We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Quiet and Convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Southeast Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Our check in was fast and our room was very clean and quiet. Breakfast was just fine (cereal, waffles, fruit, etc. - I guess if you expect more, you should consider going to a restaurant, unless you just like to complain).

The hotel is fairly close to Harpers Ferry (you can park your car at the hotel and walk there in 20 minutes or so). Also, within walking distance (5-10 minutes is a restaurant and a pizza/pasta house).

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMiich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    101
    53
    18
    10
See reviews for
59
108
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

We booked this Comfort Inn because we really could not find too many other area hotels. The room was pretty dirty - unvacumed toe nail clippings next to the bed... The air conditioner was noisy and the bathroom tiny. The complimentary breakfast was some cereal, a couple of bagels and some decent waffles. But a couple of waffles did not make up for the filthy hotel room. Next time, I;ll head to the Quality Inn down the highway!!

  • Liked — Very Little
  • Disliked — The place is filthy!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelboy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanfa, Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, September 18, 2008
Dear Travelboy90,

We are sorry that you found your room unacceptible. If you had spoken to our front desk, we would've been happy to make a room change for you.

We wanted to let you know that since your review, the past several weeks our staff has taken extra measures to improve housekeeping procedures, perform deep cleaning and improve overall room condition.

We continually strive to make improvements so that our hotel guests are comfortable. Y.L., Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

The only reason we stayed here was because it was late, pouring rain & this is the only hotel in the area that would accept our dog. It was the worst stay I have ever had- so scared we slept with a gun by the bed (traveling with an off-duty police officer) & I slept very little. If we had seen the outside in the daylight we would not have stayed here- it was disgusting & scary! We broke up what looked like a drug deal in the back, while walking the dog, there is an abandoned old building back off the parking lot. The window was open (on the ground floor room) when I went in & when I went to close it - it felt like it was going to fall out. The whole picture window was loose. The view out our window in the morning was of the abandoned pool- with old paint buckets & trees growing up through it. The whole hotel looks like it is falling apart with cracks in the concrete & steps falling apart. I went for coffee in the morning at the continental breakfast & the only thing I could stomach was a cup of coffee, but ended up throwing away the cup before I took a sip- disgusted with the thought of drinking anything from this dirty, disgusting place. Can't believe I paid money for this stay. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in... unbleivable it has the Comfort Inn name on it! Unless there is new management & major upgrades- avoid this hotel like the plague! Yuck!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing - it was gross & scary!
  • Disliked — The feeling of being unsafe, filthy & scared.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChihuahuaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 27, 2008
I believe the 5/23 review by ChihuahuaMom was mistaken for another Hotel in the nearby area that does have a pool, allows pets and has abandoned building nearby.

Please note that our hotel does NOT allow pets (clearly stated on the front door) and we do NOT have a pool on the premises nor an abandoned building (there is a gazebo nearby)

Our small 50 unit hotel prides itself on great customer service. We have a wonderful staff that really cares about pleasing our customers. Please check our other reviews and you will see why the Comfort Inn in Harpers Ferry is a great place to stay.

Thank you, Y. Lin, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

First upon arival I was already scared. When we walked in it was just disgusting, you could just tell there was no regular maintenance or cleaning done in the the hallways and at the desk. Before we checked in we asked if we could see our room when we were shown the room I was in horror. The bathrooms were disgusting, the floors were dirty and instead of two queen beds we were given two twins. Unfortunately we already made a reservation prior, that we couldn't get out of so we ended up paying for the room, but staying the night at the Cliffside Inn & Conference Center just a half a mile up the road. The rooms were much cleaner.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank rrvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howardjackie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

The Comfort Inn was great and the staff was very nice. My husband and I want it to get away for the Labor Day weekend. So we made plans to visit Harpers Ferry West Va., which was about an hour and half from home. While searching the internet for places to stay I found the Comfort Inn. The staff was very nice on check in and very helpful. The rooms were clean and the customer service was simply excellent. We will stay at this hotel again when we go back to Harpers Ferry. Thank you so much for a great experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howardjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

We selected this inn as it was very close to the National Park and KOA where friends were camping. Also, there are VERY few places to choose from! It was a bit shabby, showing its age, but seemed clean enough. Complimentary breakfast was in a very small room, probably couldn't hold more than 10-12 people. It included make-your-own waffles, doughnuts, bagels, cereals, and was certainly adequate. Staff was helpful and "down home" friendly.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Needs some work to improve appearance
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rdurof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2006

We visit the Charles Town casino every other month. On this last trip, we brought the dogs, and Comfort Inn, Harpers Ferry was the closest place that accepted pets. By the way, there is NO Quality Inn in Harpers Ferry (per Choice Hotels International) - closest one is in Martinsburg, next to Interstate 81. Both hotels are classified as mid-range hotels, but this Comfort Inn barely qualifies as a 1 star property.

Upon check-in and paying $90 for 1 night, we went to the room, which had not been cleaned from last guests. Since this was the only room with 2 double beds, they said they would try to clean it within 30 -45 minutes.

Even though the front desk and housekeeping staff were all very young (late teens/early 20's), they were all very nice and helpful. One staff person said this hotel owner pays less than the average motel/hotel, which is why the 3 people I spoke with had all been there less than 3 months.

It was unusually hot and humid that week, so after waiting 20 minutes or so, we decided to leave before the dogs got heat stroke, and drove 30 minutes to Martinsburg. Perhaps we might have stayed if the weather was cooler and the price was less than $40.

Apparently, the owners live in an abandoned-looking building at the entrance to the property. The entire place had an abandoned feeling to it - weeds growing in parking lot, not many cars, neglected outbuildings, rotting roof edges near gutters etc.

Just so you know, we aren't picky travelers, and have stayed at a wide range of properties around the world. What counts is a place that is neat and clean, provides good value for money, and has a courteous staff. The staff I met did their best, but I would recommend driving 10 minutes down the road to Charles Town and staying at the Turf Motel if you don't have pets (either in the very nice new rooms for about $85 or in the older rooms for about $55 - which are clean and neat) or 30 minutes to Martinsburg - Holiday Inn has great pool for kids, accepts pets, and is newly renovated for only $99.


Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank rfbcville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Property: Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Address: 25 Union Street, PO Box 980, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing