We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE!!!!!!!”
Review of Seagull Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Bay Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“RUDE!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

For our second trip to Bayfield, we were looking at some of the place we remembered from our first trip to Bayfield. The Seagull Bay Motel had a nice location over looking the bay and a bit out of town. I emailed them to inquire about a reservation and they had availability. I emailed them again to inquire about the smoking policy for my spouse. We never expect to smoke in the room, but I wanted to see want the policy was at the Seagull Bay Motel. I recieved a very curt and rude email basically stating that they do not allow smoking on the premises and we should go else where. She was rude not just explaining the policy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DobyCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    80
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
113
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This was one of three places we stayed that weekend, and was the one we liked best. It was also the least expensive! Our room was minimal, but perfectly adequate. Each room opens to a long communal porch spanning the back of the building with a view of the lake. There is also a walking path behind the motel which takes you right into town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliveLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr, michigan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

What a nice place! We arrived later than we had planned and found a note at the reception desk welcoming us and telling us where our room was located. The lights were on and we were ready to relax after a long day on our motorcycle. It was very clean and had a great view of Lake Superior. We highly recommend this motel and would have liked to stay an extra day or two to fully enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclingduo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Many thanks to these TripAdvisor reviewers - they helped us find the Seagull. I can only reiterate what others have said: Fabulous views. Fabulous and incredibly helpful innkeeper. As has been pointed out, the Seagull is not fancy. No chintz or bathrobes - not that we all don't enjoy those things sometimes. The Seagull does what it does incredibly well, at a very good value. Think retro style motel but impeccably clean, with the best possible views, great internet signal (free), invaluable local knowledge and advice from the owner, lovely sound of Lake Superior waves, breeze through your open windows. As pointed out, there is no air conditioning. We used the fan in the window one night. We were very comfortable. Loved sitting out on the lawn in the lawn chairs. Had a picnic of local smoked fish at the picnic table. The trail/path to town was incredibly convenient. We'll be back! Thank you, Mike.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My family and I recently stayed at the Seagull Bay. We enjoyed the stay and the owners were very friendly and helpful. This place is not super fancy or anything and almost like a cabin type feel, but definately met our needs for the trip. The grounds and view are very nice with lots of tables and chairs to sit in and you cant beat the rates. The only thing I found a bit odd that I would sort of expect in any level of motel, was no shampoo, no iron, and no hair dryer. The office did provide an iron when we asked, but it would have been nice to have these items available without having to ask. The other thing was that the weather was around 85-90 degrees the weekend we were there and there was no air conditioning. It got pretty warm in our room especially during the day and it would have been nice to have A/C since sometimes even the breeze from Lake Superior is not enough to be comfortable. There was a fan in our room which helped some. I would stay at Seagull Bay again and would recommend it. Just keep in mind all of these things and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normmajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I've stayed at Seagull Bay many times & it's always a great experience. As many other have said, great location, incredible views, super clean rooms and it's very reasonably priced. Mike is almost always on the property and super friendly, if you're looking for something to do or a good place to eat, he has plenty of recommendations.

The complaints about the towels are really nonsense, they' not huge, plush bath wraps, but they do the job. I did ask Mike about it and he said basically "we're not the Ritz Carlton, but we're not priced like it either" and added that if anyone had a problem w/ the towels in their room, he'd be more than happy to open up a new pack and let you have your pick.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank volkswagendriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I felt like I was family. A great view of the big lake, a nice walking path, close to town, CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE!!! Affordable too. They met every need without being intrusive. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
594 reviews
16.1 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
418 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Bay Motel

Property: Seagull Bay Motel
Address: 325 S 7th St, Bayfield, WI 54814-4799
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Seagull Bay Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing