We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place To Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor's Edge Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our first visit back this year to Bayfield. We always look forward to coming back to this beautiful town. As always we stay at our favorite motel Harbors Edge. The desk staff Lona and Kim do a outstanding job making sure we feel right at home. They are so helpful in every way. Ronny has been doing a outstanding job bringing the flowerbeds back to life. Keep up the good work! Every time we come back we see nice changes and improvements. Didn't even get over to Island this visit to busy in town. We will be coming back before summer ends and stay at our favorite motel. If you want a nice place to stay with helpful staff and clean rooms this is it. Also location is a BIG PLUS!

Room Tip: Room # 3 is our favorite with its own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarleyOneFord2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have been going to Harbors Edge Motel for years now. The staff has always been very helpful and pleasant. They always made our trips enjoyable and very relaxing. The room has always been clean and well kept. The charm of the motel and location are a real plus. The flowerbeds this year looked especially beautiful. We will keep coming to this motel on our vacations to Bayfield WI. We come 2 to 3 times a year during summer. They are also biker friendly. Good Job Harbor's Edge!! Hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: A good room to stay in is #3. We have stayed in different rooms and they all have their personal cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarleyOneFord2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I registered and was promised two beds. When we checked in I was surprised to find out I had one bed and was basically told too bad. Only the suites have 2 beds evidently. The bathroom reeked of sewage and the room filled with the stench. Bed was horribly uncomfortable. Location was good but there are much better places to stay where they do not mislead you about the room accommodations. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

WARNING: DO NOT BOOK A ROOM HERE! We booked a room over a month ago and were called the day before leaving to let us know they overbooked. Their reservation policy states: If you cancel less than five days prior to your reservation you will be subject to a $100 cancellation fee. But they are allowed to cancel less than 24 hours before our trip.

We had a sailing trip etc. booked and had to cancel everything at the last minute.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank Pookie53593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We arrived in Bayfield Mon Aug 6 without reservations and found that the highly rated Seagull Motel was full. So we proceeded to another highly rated hotel, Harbor's Edge. Since the popular choice rooms 12-16 (harbor view) were booked, we settled for a "garden" room (#6) in the older, dated part of the hotel. Our room was indeed in a pretty courtyard with many flowers, and a table and chairs.

To be clear, this hotel was all about location. It was across the street from the ferry terminal and within a reasonable walk of most of the shops and eateries in Bayfield.

The room itself was generally clean, but "tired" and inconveniently laid out. The queen bed was squeaky (springs) and the blanket discolored. A painted armoire contained shelves, three drawers, a small tube-type TV, and ice bucket and a fly swatter. The small vanity/sink was off to the side of the armoire offering no privacy. A separate room contained the toilet and a small modular shower. The bathroom floor was discolored and, like the rest of the room, dated. Great location though.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the harbor view rooms. At least you'll enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Island-Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I booked this location online and I am always a bit skeptical but I was very pleasantly surprised with this motel! We enjoyed being able to walk to wherever we wanted to go and being near the water we got up to watch the sunrise and walked just a few steps to the pier. It was an amazing view. Very clean and priced appropriately. We had a great vacation in Bayfield and want to return, no doubt we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms allow for better sitting to watch the bay. They do have lawn chairs though in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLH1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

First time I planned a trip using the internet, so I was a bit nervous. I was very pleased, though. Location: It's located right at the harbor. You can walk to the ferry in a few steps, or to the Sailboat piers and Apostle Island Cruise dock a block away. The Pier Plaza Restaurant is a block away--great fish and drinks. The downtown shops and bars are all within walking distance. Very convenient.
View: We sat outside our rooms and watched the ferry coming and going and the sailboats passing by. Great sunrise over a mist-covered lake.
Motel: Older buildings, well kept up. Lots of options for size of rooms. Our room opened onto the courtyard--cute brick path flower garden with a patio and wire table and chairs. Others in our party had the lakeview rooms which had parking spaces in front of them. There's also green space and chairs past the parking lot for sitting and visiting and looking at the lake. Great flowerbeds with butterflies.
Rooms: Very clean, which is important since I have a "thing" about dirty surfaces. I was able to walk on the carpet barefoot, which I usually don't do at motels. The beds had thick plastic fitted sheet protectors, good quality sheets, and a fluffly bedspread. All surfaces including the bathroom and vanity area were clean and the room smelled fresh ( I hate that musty motel smell). Each room is decorated differently. We had black bears and forest theme.
Price: We paid $99 a night, which I thought was very reasonable considering the great location and the touristy setting. The two lodgings closest to this motel had rooms for $160 and $185 a night. All within a block of each other. You do have to stay two nights, though, which apparently is a "Bayfield" thing. All the lodging I looked into required a two night stay.
Service: Great service. We were arriving late on Friday with several in our party. The office closed at 9pm. Lonna left the doors to our rooms unlocked with the keys inside and we all spent the night then went to the office when it opened Saturday morning to pay. Very convenient.
Overall: We were all very pleased with this motel and if going to Bayfield again, would definitely stay there!

Room Tip: Room 7 in the courtyard was great. A little bigger room than the lakeview rooms. Less parking lot n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.5 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
14.0 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
626 reviews
16.3 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
181 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#2 of 16 in Bayfield
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor's Edge Motel

Address: 33 Front St, PO Box, 106, Bayfield, WI 54814-4976
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Price Range: $81 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Harbor`s Edge Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing