We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence in history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This old inn is an anomaly. Step back in time as you enter the Rittenhouse Inn and experience ambiance, friendly hosts, and gourmet food in a dining room surrounded in pieces of the past, from old china to antique cabinets to fireplaces from long ago. What a total immersion in the past with all the contemporary luxuries one enjoys in the present. Whirlpool tubs, crackling fires, magnificent beds, and antiques galore! We return at least once a year to treat ourselves to all the Rittenhouse has to offer. Did I mention friendly folks, too?

Room Tip: We have enjoyed rooms four and six but don't think any one would disappoint. Some do not have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 479 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Marvelous place to get away this winter. Our room was just right - beautifully appointed and so well cared for - everything one could want! Wonderful hospitality by the Phillips family. We went snowshoeing and cross country skiing which was idyllic!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

This certainly was a perfect winter for those who love to get outdoors! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. Maybe next time you'll have to try a Dogsledding adventure (we can help set it up)! And hopefully, the frozen sea caves will be open next year as well. Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Everything about the Inn is amazing. Beautiful house, wonderful service. This needs to be your lodging in Bayfield. Honest and deep in history, an A-One family runs the show. Matt, the exec chef is top notch. Must see.

Room Tip: Winter is a great time, warm fires, warm staff. Rooms 1-4 are historic, breathtaking 1890's man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo000817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting in March. I had a room at their nearby Le Chateau Boutin and our meeting was at the Rittenhouse. Both facilities are remarkable. Each building is impeccably maintained. I slept very well as the bed was so comfortable.
The staff were wonderful. Wendy checked us in and you will not find a nicer or more caring innkeeper. I cannot convey how great things were. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justsignmeuphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent last Friday and Saturday night at the Old Rittenhouse Inn. My boyfriend was a bit nervous about staying in a bed and breakfast but agreed only because it was my birthday. Well when we left he couldn't say enough good things about the place. The room was beautiful, the people were wonderful and the food he said is some of the best he has ever tasted. We had a totally wonderful weekend!! So glad we did this!!

Room Tip: Room 7 was GREAT!! When we go back we will try to get the same room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dladydi315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks for your stay and review! We are pleased that you chose Old Rittenhouse Inn for your special occasion, and that your boyfriend enjoyed his first time at a B&B/Country Inn. Room 7 is one of our favorites as well, and we can't wait to welcome you back. Kind regards, Mark and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had wanted to stay at the Rittenhouse Inn for years and finally had the opportunity. I receive their weekly email offering reduced rates for available rooms on weekends. We could only stay on a Friday, and the only room on the special was $175.00, which was more than we could afford. I asked if we might have a reduced rate for a different room, and to my surprise and delight was offered suite XI for $149.00.

Suite XI is an amazing space composed of two rooms, one a king bedroom and the other a huge sitting room with fireplace, leather sofa, two person whirlpool and crystal chandelier. The bathroom contained his and hers vanities, bathrobes and a steam shower. The suite was immaculately clean and beautifully maintaned.

We will celebrate our 44th anniversary in April, but after a night in this incredible suite we're not sure we could plan anything that would be more wonderful. Thank you to the excellent staff, all of whom worked tirelessly to provide a memorable experience. By the way, we were able to peek in most of the other rooms, and though most weren't as large as XI, were just as beautiful.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are three floors with narrow stairways and no elevator. No TV - we didn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xrayellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are locals who own one of the Ada O' Day condos near the Rittenhouse. Since our unit was booked this weekend, we took advantage of a last-minute deal available by email if you get on the inn's mailing list. For $135, the fireplace/jacuzzi suite at Chateau Boutin was exceptional. Hospitality is consistently beyond reproach for every stay. You'll love this property.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
14 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
630 reviews
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
462 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rittenhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rittenhouse Inn

Address: 301 Rittenhouse Ave, Bayfield, WI 54814-5016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range: $182 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Rittenhouse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Rittenhouse Inn is Bayfield, Wisconsin's first Country Inn Bed & Breakfast and gourmet restaurant offering 20 guest rooms in 2 Victorian homes and a private cottage. Accommodations include wood-burning fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spectacular views of Lake Superior. A full service restaurant offers breakfast, brunch, and dinner, and showcases regional cuisine in season. The Inn is located blocks from Lake Superior and the Apostle Islands. This year-round getaway offers seasonal rates and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Old Rittenhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rittenhouse Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing