We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Room #7 was very comfortable. Whirlpool tub and fireplace made it very cosy. Breakfast was spectacular and they wrapped up the leftovers for snacks for the way home. By chance we hit peak colors - wow.

Room Tip: Ask about a lake view. Sign up for an early breakfast - we did 8AM. The rush hit a 10AM on Sunday an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    62
    16
    15
    13
See reviews for
32
347
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I don't like to knock things, but I agree with those who say this is "over-rated" and somewhat disappointing for a $195 room (tower room queen bed uncomfortable and old) and very formal $150 dinner for (2), not a bottle of wine, and breakfast, which was good, not included. Nope, next time we'll stay in a cozy smaller place and eat at a local nice joint, be happy, sleep better and save $150+...sorry but true, unless your older with deep pockets, then this "charming" place may be for you..

Room Tip: sorry, can't, we stayed in tower room with bad bed, I suggest management sleep there one night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johncw_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are surprised to hear the bed in the Tower room was not comfortable, as it was newly purchased within the last year. We do have an extensive wine list, and we offer several packages which include a bottle of wine or champagne. Because we operate a restaurant which is open to the public, we offer two breakfast options for house guests. The expanded continental breakfast is available at no charge, and the substantial full breakfast is only $12.50 additional. Many guests prefer a smaller breakfast in the morning, especially after enjoying one of our lavish 5-course gourmet dinners. Thank you for your review, we hope you find your next visit to Bayfield more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a great place to stay in the heart of Bayfield! Did not move our car while visiting there! We came to Bayfield to see the islands, etc. We stayed for 3 nights in room 1. We saw the lake from our room. The bathroom was adequate as well as size of the room. We did NOT hear anyone even though room 2 is right next door and the stairwell is around the corner. I am shocked at people's comments at breakfast. Someone comes in at 5:30am and we never had a problem getting a carafe of coffee and cream. Breakfast starts serving at 7am. The Free breakfast is coffee, juice, fruit parfait or compote, muffins and croissants, granola or oatmeal. It was warm, fresh and more than enough. Left over breads could be taken for use later in the day. The rooms are filled with antiques. We received a complementary bottle of wine. Dinner: It was fun hearing the server give us a dramatic account of the menu. She was trying to tempt you with all kinds of things. The food was delicious-I had the duck. My husband had fish. The porch was inviting to sit and relax. Airconditioning worked. You are in the heart of Bayfield. We walked to the shops, museusms, restaurants, ferry and cruiseline. We would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmingnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Rittenhouse or Chateau several times over the years and have always had a great time. This time we stayed at the Chateau with friends, 6 of us, and we once again had a great experience. The Chateau is unique in that you are able to use more than just the room you are paying for. The wrap-around porch has a beautiful view of the lake and you can sit and watch the ferry come and go to the island while enjoying snacks and drinks while sitting on the comfortable furniture. There is a living room and piano room and large dining area that you can use; no one was using it when we were there, felt we had the place to ourselves. You can also use the small kitchen area and fridge, so it's nice to be able to bring in your own drinks and snacks and use their dishes and glasses which include wine, martini, etc. Our experience has been that the Chateau, versus the Rittenhouse, is quieter and less busy. At the Rittenhouse, you have the dining area on the first floor which is usually quite busy with people coming and going during breakfast, lunch and dinner. You do have to drive to the Rittenhouse for your free breakfast, but it's not far and there is ample parking. For breakfast you usually get free drink, muffins or other bread, and a choice of something like oatmeal or granola. It's enough to just have the complimentary breakfast, but if you like you can pay and have a full breakfast. We really enjoy staying at the Rittenhouse/Chateau. It's a unique place and each room is different, so it's fun to look around at the open rooms if possible. Always a relaxing, nice time.

Room Tip: Favorite rooms in Rittenhouse: Suites XI and XII Favorite room in Chateau: Turret Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were so looking forward to staying at the Old Rittenhouse. Bayfield is such a charming place. It seemed natural to stay at such a landmark. The B & B is impressive from the outside, and it is tastefully decorated. The service and the breakfast were surprisingly poor. It was an inconvenience to get an early cup of coffee. There was an extra charge for a full breakfast, which was just a hassle, and ridiculous given the price of the rooms. The service, particularly our second morning was terrible. There are so many other friendly places to stay in the area. I would recommend just walking by to see the architecture and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barolo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We view it as a blessing that people's expectations of Old Rittenhouse Inn are very high. It means we set the bar for hospitality in the Bayfield, WI area (as we have for nearly 40 years). It also means people let us know when we occasionally fall short of expectations. It sounds as though this reviewer had an unpleasant experience with one of our servers, and we are truly sorry for that. While I can't speak to what occurred on this particular morning, I can assure you that our employees are trained to be warm, inviting and accommodating. Regarding breakfast, we operate a full-service restaurant on premises that is open for breakfast and dinner to the public. For this reason, and because many house guests are full from our lavish 5-course dinner the night before, we offer two options for breakfast for house guests. Our expanded continental (a meal on its own) is offered free of charge to all house guests. For those with larger appetites, and for walk-in guests, a full breakfast is available at nominal charge. We are sorry for any disappointment this may have caused the reviewer, and look forward to another opportunity to exceed expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The property and rooms were excellent. Service was mediocre. Breakfast was very disappointing as there was an upcharge for a full meal. All our other B&B experiences have included a full and remarkable breakfast. The full breakfast here was blah, nothing special. I would not repeat unless these things improve.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We apologize that the breakfast didn't live up to your expectations. Because we are a restaurant that is open to the public, and because our house guests are often full from an incredible dinner the night before, we offer two breakfast options for house guests: an expanded continental breakfast is included in the room rate, and includes coffee or tea, juice (orange, cranberry, V8, Bayfield Apple Cider), fresh fruit (parfait, cobbler, or crisp), house-made bakery (scones, muffins, croissants, etc.), and cereal (steel-cut oats, granola, corn flakes). Our deluxe 2-Course Breakfast includes all of the above, plus a selection of hot entrees, specials, and side dishes, for $12.50.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Although only a one night stay, it was if we were actually living in a mansion at the turn of the last century. Our group of six - three couples - were encouraged to use the entire home. Which we did. We spent time in the living areas. Great time on the wrap around porch, what a view. And we played bocce ball on the grounds. It was not only allowed but encouraged to use the glasses from the hutch, It was a total experience. It was more than just a large bedroom with a great view of Lake Superior. We were made to feel right at home.

Room Tip: View the rooms on line. What are you looking for, more room or view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
14.0 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
606 reviews
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
433 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rittenhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rittenhouse Inn

Property: Old Rittenhouse Inn
Address: 301 Rittenhouse Ave, Bayfield, WI 54814-5016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Rittenhouse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Rittenhouse Inn is Bayfield, Wisconsin's first Country Inn Bed & Breakfast and gourmet restaurant offering 20 guest rooms in 2 Victorian homes and a private cottage. Accommodations include wood-burning fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spectacular views of Lake Superior. A full service restaurant offers breakfast, brunch, and dinner, and showcases regional cuisine in season. The Inn is located blocks from Lake Superior and the Apostle Islands. This year-round getaway offers seasonal rates and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Rittenhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rittenhouse Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing