We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the only motel of its kind the Harpers Ferry area, and it is excellent value at a very reasonable price. The room with two double beds was very comfortable and cozy with the table and chairs, large TV, microwave, fridge, iron, etc. Everyone on the staff was smiling and helpful, the lobby and all areas very clean and well maintained.
We stayed 2 nights, one of which there was only one other vehicle in the parking lot. Nonetheless both mornings we faced a full hot breakfast - waffles, danish, toast, bagles, cereal, biscuits, gravy, sausage patties and egg patties. An unbelievable offering for only a few guests.
We will use this motel for all our visits to the areas, and will tell our friends to do so also

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

My Time was very good
the Desk Clerk Heather Was wonderful
She made sure we could find places we were looking for and offered places to eat and helped my wife and I in any way she could Our room was clean and taken care of nicely

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bulldragon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were passing through and stopped there fairly late in the evening. Young man on the front desk was frlendly and helpful. Room had everything needed and was well looked after. Young lady on the desk the next morning was equally as helpful and the breakfast did the job. Very happy with the one night stay.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor - I don't think they have an elevator to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gonefishingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are biking on the C & O Canal be sure to ask for a first floor room. Although they claim to be bike friendly, they don't offer anyplace to store your bike that is accessible except your room.

The rooms at the motel were decent and the breakfast was good.

Unfortunately, the motel isn't located near any place to eat and after a day of biking that was important to us. If you have a car it's a non-issue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jglenn6874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Harpers Ferry has had more than its share of hard times over the decades, but this fact has resulted in a bounty for visitors today. Because modernization -- ie, tearing down old buildings -- was slow to arrive here, there are dozens of historic buildings in the town. The violence that took place here has not been ignored, meaning you'll find history around many corners. The combination of lack of "progress" and historical preservation means natural beauty is easy to find in the area -- you can cross a highway bridge and see more green than buildings. And because the nature was never fully "tamed," recreational opportunities abound -- hiking, rafting, zip-lines, kayaking, biking, and tubing are easy to enjoy. Because visitors have a lot of reasons to come here, you'll have many choices on where to stay -- within the town itself or in nearby Charles Town. This Econo Lodge (formerly a Comfort Inn) is a good mix of value, comfort, being close to the city, and easy access to the main highway.

Stayed here primarily due to it being literally within sight of the Appalachian Trail. That it was also right off U.S. Highway 340, just beyond the bridge over the Potomac, was a bit of a bonus. However, this location is still just under a mile from the historic district, and about five miles to services in Charles Town. In other words, right on a major highway but not adjacent to anything.

Our room had full bath (a bit crowded), AC, fridge, microwave, hair dryer, iron & board, coffee maker, and TV with 32 channels. It was clean, quiet, and well-maintained. Staff was professional and friendly. Free amenities include parking, wi-fi, local calls, hot breakfast buffet, and PC with printer in the lobby. The motel has two floors but no elevator, which may be a problem. Room doors can only be accessed from the inside, and the desk at the front door seems to be staffed at all hours. We did note that our door did not shut unless you pull on it, which could be a problem if you are in a hurry to get somewhere.

This a motel centered on value for visitors, not necessarily charm or beauty or romance. For a place to stay while visiting here for a few days, it may well meet your needs at a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you don't want to take luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
4  Thank RabePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great motel. Everything was clean and the bathrooms were pretty new. The staff were very friendly and accommodating of the various dirty appalachian trail hikers and long route bikers that we saw checking in. Can't beat the location being just a short drive or walk from historic harpers ferry and the at trail head.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ausasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My son was ending his hike of the AT at Harper's Ferry (HF), WV because he ran out of money so I decided to hike with him the last 56 miles or so, so that I could be with him when he reached the "1000 Mile" marker. Our last day into HF (July 4th), after spending the night at a hostel, we had a 22 miles hike. At ~18 miles my son's feet started burning bad. He couldn't understand why because he had hiked over 1000 miles with no major feet issues, and his last day they were burning. We finally got into HP and did not know where we could stay. We called several hostels & B & Bs but they were either full or they were to far for my son to walk. I found out there was an Econo Lodge and I called them. They were very nice and had a room but I explained to them we couldn't walk there because of my son's feet, and after putting me on hold, he came back and said he had talked to his manager and she was coming to pick us up at the train station. This was ~ 9:15pm on July 4th. We walked a block to the train station and in minutes, Yin drove up in her personal vehicle, and though we were dirty & stinky after hiking 22 miles in the heat, she brought us to the hotel. They were wonderful and the rooms were great, with the best beds I've ever slept on (They had recently replaced them and are top quality!). I found out later that YIN (manager) is normally gone by 6pm after working a long day and yet, for whatever reason, she was held up going home, and then she sacrificed another 1.5 hours before heading home to make sure we were taken care of. The morning breakfast was great too with more than I expected. All the staff was very nice and was focused on customer service. It is a stay that I will always remember and appreciate and if I ever return to Harper's Ferry, there's no question where I will stay. Thank You HP Econo Lodge !!!! You did great ! Oh yeah, it turned out, my son had an allergic reaction to the fabric softener, (when we did our laundry) at the Hostel the night before…

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.8 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
144 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Address: 25 Union St, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-0980 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: $84 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing