We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super family- friendly find!”
Review of The Town's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Town's Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Excellent, family friendly and clean and updated for an 1840's building. Charming and historical building that's been well maintained. Great location and views. The Shenendoah room is adjacent to the Friendship lounge which became like a bonus area to our room on the third floor. The private bath is a treat. Totally updated and sleek.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtuseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 200 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2011

I arrived late at night, and the owner went out of his way to get me a bed. I had a nice chat with the owners and the other guests. Lovely location with a view of the two rivers.

There are a lot of trains going by here and they honk the horn 4 times for each pass, but it didn't disturb my sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bergman740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return. The location is perfect, with access to the C&O canal and Appalachian trail for hiking. We founds the rooms to be clean and Karan and Bill to be delightful hosts.

Our first night, my husband and I stayed in the Shenandoah Room, which is a spacious room with two sets of bunk beds that can sleep a total of six people. We particularly loved the adjacent Heritage House parlor area that we found to be ideal for reading and relaxing with coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening (which we brought with us). No other guests chose to use the parlor while we were there probably because the parlor and bedroom are on the third floor, while the other guest rooms are on the second floor.

Our second night was in a River View room with bunk beds. Getting into the top bunk was a tight squeeze with little clearance between the bed and the ceiling and the chairs were too utilitarian to use for reading. The historic window had a gap, making the train whistles at night more noticeable than from the Shenandoah room. Because the ceiling in the Mountain House parlor is the floor for the River View bedroom, conversations clearly carried. Those sensitive to noise should probably choose a different room. We enjoyed sitting on the porch to read and have our evening wine.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Rode my bike from DC up C&O Canal to Harpers Ferry (about 100 Km) and spent the night in this lovely inn, with gracious hosts. Due to my late arrival, most restaurants were closed (and my legs were cracked ... so riding another 5 Km for dinner wasn't appealing). The generous host drove me to and from dinner up the road. Great sleep in comfy bed. Wished I could have lingered in the morning to savor coffee and such in town, but needed to hit the trail -- a ride back through Virginia (crossing at Point of Rocks ...) ... I look forward to many more visits as I continue my training across the region this year ... JW

Room Tip: Cozy living room, settle in w/book, glass of wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimW_22207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We loved this place. It was right next to everything we wanted to see in the historic area. The owners were friendly and helpful and very sweet to my kids. The room was great for a family getaway and very affordable for a family of 5. My son wants me to mention the great toy box that was there and all the cool books. There was also a place for drinks and light foods to be stored. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

I fell in love with the Town Inn Pub and Eatery last summer on a cycling trip. I decided to return and stay a few nights towards the end of 2010. I'm told the Inn building dates from the 1840s and it has the feel of historic construction. The owner was amiable and asked if I needed anything while staying there. The room was cozy and well furnished. Coffee and tea were provided and a microwave and refrigerator were already in the room. All of this was a big help. The Inn's layout reminded me of some hostels where I have stayed, only with a more homestyle charm. The location is great, with local restaurants and an outfitters nearby in the heart of Harper's Ferry. Shops close early so be sure to get dinner and supplies before sundown. The train station is across the street with access to Washington DC. The Inn is a nice place to rest for a few days and enjoy the history and sights around town. Food and snacks are available at a low price in the lobby of the Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarlyAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Look, we realized we weren't going to be at the NY Plaza, but this was the worst stay at an inn we ever experienced. The beds were awful, there were large gaps in the windows that let in freezing air, the hostess, though seemingly tolerable, did not offer much help, and the bathrooms were all the way on another floor down a dangerously narrow staircase.

We hated the place and found the owners insincere. There wasn't even some charm to make the experience redemptive.

No wonder the place is for sale.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fvoshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
309 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Light Horse Inn
Light Horse Inn
#5 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town's Inn

Address: 179 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: $123 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Town's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Rates starting at $120*** This family-friendly historic Inn (circa 1840) is located in the center of the Harpers Ferry living history village situated at the confluence of the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers, just steps from the C&O Canal Towpath and Appalachian Trail, as well as the storybook train station served by Amtrak and MARC trains. Open from 6 a.M. - 10 P.M. Every day of the year, the restaurant on the first level of the Inn offers indoor and patio dining featuring popular cuisine, including homemade specialties and healthy options. Also on the first floor is a Sundry / Snack / Supply Shoppe which has been described as a "high-end convenience store, a mini-health food store, and an old-fashioned country store with local products." The second floor consists of two bedrooms with beautiful slate-tile private bathrooms. A parlor containing a treasure of books, toys, and games is situated on the third floor, along with another bedroom. Free WiFi is available. Step outside and enjoy river views, river sports, hiking, bicycling, museums, shopping, and more in this quaint town that is adjacent to the Harpers Ferry National Historic Park and surrounded by other national parks, farms, and Civil War battlegrounds. Although located only 60 miles from DC, the Inn is "a world away" from life in modern urban and suburban cities. We invite you to travel "over the river and through the woods to Grandmother's house" for relaxation, recreation, and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Town's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing