We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The motel was just ok - really the only thing going for it is it's location. Its walkable to the National Park but Lower Town is more than the 10 minute walk they say, but also easy drive to the railroad station/restaurant area. Small free breakfast area (maybe 1/2 dozen tables) but they had a make your own waffle machine so all was good. I just thought the price ($115 AAA rate on a summer Friday) was high for what you got and the area it was in. Not sure if there really is anything else nearby or you may need to go up the road to Charles Town. Also the restaurant reviews are correct - there really doesn't appear to be any great restaurants nearby. We ate a Cannonball Deli (sandwich was good but place was small and hot) and then at Pvt Quinn's Pub(again burger and beer ok) but on a summer weekend most of the place was closed and there were only three tables of customers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 309 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Comfort Inn has been there for 20 or more years and is a reliable and convenient lodging option if Harpers Ferry is your destination. It has interior corridors, a nice breakfast room, adequate staff service and it's clean and functional. It is possible to walk to the lower town historic district (about 1 mile, only 300 yards of which is along the highway). The other option in town is at the top of the hill near the shuttle bus stop, a Quality Inn, which is a renovated older property. I'd shop price between the two and if the Comfort Inn is less than $20 more expensive, I'd book it over the Quality Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank civilwarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Horrible, paid for a nonsmoking room and checked in and the room reeked of smoke. All other rooms were booked so we couldn't move. The window was open when we arrived so somebody obviously was smoking by the window, and the maids didn't notice? Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacarus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our group of 20 people spent the weekend at the Comfort Inn. The manager was more than helpful and accommodating. The hotel was basic, clean, and there was a good selection for the Continental breakfast. It was very close to the sights in Harpers Ferry, but a bit more than walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vettetraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Comfortable room. Good breakfast. Fairly close to the C&O Canal Towpath. Has a hose to wash off the bike, and provides rags to clean the bike. No laundry room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2011

Dear zron55:
Thank you for taking the time to write a factual review. Yes, we are bike-friendly and we offer a complimentary hot breakfast with fresh waffles daily. Due to popular demand, we now have a coin laundry facility on the premises. Thank you for your feedback! Sincerely, Yinching Lin-Chen, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We came to see Harpers Ferry and ended up staying an extra day. Those pillows!! After a VERY comfortable night's sleep, the manager went completely out of her way to help us buy some for our own home. We ended up staying an extra night after the front desk's suggestions for great dining and other things to do and see.

It appears this hotel is under new management as there were many upgrades underway. Breakfast was a surprise as we know the addition of bacon and other hot items are above and beyond Comfort Inn's requirements.

We also found the location provided easy access to the one-way street system in Harpers Ferry and was within walking distance to the Appalachian Trail. All in all, our visit was directly enhanced by the friendly service and amenities at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hdiederich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Bed bugs!!!! I woke up in the middle of the night to the disgusting feeling of bugs crawling on me. I had the night desk guy confirm that these gross little black things were bed bug & we left in total disgust at 3am. The next day the GM continued to deny that they had bed bugs, despite the bites I now have all over my neck, arms, shoulders & fingers. And they itch like crazy. Disgusting. Makes you wonder if the rest of the rooms have this same problem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Ewashingtondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2011

There’s no denial here, just my comment that we didn’t have any bed bugs in our hotel until this recent incident. I have been very sympathetic and apologized to the guest for her unfortunate experience. I have called/emailed the guest on several occasions to see how she was doing and to make things right. I do believe this to be an isolated incident, brought in from a previous traveler. We have taken appropriate measures to immediately rectify the problem, including the use of pest control products/services and inspections from both a pest control professional and the county sanitation experts. The conclusion from both was NO bed bugs in the room and perimeter rooms. 15 days later absent of any activity, we continue to keep the room down with daily monitoring to ensure the safety of our guests.

Sincerely,
Yinching Lin-Chen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
279 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
2.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
856 reviews
8.8 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#3 of 3 in Shepherdstown
145 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Address: 25 Union St, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-0980 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: $78 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing