We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Ice Cream and Candy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candy Shoppe

Candy Shoppe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Takeout
Description: great little ice cream shop on the main road.
Menominee, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream and Candy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lots of flavors of ice cream and sweet candy! I highly recommend a stop when in Bayfield. They also make a wonderful coffee cake.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Billiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    28
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I wish they were open 24 /7!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Yum! A very charming old-school candy shop. About the only thing not good is that they close kind of early-so plan on stopping in before you go to dinner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gracie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Like a kid in a kandy shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The little homemade candy shop is a must visit. Our favorite is the sea foam. Giant handful size pieces of this nutty sweet treasure is fabulous. Also try the almond birch bark, my husband's favorite. In the mood for an exceptional ice cream...try Zanzibar...the darkest chocolate you will ever enjoy. None like it anywhere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best around!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

You want great candy, fudge, choclates & baked good visit this place. Especially during early Ocotober before Bayfields big Applefest they have seriously the BEST, award winning apple bars (warmed of course) with cinnamon ice cream!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sammylovessun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Wine Bread! Really!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Anytime anyone we know mentions a trip to Bayfield, we suggest, "You have to go to the Candy Shoppe and get a Croatian Wine Bread1" Everyone makes a funny face if they've never had it before and think that the name sounds terrible. The title is deceptive. It's somewhere more in the neighborhood of a pastry and a kringle. We prefer the chocolate or almond, but after having many of the fruit flavors (the cherry was spectacular!), in my opinion it would be tough to make a bad choice. My wife and I have been to Bayfield several times to do different things, but we never skip ordering a wine bread.

They primarily make them to order, so you often have to wait, or come back to pick it up, but it is always worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candy Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing