We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Fairlawn, Ohio
1 review
“Staff”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. Thanks, Heather for all you did? The restaurant the staff told us about was great with excellent waiters and food. The lunch place we were told about was great also in the town of Harpers Ferry. We had a great time visiting Harpers Ferry, even though the Government shut down there was plenty to do and see. Hiking was still available. We did the Ghost tour in Harpers Ferry and the host was very knowledgeable almost making one believe in ghosts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    107
    58
    18
    10
See reviews for
65
112
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was riding the C&O towpath from Hancock to Harpers Ferry, WV and stayed here before (called Comfort Inn previously). It is about a mile from the bridge but we took the easy level route there. There was a pleasant desk person to help me find my room, since the elevators were not working. THey had a nice garden hose outside to wash the mud from my bike and shoes. The rooms were large and warm and comfortable and clean. Lots of nice towels and hairdryer to dry shoes. Actually quite nice for the price. The breakfast was very nice with make them yourself waffles and yogurt and fresh fruit and choice of dry cereal and eggs and sausage. The beds were very comfortable and pillows great. The highway noise was the only detraction at night. The service was great and lots of other bikers stayed there. Overall great place but a mile from the towpath. The town itself closes down about 6- 7pm, so you must get there early if you want a decent dinner.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy-Biker-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The room smelled a little musty, but it was clean and adequate. Breakfast was good with protein available as well as carbs. Staff was very friendly and helpful though they frequently sat outside the front door to smoke. Beautiful area with many historical sites to see.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

ROOM 103....SMELLS LIKE A DEAD ANIMAL THEY TRIED TO HIDE WITH LYSOL
the only thing good about this stay was the breakfast waffle. EXCEPT the waffle iron had not been CLEANED FROM THE DAY BEFORE!!!

ALL the employees smoked at the entrance...you have to walk through smoke to get in the door.
Lights broken and bent....cobwebs in the lights.....ratty blankets....forget the bedspread, we ditched it the first nite.

HAD WE NOT been SOOOO tired from riding 65 miles on a bicycle.....we'd never agreed to stay there...it was late and we were stuck.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are diligently working with Maintenance/Housekeeping to address the items you indicated in the guest room. (i.e., new lighting/bedding forthcoming). We're glad you enjoyed the fresh waffles. We thank you again for your feedback. Happy biking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

For an Econo Lodge this one is above average, clean big rooms and large breakfast area with few more choices than the standard for this brand. Fact is after hiking the AT for a while any bed with a mattress would feel like 5 star luxury. Hotel is only few minutes walk from AT office and trail.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharaoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Pharaoah,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear that you had a comfortable rest and was able to get a reprieve from the long hike. We're glad you enjoyed our expanded breakfast with hot items. And yes, we are just half a mile from the Appalachian Trail Headquarters and walkable from the trail. Thanks again for your review, happy trail hiking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This Econo Lodge location is perfect. Close to the town of Harper's Ferry and just off the main highway. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and funny. If you want to visit the old town, drive to the park and get the shuttle. Great spot for an inexpensive stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Aegiss1,
Thank you for coming all the way from Waterloo, ON to visit historic Harpers Ferry. I think you summed it very well in your title. We hope you enjoyed our free hot breakfast, comfortable mattresses and last but not least our wonderful staff. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Safe travels back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent one night here in July. It's a bit far from the Harper's Ferry historic area; walkable, but up a very large hill on the way back. It's difficult to park in the historic area, most people shuttle in, but I wish we'd stayed at a place in the historic area that offered parking.

The staff at the Econo Lodge was friendly and helpful. The place itself was average. Room and beds were ok. I didn't like the musty smell, or the constant group of smokers right outside the front door. The breakfast was just ok. Very small breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Regarding walking from lower town Harpers Ferry, we recommend taking Shenandoah St (flat) instead of Washington St (uphill from Lower Town). Parking is limited in town so many drive to the park entrance and take the shuttle in.
We're sorry that you encountered bad odors and smokers outside; our facility is 94% non-smoking rooms. We continue to work with Maintenance/Housekeeping to keep rooms well maintained and free of malodors. Thank you for your review so we can continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
809 reviews
8.8 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Property: Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Address: 25 Union St, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-0980 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing