip - individually prepared to perfection with wonderful home made jams. A real treat in a stunningly beautiful dining room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryAnnToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We are thrilled that we found this place. Deb is fabulous at making the breakfast a feast of a delicious variety of homemade preserves, muffins, breads, and other surprise plates. The rooms have the "wow" factor. After a day of activities, you feel like you are going home...cleaner tho...LOL

Harpers Ferry is even better with The Jackson Rose.
Deb and Phil....thank you for your selfless hosting.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wonderful rooms. Comfortable, spotless and charming.
Breakfasts were wonderful and the our hosts were very nice.
To top it off, the place was quite cool even on a 100 degree day.
Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwoods, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We arrived early to this destination and while they were not yet ready for us, they took the time to welcome us and make some suggestions for the rest of our day. we took their advice and borrowed the audio for The Antietam Battlefields. We spent Memorial Day remembering those who fought and died.
We returned to the B& B and just relaxed in its' beauty and history. Our room - the Stonewall Jackson room was comfortable and well decorated.
Breakfast was very good and made a good start for each day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisconsinwisconsin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Jackson Rose. We were welcomed at night by the sweet scent of the large Linden tree in their yard. The owners were very helpful with advice about activities in town, and they answered yes to every thing we asked of them. Plus, in the afternoon, we were treated to lemonade, iced tea and cookies hen we returned from our long hike. Awesome!

The breakfasts change each morning, and are made from fresh ingredients in a creative way. We had lemon crepes with sausages, and vegetable fritata. We were also treated to fresh jams, including gooseberry jam that was made from fresh-picked berries.

We stayed in the Linden Room; it was large with a big bathroom. The room was quiet, and had everything we needed.

The hotel is close to two good eating places, The Canal House and The Anvil. This B&B was in a great location, with wonderful owners and a beautiful house.

We did not have a TV in the room, but we were so tired that it did not matter. If you want a TV, ask for the Garrett Room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Linden room. It was lovely, but there is no TV in the room. If you want a TV in y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZuzuTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent two nights in the Jackson Rose Room, and from the moment we walked in until the moment we left, our experience was marvelous. The hosts were incredibly gracious and helpful without being obtrusive. The room was charming, and the attention to detail was impressive. The breakfasts were delicious, the gardens beautiful, and the inn charming. We stayed in a variety of B&B's on this trip, and not only was this our favorite this trip, but actually our #1 favorite of any we've ever stayed in! We would love to spend more time in Harpers Ferry, and we will definitly plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Jackson Rose Room has historical interest, as Stonewall Jackson reportedly stayed in this room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
2.4 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
0.7 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jackson Rose B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jackson Rose B & B

Property: The Jackson Rose B & B
Address: 1167 W. Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1795 Federal-style home listed on the National Register. Original heart of pine wood floors, high ceilings and warm ambience takes one back to simpler times. Full lavish breakfast, private baths, queen-size beds. A comfortable and quiet retreat from daily cares. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing