We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value in Bayfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seagull Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Bay Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
142 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best value in Bayfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

I've stayed at Seagull Bay many times & it's always a great experience. As many other have said, great location, incredible views, super clean rooms and it's very reasonably priced. Mike is almost always on the property and super friendly, if you're looking for something to do or a good place to eat, he has plenty of recommendations.

The complaints about the towels are really nonsense, they' not huge, plush bath wraps, but they do the job. I did ask Mike about it and he said basically "we're not the Ritz Carlton, but we're not priced like it either" and added that if anyone had a problem w/ the towels in their room, he'd be more than happy to open up a new pack and let you have your pick.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank volkswagendriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    78
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
106
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isanti, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

I felt like I was family. A great view of the big lake, a nice walking path, close to town, CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE!!! Affordable too. They met every need without being intrusive. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed with my best friend for a long weekend. I have only good things to say about the motel. The people were very nice and helpful. The rooms were big, clean and the view was great. They have free WI-FI. There is a path that takes you right to town. It was faster then driving. Weird.... Yes stay here... I don't think they have air tho we had a fan in our room, I never asked because it wasn't hot when we were there. If you need air ask first.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We were just here on Firday and it is as friendly and clean as the other reviews stated.
The view of the Lake is fabulous!!
We hight recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipestone, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Our experience at Seagull Bay was as pleasant as can be. Even our pets were welcomed and made to feel at home by proprietors and staff. What a blessing! The kitchenette was perfect for our needs and the view was spectacular! The linen and towels were clean and fresh; the accommodations were spotless -- TLC to the max! If you like REAL people with the gift of non-intrusive hospitality, you'll love Mike and Jeanne. Words cannot say how grateful we are to have found this haven on the shores of Lake Superior. We hope to return on a regular basis.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

Back in 2006 I wrote a review of this motel and decided after this recent stay (weekend before Memorial Day) I should write an updated review. But here's the catch. I've got almost nothing to update. I would write almost the same review today as I did back in 2006.

The motel STILL offers drop dead views of the lake and still has lousy threadbare towels (now after multiple visits over the past few years I bring my own!) The owners are still the same and still as friendly and helpful as the first time I stayed here. A few amenities have been added like wireless internet access and a few of the rooms have been upgraded with flatscreen TVs. Two really great aspects of the motel for which I have a new appreciation- the ENTIRE PROPERTY is smoke free (no smoking outside on decks) AND it is pet-friendly. Dogs have a great time on the ground floor- you can let them out right onto the grassy lawn (and no bright security lights, just a bit of noise from the rooms above).

No wonder that really the only thing that has changed is that more people have discovered this little gem. This is still the best option for a value priced motel with easy walking or driving access to Bayfield. Bring a book and a beverage and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorgirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST Paul, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Stayed at this wonderful motel the last 2 weekends. The rooms are simple but very clean. What makes this place so wonderful is the views and Mike (I believe he is the owner). Outside your room whether you are on the first level or second are chairs and tables with the most spectacular views of Lake Superior. Also in front of the property is a path that leads you to the town of Bayfield, only a 5 minute walk and going the other direction is about 2 miles of trails along the lake, beautiful. Mike who seems to always be on site is absolutly the nicest gentleman, and always willing to answer questions and make sure you are comfortable. As mentioned earlier the rooms are simple, nothing fancy but they do have a micro and refrig, they also have a couple rooms with kitchenettes. But the real draw is the view and very friendly atmosphere with a great mix of clients. You will enjoy this true beauty!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquavitgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
16.1 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Bay Motel

Property: Seagull Bay Motel
Address: 325 S 7th St, Bayfield, WI 54814-4799
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Seagull Bay Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing