We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rest, Great Continental Breakfast - BAD Gym”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We stayed overnight after a long day of visiting historical sights. Before bed, we decided that we would put in a little workout at their on-sight gymnasium. The "Gymnasium" as it turns out was a 10x12 room with an old Nordic Track (ski machine, which I wasn't even sure worked), a very old treadmill, a stationary bike with a broken seat, a small a coffee table and a plastic plant in the corner. Instead of a gym, it looked more like a storage room for stuff they're ready to get rid of on Craigslist. So, we went to bed, which was comfortable. In the morning, we were expecting the standard continental breakfast of bagels, donuts and coffee. They had that, but also had another room with lots of real food in it as well as a Belgian Waffle maker. They were amazing and made the stay worth while. If you don't care about working out but love Belgian Waffles, go to that Quality Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elykgidod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2008

We have stayed in at this Quality Inn several times over the years when touring historic spots and visiting Charles Town Slots. We booked 2 rooms for 7/3/2008 as a stop on the way to Gettysburg PA. It was a pleasant surprise to see they have improved on this property recently with new lobby,pool and meeting spaces, restaurant/bar, and upgraded thier rooms. The rooms are larger than most and you can see that the furnishings and baths are fresh and clean as have all been recently renovated. The staff was much more friendly and helpful than in the past.

1  Thank AnneFreemanYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Family of three with 5-year old stayed three nights on first floor 2-Queens bedroom that was clean and spacious. It had typical budget hotel decor, 3-foot refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. Property was recently bought, renovated, and renamed the Quality Inn. Road signs for this hotel are confusing and information is only available by telephone. Continental breakfast was included in $103.50 nightly rate. The buffet (served 6:30-9:30 am) was lacking and poorly stocked (e.g., no butter available on a couple of days, and very limited selection of danishes, mini-muffins, toast, bagels, and dry cereal). Housekeeping did not clean our room on 3rd day (merely replenished towels and made beds). Card key was deactivated nightly and had to be replaced. Pool water was set at a chilly 74 degrees fahrenheit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

If you book a king size bed, expect two doubles. The staff explained this as " you're booked here too long and will take up the few king size beds we have." The first night I was gifted with a huge bug bite! My collegue had wasps in his room. The sheets and mattress pad must be circa 1985.

Everytime I went to use the "exercise room" there were no towels or cleaning solutions. It isn't ventilated so you have to prop the door open with whatever you can find. There is a water dispenser across the hall, but it is often empty. You can report problems to the staff but usually you'll get an huff and "I don't know."

I ordered from the restaurant twice and both times my order was incorrect. The continental breakfast is mediorce at best. Be prepared to drop the hardboiled eggs (the only kind offered) in boiling water because they are usually frozen. Several times I asked for fruit, but it was "on order."
The KOA next door looks much better. I'm so sorry I didn't have an R.V.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PurpleCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Our three night stay at Quality Inn, formerly Cliffside Inn, was an overall pleasant experience. Upon arrival, we were checked in by a friendly young desk clerk. The room was great. Very spacious and clean. Surprisingly there was a microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator in the room. The wooded view from the room was a nice added touch. Only a couple things we weren't pleased with. We found the alarm clock somewhat difficult to set. Apparently we weren't the only ones. Around 6am our first morning our sleep was disrupted by the alarm clock from the room next to us. Finally after about 30 minutes, we phoned the front desk. No one was occupying that room so the front desk clerk turned off the alarm. The next evening we attempted to take a dip in the indoor "heated" pool. The water was slightly under room temperature. We lasted for about 30 minutes and decided to call it quits. The continental breakfast which is included with the stay had a good selection of foods. It ran from 7am to 11am which allowed for us to sleep in a little and still make it for breakfast. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant our last night. Food was good and price was average. Unfortunately upon check out, we were "greeted" by a different desk clerk who seemed to be more concerned with settling the bill rather than asking how our stay was. We questioned the total which was slighlty higher than what was quoted via phone. The clerk simply repeated the total and offered no explanation for the price difference. Overall, we felt the room and amenities were right for the price. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank J-RIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We've stayed at this place before but apparently it was just bought this year, and i tell you the new owners have done an excellent job renovating! The room was very clean they even had a fridge and a microwave. They have cleaned up their property a lot and apparently have put a lot of money into the place while keeping the price low. If you are planning on staying in the Harpers Ferry area I would strongly recommend Cliffside.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rrvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2006

I stayed here for one night in late November for a work trip. There was absolutely nobody else booked but our group, and we had an okay time. My room seemed clean and decent enough, however my bathroom toilet had 'flushing trouble' and nobody's TV remotes worked (I had spare batteries on me so replaces them for the night and used the remote with no trouble).

One thing to be aware of: After mid-November, the hotel's bar, pool tables, and dining area essentially shut down and the staff would not let us use them! We did have free continental breakfast in the morning but had to ask them to make coffee. They did have a gym available (I didn't use it though) and I think a pool too? Anyway, the staff were okay but as one person mentioned, young and somewhat inexperienced.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JulieAnn1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
304 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
3.6 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
844 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry

Address: 4328 William L Wilson Fwy, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-4047 (Formerly Quality Hotel Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: $90 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaming - History - Adventure ...Only one hour from DC and Baltimore. Offering FREE Shuttle service to and from Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races! The Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry in beautiful Harpers Ferry, West Virginia is full of modern amenities to accommodate your every need. Whether you are a first-time visitor to the area or a seasoned vet, let the Clarion Inn team help you relax and enjoy the peaceful, serene surroundings. With 100 deluxe hotel rooms, superb dining from our on-site White Horse Tavern, and easy access to River Riders Family Adventure Resort, the Clarion Inn in Harpers Ferry can handle any size group and still find time to cater to the traveling couple. Within walking distance of Harpers Ferry National Historical Park and various outdoor activities, the Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry is a history and outdoor lover's paradise. Whitewater rafting, Civil War history, hiking the Appalachian Trail, sightseeing, and antique shopping are just a small sampling of what's in store when you visit. Don't forget about all the available action, including over 5,000 slots and brand new table games, at the acclaimed and newly renovated Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races less than 5 miles away. Free Shuttle Service to and from the Casino on Fridays and Saturdays. Let the Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry host your next conference, banquet, wedding, or group travel. With over 10,000 square feet of conference / reception space, the Clarion Inn team will assist you in any way possible to ensure your function is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Harpers Ferry
Quality Hotel Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing