We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good a la carte meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Town's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Town's Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,342 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 949 helpful votes
“good a la carte meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were not staying there but picked it to have our dinner. Our food was good, homemade food but you have to order a la carte (if you want veggies or anything you have to order them separately). Their mac and cheese was very creamy and good. The dining area is small (room for maybe 10 - 12 people) but they have patio seating in the back and a table on the front porch. Our server was friendly and answered all our questions but when it was time to leave we had to hunt him down to get our check and pay. Parking can be a problem (no parking on the narrow streets).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    55
    12
    15
    18
See reviews for
52
67
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, WV
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Wonderful historic inn. We stayed in the Appalachian Room which had a private, newly remodeled bath. The shower/tub is awesome, but ran a little low on hot water too soon. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, cozy and inviting. The restaurant has the best hours in town, but we could not utilize it because was booked for a private dinner (you might want to check ahead), although we were offered to be served in our room or the parlor. The parlor is a common area with games, t.v., etc. They serve drinks (which can be in-room or parlor, also). However, they should not be called a tavern as there is no bar separate from the dining area. Nice and interesting place to stay for the experience and good location in town. Be warned...if you have walking difficulties, Harper's Ferry (beautiful area) has a lot of hill, steps, which include this inn.

Room Tip: Appalachian Room for sure! Great bath and away from the common area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenjellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent two nights at the Inn, and it was a very mixed experience. The location is great - a five minute walk from the Amtrak station (albeit up 60+ steps - the town is built into a mountainside). In the off season, the Inn's restaurant also may be the only place open (we had a rainy day with most everything else closed, then a nicer day with more options). We had the only room with private bath. The room needs repair (the rug was curling up, a tripping hazard; recent plumbing work left patches on the walls and the hot/cold dial on the shower was reversed so I thought there was no hot water). The room was very cold the first night, and we found out the second day that the decorative heat unit in the fireplace was not on (the handle was broken off so we didn't see that it opened to reveal controls). The room had assorted religious and conservative literature by the bed and on the mantel (e.g. a brochure against "Obamacare").

We had to wait 45 minutes for breakfast because the owner, the only person there that morning, was on a conference call. Our dinners weren't heated through (a pot pie and mac and cheese - served a few minutes after ordering, so probably microwaved). Our room was not made up after our first night.

The restaurant staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location is great. There were plenty of pillows and towels, and extension cords allowed us to charge our phones (perhaps a response to an earlier review).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nan19711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This B&B is fantastic! The owner and staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. They are a joy to be around. The Inn is a quaint, old house, which brings with it both the good and the bad. :) It's beautiful, but you have to work to find space for electronics needing to charge and space to hang clothes. Each room has a private bathroom, but only the Appalachian room has the bath attached to the bedroom. The parlor on the top floor is great for games and social time, or even just web surfing. WiFi throughout!

The Restaurant is superb. Good food and service that is clean, mostly homemade, and served with a smile. There is limited seating, especially in the winter, but in one way it adds to the charm. Local drafts, coffee, and homemade cobbler were some of the highlights.

Finally, the location in downtown couldn't be better!

Room Tip: App room has attached bath; other rooms required traversing the shared hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We went camping on a winter night near harpers ferry and wanted to warm good food in the morning. Nothing seemed to be open until we got here. Great coffee and comfort food. Everyone was very friendly as well.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 577Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband, sister-in-law and I were visiting Harpers Ferry for the Ghost Tour! It is such a beautiful historic town and we arrived a little early before the tour so that we could stop and have dinner. Pretty much everything here closes early. The Town's Inn was the only place still open! We are so cold and hungry, but we didn't want to go in because it just looked like an Inn and not a place to just go eat. Luckily, we saw a sign for the dinner specials so we went in and gave it a try!
All of the food is home made and so delicious! This location is so beautiful and historic inside! I would love to come back and stay here!
The cook came out and took our order and he had such personality! He sat down with us to get to know us and gave us a few laughs. I ordered the French Onion soup with a side of Mac & Cheese and it was amazing! My husband ordered the Chicken Pot Pie and it looked perfect!

If I am ever back in this area I would love to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToryDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

As we were touring Harpers Ferry, we were looking for a quaint and historic place to eat that would also have great food for a reasonable price. This place was that and more. The food is all homemade and tasted amazing. The chili is great and the cider was awesome. The service was really good too! Some people have commented that it is slow, but what they fail to realize is that this is a small, local establishment and the people are not only serving the food, but also assisting with seating and cooking, etc. Having said that, we can't complain at all about the service--it was great and our server was really nice and accomodating. If you are going to Harpers Ferry, this is a must!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.1 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town's Inn

Property: The Town's Inn
Address: 179 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Rates starting at $120*** This family-friendly historic Inn (circa 1840) is located in the center of the Harpers Ferry living history village situated at the confluence of the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers, just steps from the C&O Canal Towpath and Appalachian Trail, as well as the storybook train station served by Amtrak and MARC trains. Open from 6 a.M. - 10 P.M. Every day of the year, the restaurant on the first level of the Inn offers indoor and patio dining featuring popular cuisine, including homemade specialties and healthy options. Also on the first floor is a Sundry / Snack / Supply Shoppe which has been described as a "high-end convenience store, a mini-health food store, and an old-fashioned country store with local products." The second floor consists of two bedrooms with beautiful slate-tile private bathrooms. A parlor containing a treasure of books, toys, and games is situated on the third floor, along with another bedroom. Free WiFi is available. Step outside and enjoy river views, river sports, hiking, bicycling, museums, shopping, and more in this quaint town that is adjacent to the Harpers Ferry National Historic Park and surrounded by other national parks, farms, and Civil War battlegrounds. Although located only 60 miles from DC, the Inn is "a world away" from life in modern urban and suburban cities. We invite you to travel "over the river and through the woods to Grandmother's house" for relaxation, recreation, and retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing