We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Place in Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Town's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Town's Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Place in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are looking for a classic Inn to spend the night and have some great home cooking, this is the place for you. Karan was very welcoming and did everything she could to make us feel completely at home. The location of the Inn is just far enough up the hill for a great view of the historic town and rivers, but not too far up the hill that you feel removed from the historic section of town. The staff are all very friendly. We felt it was a great value for the money. This is not a hotel chain so do not expect that type of experience. This is an authentic Inn, with a real Inn keeper who is dedicated to her patrons. It's not perfect, but that's what makes it great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    53
    11
    15
    18
See reviews for
50
65
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed here and also eaten in the restaurant. Very friendly service. Family owned and run place. They also have some essential supplies and healthy snack items that are not available anywhere in the vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sankarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

After reading the reviews here on TripAdvisor, we were very excited to stay in a historic inn in Harpers Ferry. We have done so in Gettysburg, Salem, and other old towns. Usually we love the quaint old places. This was NOT what we were expecting. Yes we were warned about parking but there is absolutely nowhere to even stop to check in and find out where we could park, etc. My husband dropped me off so I could check in and the hotel owner was very sweet and kind if a little scattered. She walked us to our room in the other building, which was still being cleaned for our stay, not a problem. However, ALL the doors were wide open, stink bugs were flying everywhere and every door and window had huge spiders living in it. We even overheard the cleaning guy talking to her about black widows. We thought we would walk around the town until our room was ready but as we explored and thought more and more about where we were staying, we made a decision to call around and find a plain hotel to stay at. We ended up staying at the last room available in a Frederick, MD chain hotel which was unfortunately a smoking room (It was Columbus Day weekend). I honestly preferred that to the thought of bugs everywhere.

Room Tip: Private Baths are not attached to rooms. You have to go down a steep staircase and have a separate k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karantownsend, Owner at The Town's Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
This review by a potential guest six months ago (Columbus Day weekend) contains comments that need to be clarified, corrected, and/or put into context:
(1) The website and confirmation letter generally establish realistic expectations, so a general comment that the Inn "was NOT what we were expecting" is unclear. Even the parking situation (which is 100% beyond my control) is explained in writing, which was acknowledged by the reviewer. I don't know what expectations the reviewer had that weren't met --- other than bugs.?
(2) The big concern of the reviewer seems to be bugs, and the comment "Stink bugs were flying everywhere and every door and window had huge spiders living in it" is simply untrue. :( I live in the Inn and would not tolerate living in a den of flying stink bugs and huge spiders :) As the Health Department can confirm, stink bugs are a problem for every lodging establishment in Jefferson County ( even the "sterile" chain hotels ) --- but stink bugs are rarely seen flying. The Inn has only 2 doors, and spiders don't reside in these doors since the doors are in constant use. The front door provides access to/from the restaurant and 3 guest rooms, and the back door provides access to the patio, which is part of the restaurant. The 15 windows in the 3-story building are never opened and are cleaned regularly from the inside, so any sitings of spiders would refer to spiders on the outside, over which I have little control.
(3) The reviewer mentions that the room wasn't ready but states that this wasn't a problem. The confirmation letter states that check-in time is at 4 p.m. but invites guests to come to the Inn immediately upon arrival in Harpers Ferry --- even though rooms might not be ready.

I regret the negative tone and rating of this review and invite you to contact me if you have further questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

"Welcome home." Was how we were greeted when we walked in the door and at no time did we ever feel like just a guest. This B&B is delightful in its charms and decor. We stayed in the Applachian room and it met our expectations.

If you stay at The Town's Inn you will find a warm, welcoming atmosphere where you are more valued as a person than as a credit card number. Wonderful food and a genuinely friendly staff and inn owner. Karan has truly devoted herself to making her inn a welcoming, relaxing experience.

It was great to find a place where you can leave the cares of the modern world behind. No TVs, not telephone, and good, good food and service.

All that and not even mentioning that this Inn is just steps to the historic park, trails, rafting, and the gorgeous views of the Shenandoah and Potomac rivers.

I give this Inn an A. And if you have ever thought about it, it is a wonderful experience to walk around Harpers Ferry at night and view the billions of stars in the sky and the stillness of the town without all the day trippers out and about.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have private baths. So make sure you choose the room that is right for your situation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PVDOutbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in Harpers Ferry just a week or so before the tourist season starts to heat up, so this was about the only attractive dinner spot available to us. And we did enjoy our dinner, though we were the ONLY people in the tiny dining area, so it felt even more like eating in someone's private home. A bit too intimate and eccentric for us but if you enjoy that sort of atmosphere, you'd love it here. Certainly no complaints about the food, all of it apparently homemade and/or cooked to order. In warmer weather, the tiny patio overlooking the town would be delightful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Torontotraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our family of five stayed for a night at The Town's Inn in March. We had a room with two double bunk beds. Karan, the owner, is very hospitable and accomodating. We enjoyed the ability to have a tankard of local beer and a generous glass of wine with our evening meal. Because it is one of the few places open at that time in the old part of the town, the dining area attracted other visitors looking for a drink in the evening. Great location near the walking and bike trail. Can hear trains going through the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WicklowWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our group of undergraduate students on a service spring break trip received an incredible discount from the Town's Inn. We truly enjoyed our stay in such an historic inn with a very accommodating staff. They allowed us to check in very late at night and had such a cozy and quaint B&B. All eight of us appreciated the clean and charming rooms and facilities, and enjoyed chatting with the innkeeper and her daughter, as well as their affordable restaurant and local knowledge of activities around Harper's Ferry. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Potomac and Shenandoah rooms are both very large for bigger parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town's Inn

Property: The Town's Inn
Address: 179 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Rates starting at $120*** This family-friendly historic Inn (circa 1840) is located in the center of the Harpers Ferry living history village situated at the confluence of the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers, just steps from the C&O Canal Towpath and Appalachian Trail, as well as the storybook train station served by Amtrak and MARC trains. Open from 6 a.M. - 10 P.M. Every day of the year, the restaurant on the first level of the Inn offers indoor and patio dining featuring popular cuisine, including homemade specialties and healthy options. Also on the first floor is a Sundry / Snack / Supply Shoppe which has been described as a "high-end convenience store, a mini-health food store, and an old-fashioned country store with local products." The second floor consists of two bedrooms with beautiful slate-tile private bathrooms. A parlor containing a treasure of books, toys, and games is situated on the third floor, along with another bedroom. Free WiFi is available. Step outside and enjoy river views, river sports, hiking, bicycling, museums, shopping, and more in this quaint town that is adjacent to the Harpers Ferry National Historic Park and surrounded by other national parks, farms, and Civil War battlegrounds. Although located only 60 miles from DC, the Inn is "a world away" from life in modern urban and suburban cities. We invite you to travel "over the river and through the woods to Grandmother's house" for relaxation, recreation, and retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing