We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and a comfortable, clean room”
Review of The Bayfield Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bayfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This was our first stay at the Bayfield Inn...we were in town for a Wassail Concert at the Rittenhouse Inn (didn't want to stay there again after 2 unpleasant experiences), and we were really pleased! The front desk staff were very warm and welcoming. Our room was very cozy and up to date and CLEAN, and looked out on the lake. We had time for shopping... they're close to everything... also had time for a cocktail in their lounge before the concert. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franklinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 345 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We timed our visit to Bayfield for a more quiet time (early October weekday) and were able to get a first floor lake view room. The room was very comfortable and quiet, and it overlooked the lakefront, marina, and Madeline Island. The location of the hotel is perfect, just a block from the Madeline Island ferry and easy walking distance to just about everything else (restaurants, shops, etc.). My only regret is we didn't get the chance to try out the deck bar, which looks like a great place to spend a summer evening. If you stay here, make sure to get up and watch the sun rise over Madeline Island.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Captain's Quaters, managed by the Bayfield Inn. It's located a couple of blocks off the water, and perfect for walking to everything in Bayfield. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_and_Gayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Wonderful staff. In the heart of Bayfield. Close to everything or only a few minutes drive to the orchards. I love it because everything is locally owned.... no big chains. Food is wonderful....using a lot of locally grown produce and the fish is amazing. Apple fest is coming up in October.....CHECK IT OUT!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loungechairlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This condo was spacious, had a very well equipped kitchen, and was in easy walking distance of ferries, restaurants, and shops. Unit was exceptionally clean, a big plus. Bed was a bit soft so if you have back problems this may not be the unit for you. . As this is a ground level unit, it made unloading of luggage and 'stuff' easy. Patio was the perfect spot for a late afternoon glass of wine and relaxing. Unit has window air conditioning units, a bit noisy at times. Breakfast provided by Bayfield Inn is indeed a 'light ' one; breads, muffins, coffee cake, juice, coffee. Bayfield Inn has a very friendly staff!! I would book again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Th Bayfield Inn operates many properties in Bayfield. The main motel is quite nice and right on the water. Their breakfast was a bit lacking, but decent. It consisted of toast (homemade breads), muffins, fruit, juice and coffee. We stayed 3 nights in the Garden Guest House, which is across the street fom the motel. I think there are 5 rooms in this house. We stayed in #1, which faced the lake and had it's own deck. The room was cozy, but very nice quality. It had a nice kitchenette and a king sized bed with a pull out sofa. The Wifi worked well and there was private parking behind the house. The room on the 2nd floor is probably the best room in the house. The other rooms didn't appear to have much of a view. We also enjoyed the outdoor bar on the motel's roof, but didn't check the indoor bar. We stayed during the week and didn't see any loud partiers as some others have mentioned. It's well within walking distance to most everything in Bayfield. Definitely worth your consideration.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

small window A C unit would not keep up. very warm could not sleep. front desk staff seemed unconcerned when I told him about it in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.5 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
181 reviews
14 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
462 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#2 of 16 in Bayfield
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayfield Inn

Address: 20 Rittenhouse Ave, Bayfield, WI 54814-5018
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Price Range: $75 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayfield's premier lodging establishment located on the shoreline of the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. Our exclusive downtown location is central to restaurants, shops, and attractions and within walking distance of the Apostle Islands Cruise Service and the Madeline Island Ferry Line. The Bayfield Inn is newly renovated offering yesterday's charm with today's amenities and continues to raise the bar for "the Bayfield Lodging Experience". The Bayfield Inn has been serving Bayfield and it's visitors for close to 100 years. You will find our staff to be experienced, most courteous, and knowledgeable. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, adventure, wedding, family reunion, "girls" weekend or a corporate retreat/meeting, The Bayfield Inn offers a wide variety of lodging options to fit all needs and budgets. Choose from our 21 luxury hotel rooms or any of our centrally located Vacation Rentals including condominiums, homes, apartments and suites. The Bayfield Inn is at your service year-round. Secure complimentary high speed WiFi (30 mbps), HD programing to include HBO, and private off-street parking is available. Our restaurant serves Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner lakeside! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bayfield Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing