We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected much better for this price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expected much better for this price!”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

First, our room had an odd smell. We couldn't figure out what it was, but it may have been some sort of cleaner or attempt to cover another odor. Either way, it was not pleasant. The bathroom door was so warped that we couldn't even close it. Even though we were in non smoking area, the hallways had a smokey smell. When we got to breakfast, they were out of eggs and meat and we had completely finished before they refilled them. Vending machines only had a few drinks. No snacks any where we could find. Bar area was nice and drinks reasonably priced. But the karokee was so loud we could barely converse with friends who we met there. This is what I would have expected from a motel of half this price maybe. But for what they charge.. this was totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: Maybe try the new Holiday Inn Express or Hampton in Charles Town, WV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    83
    41
    17
    21
See reviews for
71
90
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Here as part of a Civil War Battlefields tour. OK to stay for one night. A motel type hotel. There is a Tavern restaurant (like a bar) and a Gourmet restaurant. We were staying in mid-week and the Gourmet restaurant only opens on Fridays and Saturdays so we lost out. However, the meal in the Tavern was extremely nice and very big. I had salmon and my wife had scampi (battered prawns). The room was well appointed with microwave and coffee maker. The room was clean and we saw no bedbugs. It was nice to have breakfast included in the room price. The breakfast food was adequate but the dining room was a bit Spartan. Personally, I enjoy a more formal dining experience but we have to be thankful for small mercies ....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abrumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Checked in with no problems,after going to see where our room was lady at desk asked if our room was ok and it was perfect,room and hotel smelled clean,staff all friendly,good breakfast and restaurant had excellant food there at hotel,slept very well.At check out,staff asked to make sure we were happy with our stay and we were,wife and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

A good hotel to use if visiting Harpers Ferry. No problem with the room , everything OK. Had a nice meal in the hotel bar , good value . Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The room was clean and spacious with all the amenities - microwave, refrigerator, wireless internet, TV, radio.. The beds were comfortable and there was not a trace of bedbugs. I was in the 3rd building which is farthest from the office/restaurant - close enough to walk. I ate the T-bone steak dinner in the tavern restaurant. The steak was ok but if there is another time I think I would check out Charles Town. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. Plenty of food with a nice selection. The person stocking the buffet was pleasant. All in all it is a nice a place and I would stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at the appearance of the room. It was bright and cheerful with two double beds, refrigerator, safe, large TV and coffee maker. I'm not a TV watcher. When I'm traveling I like to attend special events or happenings going on in the area. I do like music in the room though and the reception for radio was poor which is not the hotel's fault, although an antenna on the radio would help reception. After reading reviews from two travelers referring to bedbugs in the rooms, I was quite fearful, but in the two nights that I stayed there, I had no such problem. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was wonderful...cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, muffins, waffles, biscuits and gravy, fruit, etc. Sure beat going to a fast food restaurant to buy breakfast. I was quite surprised at the number of guests who were in the dining room for the meal. The staff was helpful and checkout was speedy.
My only complaint was that there must have been either smoking rooms in the non-smoking building (building #2) or guests where assigned rooms in that building who did smoke. As soon as I opened the outside building door, I smelled the cigarette smoke, but I did not necessarily smell it in my room. The room was well maintained and clean. I noticed that some reviewers mentioned that their rooms were in either building #2 or #3 and how they had to walk a great distance to get to them. This is rubbish. You can park in front of these buildings. If you are too lazy to walk from them to the main building for morning breakfast, you are either lazy or infirm. In that case, move your car and drive to the main building.
I can certainly recommend this establishment and would not hesitate to go there again.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room and you can expect it to be just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My Wife and I stayed here during the Heritage Festival of Charles town. We were greeted like family! We enjoyed the time away from the City and the Q inn crew made it happen!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hnter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
290 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
3.6 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
812 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry

Property: Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Address: 4328 William L Wilson Fwy, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-4047 (Formerly Quality Hotel Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaming - History - Adventure ...Only one hour from DC and Baltimore. Offering FREE Shuttle service to and from Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races! The Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry in beautiful Harpers Ferry, West Virginia is full of modern amenities to accommodate your every need. Whether you are a first-time visitor to the area or a seasoned vet, let the Clarion Inn team help you relax and enjoy the peaceful, serene surroundings. With 100 deluxe hotel rooms, superb dining from our on-site White Horse Tavern, and easy access to River Riders Family Adventure Resort, the Clarion Inn in Harpers Ferry can handle any size group and still find time to cater to the traveling couple. Within walking distance of Harpers Ferry National Historical Park and various outdoor activities, the Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry is a history and outdoor lover's paradise. Whitewater rafting, Civil War history, hiking the Appalachian Trail, sightseeing, and antique shopping are just a small sampling of what's in store when you visit. Don't forget about all the available action, including over 5,000 slots and brand new table games, at the acclaimed and newly renovated Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races less than 5 miles away. Free Shuttle Service to and from the Casino on Fridays and Saturdays. Let the Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry host your next conference, banquet, wedding, or group travel. With over 10,000 square feet of conference / reception space, the Clarion Inn team will assist you in any way possible to ensure your function is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Harpers Ferry
Quality Hotel Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing