We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway for two.”
other travelers have booked this property
Cabin in the Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin in the Summer
Front of Cabin in Fall Front Deck in Fall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Cabin in the Summer
Front of Cabin in Fall
Front Deck in Fall
Kitchen
Lots of Good Books to Read - Board Games to Play
Living Room
Living Room - New Neo 1.6 Wood Stove
Relax on the chaise lounger in front of the new wood stove
Bed Overlooks Nature - Control Lights With Remote
Serta IComfort Savant Queen Bed
Serta IComfort Savant Queen Bed
Views of Nature From Bedroom Dresser
TV in Bedroom with Free Amazon Prime Movies
Toaster oven / Regular Coffee Maker
Keurig Coffee Maker
Chaise Lounger in Living room
Shower in Bathroom
Honeywell Color Thermostat (Gives Outside Temp and Humidity Too!)
Enjoy the cozy living room with great sound system
Kitchen
Snowmobile trail to Lake Superior across the street
Kitchen
Cozy!
Views of nature and winter wonderland from every window!
Pull Out Trash Bin Under Granite Island
Living Room
View from Kitchen Window in Winter
Near the Ice Caves!
Holiday Lights and Uplighting - Jan 2014
View from bedroom window - February 2014
Front Deck - January 2014
Private setting - Taken January 2014
View out Kitchen Window - January 8 2014
View out Kitchen Window Jan 6 2014
Cabin Driveway - January 2014
Cabin in Winter
Up-lights in winter with holiday rail lights
Backyard - Jan 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bayfield, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
b h
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway for two.”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at this very nice cabin with our dog. The walk to the private beach is short and the beach was great. The cabin is super comfortable and Rick has made even more updates since our stay. The drive to Bayfield is not to long and the town is great to visit and get supplies.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2015
Thanks for the nice review :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmallMedi...
Brooklyn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice cabin; noisy neighbors; no beach access; sleeps 2; too many rules”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Hauser Bayfield cabin is lovely…perfect for a couple, and has everything you would need. But there is just one bedroom and bed and it “Sleeps 2”, not 4 as the description claims. Not until we arrived did we understand that the leather couch and a roomy armchair with ottoman in the living room were supposed to be for sleeping. Evenings were beautiful, punctuated by the neighbors shooting off rounds of ammunition every night, and the teenagers tearing around next door on their ATVs. On down the road, some guys thought it was neighborly to decorate their yard van with "NO TRESPASSING" in large red paint. However, our two biggest complaints were that the VRBO description suggests the Hauser cabin as access to Raspberry Bay beach, which it does not. Finally, Mr. Hauser sent a 40 page booklet of rules, underscoring the need to conserve water. We found it stressful to be SO VERY MINDFUL of every drop of water we used. This was not due to a drought, but the fact that it costs him money to empty the holding tank. In fact he has a camcorder trained on the holding tank that intermittently relays pictures of the tank, but also has a good view of the driveway. Frankly it was creepy to think he could watch us. I would recommend Mr. Hauser rewrite his description with "full disclosure" and pare down his book of rules. For the price, which is quite high, we were pretty disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The area is lovely - Bayfield, The Apostle Island, Cornucopia
Liked least: Not enough beds and anxiety about water, plus camcorder
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2015
I shortened up the cabin guide. It has a number of pages thanks to all the features and things that have to be operated correctly (dishwasher has to be closed w/in 3 seconds of hitting start button, wood stove operation, operation of remotes etc.) No one has ever reported any noise or ATV's near the cabin. Neighbors can put whatever sign in their yards that they want as far as I am concerned. Probably good that they do put no trespassing - as I had a cabin guest last summer that trespassed w/o respect to their property. The reference to the local beach was taken off just after it was made into a conservancy. There are plenty of beaches to go to in the area - from Little Sand Bay to Madeline Island. People can use as much water as they want at the cabin. I only point out that if they can conserve = that would be great. Helps with our Green designation, and helps make the holding tank pump outs less frequent. Every 12 gallons down the drain is about $1 of holding tank pumping costs. The outdoor cabin cam has always been noted in the cabin guide. All they had to do is read the guide if they didn't like there being a cam. Yes - it is used to monitor the holding tank light, snow conditions in winter (for plowing), and other things that aid in operation of the cabin and guest safety.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C
1 review
“What a relaxing place to call home”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We came to Bayfield to help support our niece who was getting married in Ashland. When we learned of her engagement we were very excited for her - then panic set in when we began to think of what would we do with our two pet dogs that we have never left alone. In a random search on Craigs List, there was a posting for a pet friendly cabin in Bayfield, Wisconsin. It was as if this was meant to be. In the weeks and months prior to our arrival the owner Rick went above and beyond to update us and to help us prepare for our vacation. When we arrived at the cabin, we were greeted with soft gentle music and a sense of peace. We stayed at the cabin from Wednesday through Sunday and during that very busy and somewhat stressful time, we felt comfort in being able to relax in our new home away from home. Rick has poured his heart and soul into this property - you can feel it with his attention to detail. This was not just a run of the mill place to stay, but rather a very comfortable and relaxing destination. Our pets quickly adjusted to the cabin and loved the beautiful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail with the wood ceilings and brick wall finishes as well as being pet friendly.
Liked least: Thought the bathroom was small
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2015
I'm glad it was relaxing for you -- that is always my goal! :) Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannan S
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Retreat”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We really enjoyed our time at the Bayfield cabin. The setting is lovely and we loved being able to bring our dogs on vacation with us. The cabin is lovely and very well put together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to bring our dogs
Liked least: only TV in bedroom, we would have liked to watch a movie while NOT in bed.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2015
Thanks for the nice comments :-) Check out the new web site!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewed February 13, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2015
Thanks much! Glad you enjoyed! Return guests receive a complimentary bottle of champagne :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Evanston
Reviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2015
Thanks much! I enjoy giving people everything they need to make their experience as relaxing as possible :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Paul
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2015
Thanks much! Glad you loved it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing