We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinehurst Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have stayed here twice, and will return again. Steve and Nancy are exceptional hosts, and they go out of their way to make their guests comfortable. We stayed in Whispering Pines, with 2 rocking chairs, and a very comfortable bed, and really comfortable linens. The grounds are gorgeous, the atmosphere is very relaxing. I highly recommend the Pinehurst Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 293 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Pinehurst Inn was perfect for our overnight getaway as a couple. We stayed in the Salmo room, and it was just as we expected - maybe a little smaller, but it was still an accommodating size. Nancy and Steve had put in an extra air conditioner because it was unseasonably hot that day (early July). The bed was extremely comfortable, and I loved that there was a little fridge across the hall where we could put a bottle of wine and cheese.

Things I would have wanted to know before booking:
1) toiletries are provided (standard, I know, but I was wondering)
2) breakfast is great - and we had amazing company at our table
3) it is a short distance from town - about 1.5 miles or whatnot. This would be great if you wanted the space...but we had wished it was more walking distance. It might have been walking distance if it wasn't along the freeway/county road the whole way - it didn't feel safe to walk at night, plus with the heat/bugs, it was not a pleasant option. So, just keep that in mind when you book. If it were winter, that wouldn't phase me and would be a nice retreat. In the summer, we wanted to explore a bit without having to drive.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend the Pinehurst Inn. It sounds like a new innkeeper is being trained in so Nancy and Steve can actually leave town for a night or two one day, and I'm sure she will be wonderful if she follows in their footsteps!

We went to dinner across the highway at the Portside Inn. It was a great meal - my boyfriend's lobster was fantastic and the view was wonderful.

Room Tip: We loved the Salmo room - it definitely felt a little removed from the other rooms, which was nice f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heartinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great location for our 4 destinations: Big Top Chautauqua, The Wild Rice Restaurant, our favorite Berry farm, and the Apostle Highlands GC.

The serene country setting is so much nicer than in the town of Bayfield, which is crowded with summer tourists. and glitzy gift shops.
Comfortable bed and nice amenities, hosts who love what they do, and stuffed french toast with fresh picked raspberries made this a "I want to come back experience". It was so nice to leave the evening concert at The Big Top and 5 minutes later be back in our room instead of driving the 2 hours home to Manitowish Waters. The following morning we were on one of our favorite GC's in 5 minutes. Would like to try the spa for a facial or massage next time.

Room Tip: I do not think there is a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Pinehurst B&B was an incredible find in Bayfield, WI. Steve and Nancy are wonderful people and really do make you feel welcome in their "home away from home". My husband and I love to know the history of the places that we stay in, and Steve never let us down when we had questions about the house, or certain items in the house. You can really tell that Steve loves the place, and he lights up when talking about Pinehurst.
Nancy's breakfasts make you feel really pampered, and I know that they buy local because we caught Steve out and about one day. Delicious breakfasts!

We traveled with our 11 year old daughter. We were very fortunate to get the Catherine Rittenhouse Room/Suite. It is on the 3rd floor of the B&B and is quite comfortable. It was a bit hot outside but no worries. There is an ample room air conditioner that kept us really cooled. I'll mention that there is a whirlpool in the bath room that has room for 2. A nice feature if you're traveling sans kids. Our daughter LOVED the futon bed and felt that she had her own section of the suite.

The Pinehurst is very closely located to the downtown; within a few miles. We took the ferry over to Madeline Island and swam at the "over a mile long" white sand beach at the State Park. It was gorgeous! The water of Lake Superior is soooo clear and, because the depth is very gradual at this beach, it wasn't very cold. Superior has a reputation for being incredibly cold. The water was wonderful.

We had a great time, spending 3 days. Oh, and if you get a chance, make sure that you eat at Maggie's downtown. A fun place with good food and a great staff!!

Room Tip: I think that most any room here would be fine. We spoke with the other guests at breakfast and one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura-bella24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were so glad we chose Pinehurst for our Bayfield lodging. Being a short distance from town allowed us to relax even more! The swing on the front porch was a perfect relaxing place! Our room (Elisha's room), was clean, comfortable, spacious with so many extra touches. The bed was very comfortable. The innkeepers, Nancy and Steve were friendly, helpful and inviting. The breakfasts were delicious-you can really taste the difference when they use local and fresh ingredients. We also accessed the spa that is onsite which was fabulous. We will certainly stay there again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Pinehurst Inn in Bayfield, WI. Our room (Holly's room) was very comfortable and the innkeepers, Nancy and Steve, were welcoming and personable. The breakfasts were excellent. We would definitely stay there again.

Make sure you pay a visit to Maggie's for dinner and order the lake trout (incredible) and the homemade blue cheese salad dressing (wow). If they have the blueberry crumble (from the Egg Toss), it is amazing. It looked like there was a full pint of fresh blueberries in one piece. By the way, the Egg Toss makes a fabulous eggs benedict on a crab cake. It could be the best crab cake I've ever eaten. Unfortunately, the Egg Toss is only open until 1, so you will have to eat breakfast early at the Pinehurst Inn, and eat lunch at the Egg Toss to fit it all in :-).

All that good food really hits your waistline, so be sure to plan a lot of hiking to walk it off!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNBeth115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a beautiful place. It was better than home. Clean and very comfortable. Our massages were excellent. The spa was just down the stairs. Our common room was just across the hall and they had everything we needed and then some. Fresh and delicious breakfasts everyday. Thank you for using local and fresh produce for our breakfasts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
13.2 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
13.9 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
466 reviews
8 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#1 of 2 in Washburn
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#2 of 16 in Bayfield
486 reviews
15.9 mi away
Second Wind Country Inn
Second Wind Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ashland
86 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinehurst Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinehurst Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 83645 State Highway 13, Bayfield, WI 54814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range: $129 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-friendly accommodations providing a perfect setting to relax and unwind. Enjoy comfortable, relaxing guest rooms, hearty 3-course breakfasts, the Apostle Islands, Bayfield and so much more. We offer rooms with old world charm in our Main House built in 1885 and in our Garden House built in 2003 with more modern features. Rooms are available with a fireplace, jetted tub, TV and/or deck--find the one that is right for you. Enjoy the outdoor sauna, the relaxing porches, and the beautiful gardens. Pinehurst Inn Bed and Breakfast is known for its North Woods Charm and Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing