We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and great eco-features.”
Review of Pinehurst Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinehurst Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and great eco-features.”
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights. It was a great place to head out to explore orchards, shops and Madeline Island. The Enso on-site spa was great. Nancy & Steve have done a great job at building a green addition.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyInnEcoRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    31
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
201
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spring Green, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Beautifully located, landscaped, renovated circa 1900 mansion B&B a few miles south of bustling Bayfield. Innkeepers Nancy and Steve proved to be gracious, uniquely knowledgeable hosts. Their commitment to sustainability is quietly self-evident everywhere -- on the grounds, in the rooms and at the breakfast table. While embraced by the past, this historic B&B manages to plant itself seamlessly into a 'green,' comforting future. We're still congratulating ourselves for our choice of a four-night stay at Pinehurst. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The Pinehurst Inn is nestled in Bayfield so you are close to all the activities you could imagine. Yet, the best activity of them all is enjoying the Inn's organic breakfast, gorgeous decor, solar heated water and whirlpools, gardens and surrounding creek. The inn owners are running this as a green business and it is an inspiration for those looking to create a new way of having an impact on the earth. I can't encourage people enough to look to Steve and Nancy's Pinehurst Inn as a model for how the world should work!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cewilson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed for three nights and we were not impressed. When we first met Steve, he handed me a legal document to sign and, in addition, asked that we read over the list of rules that he gave us, carefully in our room. Rather than a warm and welcoming greeting, we were met with a business contract. This was the first time at a B & B that we felt as though we were involved in contract law.

Breakfast was another uncomfortable experience. Although the food was adequate, it was uninspired. For instance, there was no choice of fresh breads or cereal--only muffins. One morning, because we had to leave early to catch a kayaking trip, we were not offered any protein (no eggs or cheese--only fruit and muffins). We had to ask for some cheese and Steve obliged.
We chose the first breakfast seating at 8:00 a.m. and precisely at 8:25 a.m., we and the other couple with whom we were enjoying a lively conversation, were asked to leave the dining room so that the next shift could arrive! We felt like walking wallets, rather than guests at an inn.

Although the inn and the rooms were quite attractive, our room was dusty: it had not been cleaned thoroughly.

Our hosts both seemed to be burned-out. The "green" eco-business is fine, but perhaps showing warmth and caring is equally or more important. We felt that the appropriate moniker or color for this inn should be blue as our experience left us cold.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FreighttrainToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Very pleasant house, rooms comfortable and nicely decorated, but not in that over-Victorian way of some B&Bs. Breakfast tasty, using local ingredients. Environmental awareness/features (solar panels, green tourism designation) a plus for us. The rooms we've had include the bathtub/shower in the room, fine for us, but FYI.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela-in-Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Delightful room. Wonderful breakfast. Clean. Located just south of Bayfield.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We loved our trip to Bayfield. I have to say that staying in the Catherine Rittenhouse suite was a challenge. There is no "shower" although a handset is provided in the tub which is very spacious. Even a shower curtain around the tub would help. I was concerned about spraying down the room while rinsing my hair. And it's not for the tall guest. On the 3rd floor of a 100+ year old house doesn't provide a lot of headroom. And the stairs provide a challenge for luggage.

The room was well maintained, but needed some "spring cleaning" - bugs in the light fixture!

The owners were wonderful. Helpful, friendly. The breakfasts were great. The spa onsite was awesome! I REALLY appreciate all their efforts to be environmentally conscience. It really was the relaxing weekend I was looking for.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md2dr2sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
13.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
12.1 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
594 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
414 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
62 reviews
2.9 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinehurst Inn

Property: Pinehurst Inn
Address: 83645 Highway 13, Bayfield, WI 54814-4530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-elegant accommodations providing perfect setting for relaxation. Enjoy comfortable, relaxing guest room, heart-and soul-warming breakfast, Apostle Islands, Bayfield and more. Try the Pinehurst sauna. Pinehurst offers a variety of specials and packages. We accommodate special dietary needs. Connecting adventure, environment and personal rejuvenation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing