We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If this is Econolodge, then maybe the whole franchise moved up a notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Ithaca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If this is Econolodge, then maybe the whole franchise moved up a notch”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here mainly because we were riding the C&O Canal and had limited options. From the friendly front desk service, to the ready rags and high-pressure hose to clean the bikes to the offer to keep the bikes in the rooms, the service is top-notch from my viewpoint. My wife and I thought the room updated and tasteful and the bed exceeding our expectation for Econolodge. The breakfast has a better selection than 95% of the ones we have experienced at traditionally, higher rated franchises. While there is a long hill climb from downtown Harper's Ferry, I'd recommend staying here if you're a cyclist or even if you are driving. Our expectations were exceeded by several levels!

Room Tip: A short cut through Primrose will allow cyclists to keep off Union St. If you are walking to the An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usafmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    103
    56
    18
    10
See reviews for
64
109
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

After taking my friend on the AT for the first time we ended up being able to hike further and faster than expected. I wanted her so see harpers ferry and what there was to offer. Since we didn't want to go further on the trail because we were due home the next day we stayed here! 10% off for hikers, laundry machines, a great hiker box, and coupons for 5$ off The Anvil restaurant. The shower was hot, the beds were soft, and mindless TV after days in the woods was welcomed. We will for certain be back. P.S. Kathy was amazing. Her hospitality was unmatched!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndBmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

After passing mile 1,000 on the Appalachian Trail and getting my pic at the ATC HQ, we called local hotels for lodging. I was tired of hostels and wanted a hotel with clean sheets and someone else cooking me breakfast. I always ask "Thru-hiker" rates vs "military" rates. Here they dropped almost 40% for my veteran status. Plenty of smiles and hot showers. Good breakfast too.

Room Tip: Ask for military discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This small hotel perched above Harper’s Ferry proves that you don’t have to be a Hyatt or Crown Plaza to deliver excellent service. It is about a mile uphill climb for cyclists coming off the C&O Canal Trail but is worth the effort. It is very bike friendly. The hotel has a high pressure hose, plenty of towels and an area to clean C&O muddied bikes. On our visit, the front desk clerk was very attentive to our needs. She recommended a local pizzeria and allowed us to use the breakfast room for our dinner. Clean rooms, attentive staff, and a convenient location made it a winner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomBilcze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed the extra amenities that we offer to our hikers and cyclists and that you chose us as your stopover before heading back on the C&O Canal Trail. Safe travels! Sincerely, Yinching Lin-Chen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife (goodhikers 1986) has already written a review of this Econo Lodge in Harper's Ferry and I usually don't double up on reviews, but I'm making an exception because of the great service we had at this hotel.

First and foremost, please note that it is a standard Econo Lodge--clean, basic, and uniform. It is NOT the Ritz or a Hyatt, but for it's class/location/service, it deserves the "5-star" excellent rating, particularly for bikers on the C&O canal and hikers on the Appalachian Trail (which passes about 200 yards from the hotel). Here's why:

1. Bicyclists on C&O canal: lots of reasons to like this place; in particular, manager allows bikes in your room and gives you an automatic 10% discount. Alas, it is about 1.5 miles from the canal, but the ride through portions of historic Harper's Ferry is nice even if slightly uphill (on average).

2. Hikers on the Appalachian: the hotel is very close to the trail; just after crossing the Shenandoah River on US 340 (headed northbound), the hotel is another 200 yards up the road on a very slight uphill grade with a decent walking lane next to the road. You can see the hotel sign from the west side of the bridge. The only major "hill" to climb is the 30ft. long driveway into the hotel's parking lot.

For all: the breakfast is huge for this class of hotel (at least on Sundays): eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, cereal, juices, coffee/tea, bagels, donuts, rolls, etc...and it starts at 0630, so you can get an early start with a full stomach! If you need to do wash, there are coin-operated washers/dryers for use by hotel guests on the first floor. Plus, the staff and manager are very biker/hiker friendly--they want your business and are enthusiastic in their service.

It is also located within a relatively decent walking distance of the best restaurant in the area, in my opinion: the Anvil (the only restaurant with a full service bar anywhere in the area).

The rooms themselves were quite clean with 32" flat screen TVs, small fridge, & coffee maker (with coffee/tea). Showers and bath rooms were clean with plenty of hot water.

Bottom line: not the B&B of your dreams in historic Harper's Ferry, but a great "utility" hotel for those of us transiting the area with bicycles, cycles, or backpacks. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bicyclists: ask for a first floor room so you don't have to carry your bikes up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Oh my goodness! I could read this review over and over again. Thank you so much for writing this. Your compliments on our amazing staff, clean rooms, hiker/bike-friendly hotel, and our great location are very much appreciated by everyone here. I really do hope you'll be back again so that you'll make a point of asking for me so we can meet. Thank you.

Yinching Lin-Chen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
252 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husand and I paid over a hundred dollars a night so we didn't think this was a cheap choice. The Lodge is fairly easy to find. Parking lot had spaces for all vehicles even over this busy holiday. Our room was on the second floor and we had to carry our luggage up as no elevator. Carpet and stairway walls dinghy and worn via stairs up. However, our room was clean and a nice size. We had a good refrigerator. Our view was of the parking lot. Two small slivers of soap for 2 people to shower tho was not enough - usually the soaps are a bit bigger. Ask for extra or bring your own soap or shower gel. No shower cap either. Breakfast is included in your stay and it consisted of deicious sausage and fried egg circles, cereal, various breads, fruit, juice, gravy and biscuits and a 'make your own waffles' machine. There is no restaurant so you will eat out for lunch/dinner. Staff interaction was average - they pretty much ignored us except for the registration in/out. If you are into long walks you could walk to Lower Town Harpers Ferry from here, but most people will drive there. Considering the alternative places to stay being more costly, or B&B's, or not as clean, this Econo Lodge is probably your best bet for the close proximity. Wishing you safe travels!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks for your review of the hotel over the Memorial Day weekend and for your reviews of other places you visited in beautiful, quaint Harpers Ferry! Unfortunately, those wrapped soaps are required for the brand so if you need more, just ask. We have shower caps too!
We accommodate cyclists so sometimes the tire marks leave imprints on the walls; we will try to erase them the best we can. We're so glad you enjoyed our free hot breakfast to start off your day.
We're sorry you didn't have more interaction with our Front Desk; they are all wonderful and very knowledgeable about the area. We greatly appreciate your feedback and wish you safe travels. Sincerely, Yinching Lin-Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I chose this place because I really wasn't looking for a fancy B & B after biking 60 miles and camping out the night before. What a find! I'll be back even if I'm not a bike. Such a great place! The staff was more than accomodating. They let us check in early (even though I had just asked to store our bikes and packs a couple of hours early). And when we asked about using the bike racks out front, they told us to just take the bikes in the room since we were on the first floor. We met all kinds of other people who were doing exactly what we were doing so it was really nice to compare notes. We saw many people doing bike trips or hiking trips and using this hotel as a stop to clean up, and regroup. We noticed that there was a coin laundry on the first floor and that seemed to be a big hit with folks on the trail. The rooms were simple but very clean and just exactly what we needed. I'll be telling our biking friends about this place. It's perfect after a couple of days and nights on the trail. It appears that many bikers and hikers already know about this place. There was a nice hot breakfast served in the morning so we had our fill of biscuits and gravy before we hit the trail. The staff seems to know exactly what was needed. Great place!

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you havve a bike you'd like to take into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodhikers1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your review of our hotel and the area! Yes, we accommodate many hikers and bikers due to the proximity to the trail and we're only half mile away from the Appalachian Trail Headquarters and maybe 15-20 minute walking distance to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park. We're glad you had a pleasant stay and met many like-minded people doing the same. Happy trails! Yinching Lin-Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Property: Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Address: 25 Union St, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-0980 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing