We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a gem!”
Review of Seagull Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Bay Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow! What a gem!”
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Many thanks to these TripAdvisor reviewers - they helped us find the Seagull. I can only reiterate what others have said: Fabulous views. Fabulous and incredibly helpful innkeeper. As has been pointed out, the Seagull is not fancy. No chintz or bathrobes - not that we all don't enjoy those things sometimes. The Seagull does what it does incredibly well, at a very good value. Think retro style motel but impeccably clean, with the best possible views, great internet signal (free), invaluable local knowledge and advice from the owner, lovely sound of Lake Superior waves, breeze through your open windows. As pointed out, there is no air conditioning. We used the fan in the window one night. We were very comfortable. Loved sitting out on the lawn in the lawn chairs. Had a picnic of local smoked fish at the picnic table. The trail/path to town was incredibly convenient. We'll be back! Thank you, Mike.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    80
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
113
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My family and I recently stayed at the Seagull Bay. We enjoyed the stay and the owners were very friendly and helpful. This place is not super fancy or anything and almost like a cabin type feel, but definately met our needs for the trip. The grounds and view are very nice with lots of tables and chairs to sit in and you cant beat the rates. The only thing I found a bit odd that I would sort of expect in any level of motel, was no shampoo, no iron, and no hair dryer. The office did provide an iron when we asked, but it would have been nice to have these items available without having to ask. The other thing was that the weather was around 85-90 degrees the weekend we were there and there was no air conditioning. It got pretty warm in our room especially during the day and it would have been nice to have A/C since sometimes even the breeze from Lake Superior is not enough to be comfortable. There was a fan in our room which helped some. I would stay at Seagull Bay again and would recommend it. Just keep in mind all of these things and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normmajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I've stayed at Seagull Bay many times & it's always a great experience. As many other have said, great location, incredible views, super clean rooms and it's very reasonably priced. Mike is almost always on the property and super friendly, if you're looking for something to do or a good place to eat, he has plenty of recommendations.

The complaints about the towels are really nonsense, they' not huge, plush bath wraps, but they do the job. I did ask Mike about it and he said basically "we're not the Ritz Carlton, but we're not priced like it either" and added that if anyone had a problem w/ the towels in their room, he'd be more than happy to open up a new pack and let you have your pick.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank volkswagendriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I felt like I was family. A great view of the big lake, a nice walking path, close to town, CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE!!! Affordable too. They met every need without being intrusive. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed with my best friend for a long weekend. I have only good things to say about the motel. The people were very nice and helpful. The rooms were big, clean and the view was great. They have free WI-FI. There is a path that takes you right to town. It was faster then driving. Weird.... Yes stay here... I don't think they have air tho we had a fan in our room, I never asked because it wasn't hot when we were there. If you need air ask first.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We were just here on Firday and it is as friendly and clean as the other reviews stated.
The view of the Lake is fabulous!!
We hight recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipestone, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Our experience at Seagull Bay was as pleasant as can be. Even our pets were welcomed and made to feel at home by proprietors and staff. What a blessing! The kitchenette was perfect for our needs and the view was spectacular! The linen and towels were clean and fresh; the accommodations were spotless -- TLC to the max! If you like REAL people with the gift of non-intrusive hospitality, you'll love Mike and Jeanne. Words cannot say how grateful we are to have found this haven on the shores of Lake Superior. We hope to return on a regular basis.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
594 reviews
16.1 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
416 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Bay Motel

Property: Seagull Bay Motel
Address: 325 S 7th St, Bayfield, WI 54814-4799
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Seagull Bay Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing