We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every bit as wonderful as the reviews suggest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pinehurst Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinehurst Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Every bit as wonderful as the reviews suggest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

I will just concur with many other reviewers and say this place is GREAT! Wonderful hosts, tasty breakfasts, very comfy beds (and sheets - ask about the sheets, they sell them, I may take some home myself!) They shared space is lovely and inviting for reading or chatting. The front porch and outdoor tree swings are hammock are too, but this is mosquito time, so we couldn't enjoy those as much as we'd like. And it is HOT this week, so the non A/C rooms can get a tad steamy, but we didn't find it a problem. Just go hop in Lake Superior if it gets too hot. :) And the hosts are good at helping you find a good beach spot, or producing a map for a local hike, suggesting restaurants or anything else you might need. Very accomodating. And Enso spa is great! We did a massage and found it to be a wonderful end to our stay. Only a walk across the garden! What better than that!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    31
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
190
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crookston, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Terrific place. It's expensive but it's the sort of place that actually seems worth the splurge. The rooms are fantastic. Very beautiful and spacious. The general setting of the Inn is lovely. Nancy and Steve are terrific.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micahprays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

My wife and I traveled to Bayfield this several days ago to attend a concert at the Big Top Chautauqua. We were looking for a B and B that would be nice (since it was an anniversary trip), and convenient to the concert site and Bayfield. We picked the Pinehurst - and we're very glad we did. It fit the bill perfectly.

The house itself is beautiful, and spotless. The room had nice new plumbing, a great bed, and was well decorated. Breakfast was equally top-notch - witha nice local touch in th emenu items. We had a small incident that needed the attention of our hosts, and it was taken care of with the utmost of professionalism. The other guests all seemed to share our satisfaction. This place is great - don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwamp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

pinehurst inn provided us with fantastic lodging, assistance with activities and sites in the bayfield/apostle island area and general knowledge of the area. steve and nancy, the inn keepers/owners, were so very friendly and genuinely kind it made us feel like we knew them our whole lives. their willingness to assist in any way possible to ensure that we get the most of our vacation plus their extra efforts taken to preserve the environment was a huge bonus. the area offers such beauty and i can say without uncertainty that we will return to visit and we will definitely stay again at the pinehurst inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanapapaOf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Enjoyed our stay at Pinehurst. The innkeepers were very informative about what is available for activities in the area and had additional brochures from vendors available for review or to take along. Food was fantastic and presentation was a delight. A true place for rest of mind and spirit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fryplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Ridge, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I can't even begin to explain the feeling that you get when you walk through the doors of the Pinehurst Inn. The owners and staff are very friendly, informative and welcoming. If you are not sure where to go or what to do, they will help you find your way. They have several menus and detailed descriptions of local shopping, restaurants, attractions, etc.

We stayed in the whispering pines room. This room is beautifully decorated and very romantic. There is a huge whirlpool tub and fireplace.

The Pinehurst is located minutes from Bayfield. We picked it specifically because we wanted to be secluded by pine trees and wildlife.

Breakfast is absolutely delicious, and they are willing to cater to picky eaters, special diets, and allergies.

The rooms are expensive, but you get what you pay for. We didn't go to the spa, but there is one right on site.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsstehli6907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a long weekend in Bayfield, Wis. One of our activities was dog sledding, and when booking this excursion, the owner recommended Pinehurst Inn for our accommodations. Our room not only was comfortable, but eco-friendly, and a spa, though we did not have time to partake in its services, was right on site. The innkeeper could not have been more hospitable, and his organic breakfasts (most ingredients are grown locally) were absolutely delicious. We are considering returning to Bayfield in the summer or fall. If we do, we'll definitely contact Pinehurst again.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZTraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
13.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
12.1 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.9 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinehurst Inn

Property: Pinehurst Inn
Address: 83645 Highway 13, Bayfield, WI 54814-4530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-elegant accommodations providing perfect setting for relaxation. Enjoy comfortable, relaxing guest room, heart-and soul-warming breakfast, Apostle Islands, Bayfield and more. Try the Pinehurst sauna. Pinehurst offers a variety of specials and packages. We accommodate special dietary needs. Connecting adventure, environment and personal rejuvenation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing