We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowy Winter Wonderland!”
Review of Pinehurst Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinehurst Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Snowy Winter Wonderland!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Nancy & Steve were very gracious hosts. You can tell the pride they take in their beautiful property. Thanks, Steve, for being our accurate, caring weatherman during the snowstorm! (Dave says snow looks soooo much better when he doesn't have to shovel it) Our room 'The Brownstone' was perfect & very spacious for a b&b. Loved the tile around the whirlpool with the In Floor Heating and 3-sided fireplace. And those robes...the most comfortable we've ever worn! Attention to detail is what a b&b is all about and The Pinehurst has it perfected. (Enso Spa onsite too!) It was a great, quick little getaway!!! (Ice Caves weren't bad either!)
Dave & Sue from Fond du Lac, WI

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplySusan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    32
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
203
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Everything was wonderful! Steve and Nancy are wonderful hosts, excellent cooks, and fun to talk to. I did not want the weekend to end. We found ourselves many times saying, as we were out exploring the area, "Let's head back home" - and that's what it felt like.

We stayed in RD Pike and it was lovely. The sheets on the bed are insanely soft and the bed is very comfy. The claw foot tub was hot and relaxing. They deliciously accommodated gluten-free for breakfast with hot coffee and loose leaf tea. It was fun to meet the other guests and chat over breakfast.

The many steps that have taken to be eco-friendly we greatly appreciated. From the small stuff like using non-toxic cleaners, providing natural soaps/lotions in bulk dispensers, compostable garbage bags, and providing reusable metal water bottles; to the big stuff like local/organic food served on locally made pottery, solar panels providing some of the energy, and a high-tech septic system. You can tell it is something they take very seriously.

The Pinehurst Inn is a beautiful home in a beautiful area. We will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We came up from Chicago at the end of January to see the amazing Lake Superior ice caves, learn to dog sled with Wolfsong Adventures in Mushing and volunteer in the Sled Dog races. This was the best two day vacation ever! We packed it in. The Whispering Pines room was very comfortable and offered a view of the sunrise over Lake Superior. Pinehurst's hosts offered a hearty, tasty and healthy breakfast that started our days with great conversation and good vibes. We also enjoyed sharing dog sledding experiences with other guests in the meeting room of the Garden House. We loved that the bed and breakfast owners are environmentally conscience and shared their experiences and knowledge freely. Thanks for all the effort to detail to make our stay very enjoyable and comfortable. Lynora and Vic

Room Tip: The Whispering pines room on the second floor of the garden house is bigger than it looks and offers...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Pinehurst owners are very sophisticated when it comes to sustainability. The new Garden House was recently built to the highest standards. A new house with an old house feel, only warmer.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynora J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we stepped in the door until we left, we felt spoiled. We were welcomed by Steve with a smile and a warm fireplace in the main house. Whispering Pines was cozy-pictures do not do justice. LOVED the claw foot tub! The food was wonderful. Will return for sure!! We didn't really see Nancy, but Steve is nice, funny, and has great stories. Our recommendation to you, is to get to breakfast on time, it's fun meeting other travelers! Enjoy!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NCruise0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The innkeepers exude a welcoming warmth and a sincere desire to provide every amenity to make our stays memorable with our promise of returning for more luxury and fabulous organic breakfasts. Our Garden Hoûse room has always been terrific...spacious jacuzzi, candlelights, luxurious beds, cozy robes and 'blankies' to wrap up in to watch a movie on TV. A bonus is meeting so many interesting fellow travelers only to discover 'small world' stories. Did I mention the artistry in the tiles, the colors, the woods, the furniture, and the walls in both the main home and Garden Hoûse?

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We came up to Bayfield in January 2014, the midst of a "real" Wisconsin winter. The fireplace, infloor heat, and hot tub in our room washed away all sense of the bitter cold outside, The room was clean and nicely appointed. The new construction for the house we stayed in meant we slept snugly. The grounds were blanketed in snow the next morning; Steve and Nancy provided a hearty breakfast with local and organic ingredients - it was a perfect foundation for our morning hike to the ice caves.

Room Tip: We went with the largest room and it was worth it!
See more room tips
Green Features: Steve and Nancy are leaders in Wisconsin and the region in incorporating sustainable practices into their lives, business and community.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisco_Kiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had the pleasure of meeting Steve and he was such a wonderful host. Absolutely loved the property and the room I was in. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Whispering Pines and were completely in love with it. The claw foot tub was adorable pictures don't do it justice. It's a lot bigger than we thought it would be! The bed was incredibly comfortable and I'm a quirky individual that loves soft fabric and the sheets there were heavenly. I'm planning on calling Steve soon to buy a set for my home!

Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and I really enjoyed chatting with the other guests. I love the fact I was asked on two different occasions on whether or not I had any dietary restrictions. It shows they really cared and it felt like they were tailoring our meals to us.

I wasn't able to partake on the winter activities due to some injuries from motor vehicle accident but had a great time exploring the city and Madeleine Island. The highlight was my massage at Enso Spa which is conveniently a few steps away from my room. Absolutely amazing. I have massages monthly and I can honestly say Michael is the best massage therapist I have ever encountered. Love yourself and treat yourself to a massage... you won't regret it!

We loved our stay and already discussing when we'll be returning!

Room Tip: Whispering Pines is beautiful and is on the second floor. The Enso Spa is in the same building so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diem N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
13.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
12.1 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
594 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
416 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
62 reviews
2.9 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinehurst Inn

Property: Pinehurst Inn
Address: 83645 Highway 13, Bayfield, WI 54814-4530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-elegant accommodations providing perfect setting for relaxation. Enjoy comfortable, relaxing guest room, heart-and soul-warming breakfast, Apostle Islands, Bayfield and more. Try the Pinehurst sauna. Pinehurst offers a variety of specials and packages. We accommodate special dietary needs. Connecting adventure, environment and personal rejuvenation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing