We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VeryBoring compared to Pictured Rocks”

Apostle Islands Cruise Service
Ranked #1 of 18 Tours in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“VeryBoring compared to Pictured Rocks”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Although the crew was good this was extremely boring for over 3 hours. Besides Devils island(farthest 1out) and its sea caves and lighthouse there wasn't much to see. I would rather have done the Pictured Rocks again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seescokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    129
    66
    26
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arbor Vitae, Wi.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful must-do trip.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great 3+ hour guided boat tour of 22 islands. End of Sept. is a bit early for Fall color tour. Informative and comfortable. Bring Jacket. Safe, fun, decent priced trip. A little redundant on way back. One aggravation was we waited in line on pier for an hour to board (no benches if handicapped), then a tour bus arrived 5 minutes till leaving and these people got to board boat right in front of all of us who were waiting. Plenty of unhappy murmuring in line. Otherwise a great worthwhile trip for young and old. (Young may get bored).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Manchester, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Liked the tour”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We took the Grand Tour to the islands. We got there early so we could sit outside on the top.it was a cloudy, cool day at the start of the tour and then we had some rain and almost everyone went inside during the rain. It didn't last very long so we went back up on top and had nice weather the rest of the tour. We had 3 captains on board and they were all very good and gave us a lot of information. We saw many eagles which was fun. We even saw one eagle dive and get a fish out of Lake Superior which was awesome. The sea caves were beautiful and they got the boat very, very close to the caves. Even with the rain, we enjoyed the tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank vacation1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Way too long to look at trees.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Don't pay almost $90 to look at trees for 3 hours. Devils island has some cool rock and caves but that takes about 20 minutes. Once you've seen one of the other islands, you've seen them all. Don't go on this tour if you're under the age of 30.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blinkbunny1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good tour”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We took the Grand cruise, which goes out to Devil's Island. I went on this cruise last year, and we got off on the island and toured the lighthouse. This year, the lighthouse and other buildings were shut down for renovation, so we stayed on the boat. But they added more time to view the sea caves, which was great. The cruise narration was also good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyjazz1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apostle Islands Cruise Service also viewed

 

Been to Apostle Islands Cruise Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing