We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”
Review of The Bayfield Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bayfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the lake, although the heater units make some noise. It was a very crowded weekend, and the staff suggested a place where we could order pizza nearby. Refrigerator in the room. Coffee maker provided. Breakfast at the restaurant was tasty and the portions were large. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room if it's available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 343 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Went up for the ice caves on fairly short notice. The manager and the staff were engaging, friendly and just plain nice! Breakfast was delicious! Great place, super clean, will make it my home whenever in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicky f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed in the hot tub suite while traveling to Bayfield to visit the ice caves... the suite was nothing but awesome! Great room with some really nice small touches that were appreciated (lighted magnified make up mirror, large flat screen TV, remote fireplace, lovely view of the ice, shampoo, conditioner and lotion, plenty of towels and the hot tub was awesome). I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amberflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went to see Ice Caves & stayed at Bayfield Inn. First time in area. Very nice facility. Clean & spacious rooms. Staff very friendly & helpful. Would definitely stay here again! The ride over the ice to Madeline Island was awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have been coming up to Bayfield/Madeline Island forever. Usually we stay at our family cabin on the island, but cabin is winterized this year and we wanted to check out the ice caves so we stayed at the Bayfield Inn. Great spot! The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful, and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 952Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Each Fall we head for the quaint town of Bayfield, for beautiful scenery, fun activities, and R&:R. After staying at various area hotels and B&B's over the years, we decided that The Bayfield Inn was the best for us, combining gorgeous views of Lake Superior, a convenient location, inviting rooms, and a helpful, friendly staff, who were glad to provide information on local tours,restaurants and area attractions.

The inn's proximity to the Madeline Island ferry and Apostle Island excursions, as well as local restaurants, pubs and shops, is a real plus! A short drive in the hills above the town (with great views) took us to several lovely apple orchards and wineries that are open to visitors during the
Fall season.

The Bayfield Inn now feels like our home away from home; we will continue to revisit this warm, attractive and cozy place each year!

Room Tip: Try to reserve a second or first floor lakeside room; if these are not available, street side rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseystengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our room was very clean and pleasant. The whole place was the perfect temperature when we walked in. We were greeted by super friendly staff. The price was reasonable for quality of room. We got a lakeview room and it was cool that we could see the ice road out our window.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oxalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.5 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
14.0 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
622 reviews
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
457 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#2 of 16 in Bayfield
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayfield Inn

Address: 20 Rittenhouse Ave, Bayfield, WI 54814-5018
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Price Range: $75 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayfield's premier lodging establishment located on the shoreline of the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. Our exclusive downtown location is central to restaurants, shops, and attractions and within walking distance of the Apostle Islands Cruise Service and the Madeline Island Ferry Line. The Bayfield Inn is newly renovated offering yesterday's charm with today's amenities and continues to raise the bar for "the Bayfield Lodging Experience". The Bayfield Inn has been serving Bayfield and it's visitors for close to 100 years. You will find our staff to be experienced, most courteous, and knowledgeable. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, adventure, wedding, family reunion, "girls" weekend or a corporate retreat/meeting, The Bayfield Inn offers a wide variety of lodging options to fit all needs and budgets. Choose from our 21 luxury hotel rooms or any of our centrally located Vacation Rentals including condominiums, homes, apartments and suites. The Bayfield Inn is at your service year-round. Secure complimentary high speed WiFi (30 mbps), HD programing to include HBO, and private off-street parking is available. Our restaurant serves Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner lakeside! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bayfield Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing