We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Flippin, Arkansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I chose this hotel for its convenient location, but it did not live up to a standard of excellence. The room was clean and quiet, but the wireless internet did not work. We were on the far west end of the main building. The hotel could use a little TLC as the carpet was a little warped in the hallway and two room numbers fell off the wall in the night. Although I did not see anyone smoking in the building, groups of people were socializing and smoking under the covered entryway and in front of the door where I had to walk to get in and out. The entrance/exit to the property is dangerously located just shy of the top of a hill where traffic was zipping past from both directions. Turning out in either direction was unnerving because it is impossible to see very far up the road to the right where traffic is coming over and down the hill, and vegetation keeps traffic hidden as it comes from the left going up the hill. In addition the median is placed so that it is hard to get past cars coming from the left, get turned, and get up speed to merge with traffic coming from the right.

Room Tip: Be sure to call the desk if you need internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    64
    37
    15
    20
See reviews for
54
61
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed two nights. Each was a stop on the way to and from Williamsburg, VA. We are frequent visitors to Harpers Ferry National Park. The location is very convenient and rooms were clean and quiet. We had adjoining rooms with our daughter, her husband and their 9 month old. The staff was very helpful both upon our initial arrival and our return. Dinner at the Tavern was surprisingly delicious. The crab cakes we very well done. Breakfast was suitable for a traveler in a buffet style.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, NY
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Conveniently located right on Rt 340, this hotel offers nice amenities and a great restaurant. Room was clean and confortable, and pool was very nice. Front desk crew were very helpful and accomodating.
The Vista Grill restaurant offers very good food for reasonable prices.
Served as a nice "home base" for exploring Harpers Ferry and the surrounding area. Very conveniently located near River Riders - where you can take a zip line tour or go tubing down a river.
Continental breakfast was okay - serving all the basics. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabre4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tazewell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A simple hotel with plenty of extras that make the money spent worth it. Pool was nice as were rooms. Continental breakfast was nothing special. Front desk was helpful and professional. Convenient location and amazing view. Overall, this was a nice hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the second floor that faces west you will get an awesome view. We stayed in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very conveniently located to visit the Park and downtown Harpers Ferry. We've stayed there twice now. It seems a little pricey for a Quality Inn, but it also seemed to be the only thing nearby except for a Super 8 motel. They are pet friendly which helped us this trip. My husband and daughter enjoyed the hot breakfast with fresh waffles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Clean room - we had a non-smoking with 2 queens. The beds were very comfortable. Nice view. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I suggest you pass on the hot breakfast buffet though, even though it is free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
281 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've been coming to this hotel each year for at least 7 years. It has certainly been improved in the past few years. The front desk and buffet breakfast staff are pleasant and helpful. The hot breakfast is nothing special but adequate. Rooms are large and offer two comfy queen beds. It's close to Harpers Ferry and Charlestown and a half hour from Frederick, MD. We like this accommodation and the location suits our needs well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 5 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry

Property: Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Address: 4328 William L Wilson Fwy, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Quality Hotel Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaming - History - Adventure ...Only one hour from DC and Baltimore. Offering FREE Shuttle service to and from Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races! The Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry in beautiful Harpers Ferry, West Virginia is full of modern amenities to accommodate your every need. Whether you are a first-time visitor to the area or a seasoned vet, let the Clarion Inn team help you relax and enjoy the peaceful, serene surroundings. With 100 deluxe hotel rooms, superb dining from our on-site White Horse Tavern, and easy access to River Riders Family Adventure Resort, the Clarion Inn in Harpers Ferry can handle any size group and still find time to cater to the traveling couple. Within walking distance of Harpers Ferry National Historical Park and various outdoor activities, the Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry is a history and outdoor lover's paradise. Whitewater rafting, Civil War history, hiking the Appalachian Trail, sightseeing, and antique shopping are just a small sampling of what's in store when you visit. Don't forget about all the available action, including over 5,000 slots and brand new table games, at the acclaimed and newly renovated Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races less than 5 miles away. Free Shuttle Service to and from the Casino on Fridays and Saturdays. Let the Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry host your next conference, banquet, wedding, or group travel. With over 10,000 square feet of conference / reception space, the Clarion Inn team will assist you in any way possible to ensure your function is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Harpers Ferry
Quality Hotel Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing