We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Bikers on the C&O canal”
Review of The Town's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Town's Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Dover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great for Bikers on the C&O canal”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Town's Inn while riding the C&O canal. The accomodations were great and gave you a taste of the towns history. I felt like I could have been riding up on my horse in the 1850s instead of my bike in the 2000s. The tavern next store is convenient and the food was good. We were particually happy that the tavern opened for breakfast fairly early, 6am, so we were able to get on the trail early. The Inn keeper was nice and easy to work with. I would recommend it to those looking to immerse themselves into a little of the history of Harpers Ferry

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    56
    13
    15
    18
See reviews for
52
68
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We biked from DC to Cumberland, Md.
First night stay in Harper's Ferry. Very comfortable, had everything we needed.
Restaurant next door was great for dinner, breakfast, and carry-out lunch..
Would stay here again.
Great place for hikers.
Bikers are a bit more on their own.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Town's Inn was a fabulous place to stay in historical Harpers Ferry.

First of all Karen the owner is a extremely helpful, exceptionally nice, and pleasant person. Her hospitality made me feel right at home. I stayed in the bunk room and a private room for several nights each. Both were very pleasant. I believe I had some of the best sleep while on the Appalachian Trail here. Even if you are not hiking the Appalachian Trail I would recommend staying here. Its walking distance to the Appalachian Trail and all of historic Harpers Ferry.

The Town's Inn is a great value, very clean, and has a beautiful historic look. The Towns Inn restaurant (next door) has excellent food and beer. A great thing for any thru hiker!

I want to speak on others reviewers saying that Karen pushes religious beliefs. My personal experience is that she never pushed anything on me, nor did I feel uncomfortable. This after all is the United States of America where we all can hold our own beliefs. Don't believe the negative reviews on this site.

I stayed at the Inn a total of five nights. So my review holds weight. I am very "high brow" or particular if you will. So if you are as well then heed my review. This is a MUST stay! You will not be disappointed. Thanks Karen for all your kindness and help during my AT adventure :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

First time for me and my family to stay at any inn and Town's Inn was a great first time experience and surely not the last. It's everything I had expected and Karen, the Innkeeper, and its hospitable staff are wonderful and charming as well as its decor and simple amenities. It was nice not to have TV or laptop although they have TV/portable DVD player available with advance request and they do have internet wi-fi connection. With so many things to do and see there is hardly time to just remain in your room, watch tv, or be on your laptop. The food are filling and delicious, the staff always greets their in-house guests and visitors with smiles. It rained most of the time during the entire stay BUT it never put a damper on our vacation because the rain totally felt good after all those hot summer days. We toured the charming and historic Harper's Ferry, visited their buildings that told of fascinating stories of the town, trekked around town and its nearby trails, admired the beautiful mountain and river views, and enjoyed the town's quaint shops, pubs, and restaurants. When visiting Harper's Ferry be prepared to walk most of the time so bring your best walking shoes and attire and you are all set to enjoy the simplicity of life's past and present in a historic town filled with beauty of the mountains and rivers to its charms of buildings and stores and to its wonderful and hospitable people that makes Harper's Ferry a welcoming place for families and outdoor adventurers to visit, meet, stay, and reminisce. Thank you Town's Inn for a memorable birthday & summer vacation! See you all and Harper's Ferry again real soon! ~GB

Room Tip: Really search the amenities of hotels, inns, B&Bs, before booking. After you search your stay o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Would you like to get the feel of staying in an old fashion tavern with 21st Century amenities? Stay at The Town's Inn. I wife and I arrived there after a hot day of touring from up the Shenandoah Valley. We stopped the car in front of The Heritage House and unloaded the luggage. My wife stayed with the luggage while I drove the car down the hill to the parking spot on Potomac Street. My advice is to call ahead and talk to them about all the details of arriving, parking, etc. There's a restaurant on the first floor and you treck your luggage up to the 2nd floor of the building. We stayed in the room with the slate tub over the restaurant. The noise from the restaurant downstairs could be disturbing to some but I envisioned that's just how it was in the taverns of old. We ate in the patio out back and the food was very good.
The location is close to everything and we had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Slate tub was a delight after a long day's journey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Town's Inn last week. My husband is currently hiking the Appalachian Trail to raise funds for the National MS Society. Living in Texas, I hadn't been able to see him for 2 1/2 months and we decided Harpers Ferry would be a perfect place to meet...the psychological halfway point of an almost 2200 mile hike. When I called Karan to make reservations she was very kind and helpful. Upon arriving, she blew us away with her hospitality; this is her home after all, and she graciously takes care of all of her guests whatever their needs may be. Her staff is just as welcoming and friendly as she is. We had a wonderful 3 days touring the area and visiting with other guests on either the second floor porch/balcony or the stone patio below. The food at the restaurant was very good and the waitstaff was very friendly and personable. I was pleasantly surprised that Sarah, who waited on us the first day we were there then had a day off the next day, remembered our names when we went to eat breakfast our last morning at the inn.

This is a wonderful home in a great location in the middle of an area rich in history. Karan and her staff were genuinely hospitable and when we checked out it was like we were leaving the home of a dear friend.

I would recommend and encourage anyone to stay at The Town's Inn and step back in time to a world full of charm!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I am hiking the Appalachian Trail in large sections and the Town's Inn is one of my favorite waypoints. I just walked in off the trail and was instantly a part of the Town's Inn "family". I had the whole 3rd floor of the building with books, easy chairs, views and history. My private bath was just down the way, very nice, and in no way inconvenient. The food was superb. Broiled snapper one night, perfectly prepared, only to be matched the next night by a magnificent steak. The staff really care about their guests. One of the Chefs offered to shuttle me about 30 miles in his own car and I had to insist that he accept some gas money. He was doing it just to accommodate me. You don't find that hospitality many places these days. Try it, You'll like it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank murraystovall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
285 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
803 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.1 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town's Inn

Property: The Town's Inn
Address: 179 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Rates starting at $120*** This family-friendly historic Inn (circa 1840) is located in the center of the Harpers Ferry living history village situated at the confluence of the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers, just steps from the C&O Canal Towpath and Appalachian Trail, as well as the storybook train station served by Amtrak and MARC trains. Open from 6 a.M. - 10 P.M. Every day of the year, the restaurant on the first level of the Inn offers indoor and patio dining featuring popular cuisine, including homemade specialties and healthy options. Also on the first floor is a Sundry / Snack / Supply Shoppe which has been described as a "high-end convenience store, a mini-health food store, and an old-fashioned country store with local products." The second floor consists of two bedrooms with beautiful slate-tile private bathrooms. A parlor containing a treasure of books, toys, and games is situated on the third floor, along with another bedroom. Free WiFi is available. Step outside and enjoy river views, river sports, hiking, bicycling, museums, shopping, and more in this quaint town that is adjacent to the Harpers Ferry National Historic Park and surrounded by other national parks, farms, and Civil War battlegrounds. Although located only 60 miles from DC, the Inn is "a world away" from life in modern urban and suburban cities. We invite you to travel "over the river and through the woods to Grandmother's house" for relaxation, recreation, and retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing