We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We spent two wonderful nights here with five star breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“We spent two wonderful nights here with five star breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

A lovely old house, tastefully decorated in period furniture. Although it was July I asked my husband to light the log in the fireplace in our room. A very clean, comfortable inn and the front porch was the perfect place to sit with a glass of wine before dinner. The location is very close to the center of town. We would like to go back during the Apple Festival.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    58
    15
    14
    13
See reviews for
30
323
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Superior, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

Six or so visits to the Rittenhouse over the past decade have never disappointed. The owners are old pros, and the staff comfortably, consistently hits the service range of fine to fabulous.

Quality may not be commensurate with price, however, particularly during the off season when a mid-range room with jacuzzi and fireplace runs $195 plus $12 per person additional for breakfast options beyond continential fare. Doing a quality/hospitality comparison, try Sharon Locey's Thimbleberry Inn first. . .and wait for a last-minute deal email (furnished upon request) from The Ritt if your favorite date is booked. Last-minute deals typically run about 40% less. If it's summer, they're nonexistant, so be realistic about when the Ritt becomes prime property.

Price point aside, know that an evening or event at Bayfield's best-appointed gem will be memorable in all the best ways.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Thanks for the review! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

We had booked the Thanksgiving package, which ran from Wed. eve to Friday morning. All was well until the Thanksgiving day dinner. Both my partner and I ordered the turkey entree. It was OK, but the turkey was from a turkey roast. We certainly didn't expect processed turkey at the Rittenhouse. When I paid the bill I found that I had been charged twice for the tip on the bottle of wine that we had for dinner. When I got home I found that we had been charged sales tax twice. I sent 2 e-mails to the management and have not had a response. very disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdacarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Even though it is several years behind me, I remember this Thanksgiving well. Chef was not on-site when the food order was delivered, and by the time he realized the wrong product was sent, it was too late to get a replacement. Believe me, turkey roast is not my picture of Thanksgiving at Old Rittenhouse Inn either, and our kitchen was sorry and embarrassed to have had to serve it. We simply felt, "How can we advertise turkey dinner and then not serve it, on Thanksgiving of all days!" In hindsight, perhaps we should not have served it as it did not live up to our high standards.

This billing sounds like an awful snaffu! In explanation, I know the Inn was transitioning our reservations to a new software program and initially had difficulty with how the packages were set-up and taxed. Unfortunately, there were a couple of snags at the beginning that required fixing. Despite being the holiday season and a busy time for the Old Rittenhouse Inn a-bustling with Wassail Dinner Concerts, I'm confident we resolved the issue as I always handle guests with questions about payment in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, In
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

We spent the weekend after Thanksgiving at the beautiful and charming Rittenhouse Inn. Everything was perfect! The room was elegant and beautiful, yet cozy and comfortable. All the staff were attentive, friendly, and gracious. Everyone made us feel so welcome. The food is amazing , the view spectacular, and the ambience one you won't forget.

We enjoyed the Rittenhouse holiday tradition of the Wassail dinner on Saturday evening and what a treat it was. The dinner was delicious from the appetizer to the dessert, and the talented Wassail singers added just the right touch for a very special holiday evening. Give yourself a Christmas present this year and make plans to travel to the lovely Rittenhouse Inn for a getaway. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siouxzannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

This bed and breakfast has a lot of charm and really neat rooms. It offers views of Lake Superior and terrific, albeit fancy, food. The service was excellent and staff was friendly. Not a great place for little ones to stay because the rooms weren't really kid-friendly nor was the cuisine. We would go back if we had the chance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinMotherof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Wi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We spent 4 wonderful days at the Rittenhouse. We rented the cottage which was private and lovely. The bed was luxurious and the hot tub was a plus. THe cottage was clean and very close to the Inn. The entire staff was lively and professional and you can see that they all take such delight and pride in running this inn. We hiked along the beach trails and in the woods by the ski area, and toured the islands by ferry. It was all in all a perfect getaway. The food at the Rittenhouse was outstanding. Next time we come back, we want to stay in the main INN, and hope to catch room 10 or 11. THey are amazing. All the rooms are perfectly decorated and have private baths and attention to detail. You just can't go wrong by staying in this wonderful setting. For a real different eating experience, try the Wild Rice restaurant. Even if you don't eat there, just drive by and check out the incredible architectural design. Again, our thanks for making Bayfiled a special place for us, and a new annual tradition will be the RIttenhouse Inn

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcijci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We found the Old Rittenhouse Inn in the 2009 Select Registry. After our stay, we can understand why they didn't make the 2010 Select Registry.

Upon arrival we received a newsletter from the inn, which advertised a promo for which we qualified. When we brought it to the staff's attention, they said that we had to select the special on the website when we booked our room. When I asked when the promo was put on the website, the staff member admitted that it was put up there after we booked our room. Instead of doing what every other innkeeper would, they gave us $5 off the room per night--hardly the 25% off per night advertised in the promo.

In addition to feeling swindled, the room itself was highly disappointing. The room smelled severely of mothballs. There was no closet, no TV, and no full-length mirror--all basic amenities of any hotel. The fireplace in the room was "temporarily" out of order for our entire stay, but this wasn't disclosed until we got to our room.

Overall, it's clear that the business at the Old Rittenhouse Inn is their restaurant--the continental breakfasts were quite good each morning--not their hotel. I'd suggest renting a condo in the Bayfield area instead and consider taking a meal at the Rittenhouse's restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkrusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
There are several factual errors in this review we'd like to address. First, and most importantly, no 'swindle" occurred here. The promotion the review refers to is not 25% off per night. Below is the exact text from our web site, which has been online since August, 2010 and will remain online until November 3, 2010:

"Fall Lodging Special
Available September 22 - November 5*
Fall Harvest Celebration lodging package: Book three consecutive nights Mon. - Thurs. from Sept. 22 to Nov. 5 (except September 30) to receive 25 percent off your 3rd night plus a free $25 gift certificate to spend during your stay. *To receive the discount, you must mention this special when making a new reservation for a Midweek stay of three or more nights. Offer not available for Existing Reservations, Special Events and Holiday Weekends, or in conjunction with other discounts or offers."

As you can see, the 25% is taken off the third night of a three-day weekday stay, and the offer is not available for existing reservations. The reviewer did not qualify for the promotion, but we still gave them a discount.

Another factual error in this review relates to Select Registry. In spring of 2010, we elected to opt out of Select Registry, as we felt their online marketing efforts were falling short of our expectations. It was a difficult decision to make, but it was a business decision. We were never "dropped" from Select Registry, and we passed every inspection during our 30-year membership. If and when SR's web site and online marketing efforts improve, to equal or exceed the impact of their excellent printed guidebook, we look forward to rejoining this prestigious organization.

Overall, it seems that this reviewer would indeed have been more pleased with a condo or a hotel. We have never had TVs at the Rittenhouse Inn, and have no plans to add them in the future. People come here for a very special kind of experience, a place to reconnect with loved ones, enjoy the scenic beauty of the Bayfield area, Lake Superior, and the Apostle Islands.

We are pleased the reviewer enjoyed their breakfast. Our efforts are tightly focused on providing an excellent travel experience at both our hotel and our Landmark restaurant. Unfortunately, we cannot be all things to all people. For the discriminating traveler, who appreciates the full service and charm of the Country Inn experience, the Rittenhouse Inn is a very special plance, and is unmatched in its market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
14.0 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rittenhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rittenhouse Inn

Property: Old Rittenhouse Inn
Address: 301 Rittenhouse Ave., Bayfield, WI 54814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Rittenhouse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Rittenhouse Inn is Bayfield, Wisconsin's first Country Inn Bed & Breakfast and gourmet restaurant offering 20 guest rooms in 2 Victorian homes and a private cottage. Accommodations include wood-burning fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spectacular views of Lake Superior. A full service restaurant offers breakfast, brunch, and dinner, and showcases regional cuisine in season. The Inn is located blocks from Lake Superior and the Apostle Islands. This year-round getaway offers seasonal rates and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Rittenhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rittenhouse Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing