We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, nicely decorated ... and great food!”
Review of Harbor Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor Hill House
Ranked #4 of 15 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, clean, nicely decorated ... and great food!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over for a long weekend, and it was perfect! We had the Sky Room, which has a ceiling fan and a large picture window overlooking the lake and harbor. The Sky Room is decorated with wall paper than I can only describe as "a partly cloudy to mostly sunny day" -- very soothing and very spacious, with a huge closet and a huge bathroom with whirlpool tub (no shower). The bed was king sized and quite comfortable for both of us.

The main floor consists of the entryway with the kind of well-kept woodwork on the staircase and hutch that you just don't see in newer houses; the sitting room with a sofa, comfortable chairs, and a somewhat ornate fireplace; the dining room, again with excellent furnishings; and the kitchen, which appeared to be well equipped and spotless. Cleanliness and great decor throughout the entire house, yet very homey and comfortable -- not all like being in a museum where you don't want to touch anything. This is a beautiful house that is also a meant-to-be-lived-in home.

The hosts told us they were new to the area, but still they were quite knowledgeable about places to go and how to find our way around town -- very hospitable, relaxed and genuinely friendly too.

Breakfasts were pretty much whatever you wanted. I tend to eat sparingly for breakfast, so I didn't take advantage of all there was available, but there were freshly baked scones, muffins, jellies and jams, hot and cold cereal, juices, eggs or omelets -- as I said, if you could tell the hosts what you'd like to eat, they would make it for you. And when the weather is nice, I strongly recommend eating breakfast on the front porch, which overlooks the lake and harbor.

No question about it, this is a great B&B in an excellent location at a very reasonable price. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Sky Room is great: great view, very spacious, whirlpool tub, comfortable king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_from_Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
68
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited Bayfield for the labor day weekend. Since we booked at the last minute, there werent any hotels available. I must say we were glad we found reservation in HarborHill house instead, B&B right in front of the lake. Room we stayed was small but very comfortable and very nicely decorated. Our 10 yr old had a bed of her own and she was excited to have her own "space". Karen and "Track" pampered our daughter, made us feel at home and comfortable. Apple/walnut bar and scones were yummy. Track's stories and experiences were very interesting to listen to. Breakfast was excellent, especially since we are vegetarians and kind of worried about the options.
View from the sun room and dining room was awesome. Porch had a lot of flowers baskets and we were excited to see hummingbirds work on the nectar! We will definitely go back there. Weather was cold, otherwise we would have stayed for another night to enjoy the ferry ride to caves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guptnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The view from the room was awesome. In the morning you could watch the sun rise over the trees and the lake. It was an easy walk to downtown, yet far enough away to feel more removed from the hustle-and-bustle. The service was great and very personable and fun. Great breakfast options, particularly if your a vegetarian. We WILL go back!!

Room Tip: Obviously it doesn't have a fitness center or a pool, but it seems I must rate them for it to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a great stay here. Our room was not large but was comfortable and very nicely decorated. The breakfast was excellent (especially the Scottish option), and drinks and scones were available throughout the day. It was lovely to sit out on the porch in the morning enjoying our breakfast and the views. There is plenty to do in Bayfield and the surrounding area. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This beautiful hillside Victorian has wonderful views of Bayside Harbor and Lake Superior. It is a short walk to town. Rebecca and T.J. are warm hosts, and good cooks. Be aware that the largest room has a Jacuzzi, but no shower, so if you prefer a shower, it will be in a shared bathroom, assuming that another room is occupied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Two couples visited Bayfield and stayed at the Harbor Hill House. Perfect location, great food, elegant B&B and the hosts consisting of Rebecca and her husband T.J. couldn't have been any nicer and more genuine. We recommend this B&B across the board!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our first night out on a circle tour of Lake Superior. We were greeted by the smell of fresh bakery upon our arrival and our smiling host, Rebecca. We were made to feel right at home the moment of arrival. The home is from an era past, very nice, and very comfortable with a fantastic view of the harbor. Our room was clean and comfortable. Why would you ever stay at a motel/hotel???

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
14.1 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
594 reviews
16.7 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
418 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hill House

Property: Harbor Hill House
Address: 141 Front St, Bayfield, WI 54814-4985
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor hill house is a Victorian mansion located on the bluffs overlooking the Apostle Island located on Lake Superior. It has a commanding view of the water and the downtown from a wrap around covered porch. The views are simply breathtaking. The mansion has been refurbished to high standards and has many additional amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing