We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Peaceful and oh-so-quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seagull Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Bay Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful and oh-so-quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

Wow... This place was absolutely gorgeous... now given that the room we had didnt have the view of Lake Superior and initially it did make me nervous about the noise because we were close to the main road after we closed the door the noise melted away to nothing. The people in this town are big time recyclers. I love it! The room we stayed in had skylights and wonderful warm water and it was also very clean and stylish. The entire time we were there we probably saw 1 or 2 people and the place was completely booked for the Labor Day Weekend. The best part was the view of the lake when you walked towards the back of the building.... wow.... and the little path you could take to walk to downtown - watch out for dog ka-ka though...
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and wished we could've stayed longer - this area is paddlers paradise!

  • Liked — The room, the view, the town, the lake, the sunsets
  • Disliked — None - everything was great!
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your kayak if you have one!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank xwarrior26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    78
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
106
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, WY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2006

I really enjoyed my stay the Seagull Bay Motel, I bet it is the best value in Bayfield.
Cons: No phones in any of the rooms, no continental breakfast, the rooms in the Western building are small and do not have a good a view of the lake.
Pros: a path runs right along the lake and past the hotel that leads you downtown. The views from the main building rooms is beautiful and the rooms in the main building are quite large.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Robin_g_Despain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2005

The Sea Gull Motel was our perfect place to stay. Arriving late in the evening, Mike had left us a note in the office which welcomed us and gave specific instructions to our room at SeaGull West. When we opened the door, our jaws dropped open as we saw a colorful mural above our bed. The details were amazing, the room itself spacious and immaculate. After discovering that treasure, we sat on the uppermost deck and marveled at the brilliant stars overhead and the view of LaPointe on Madeline Island. When we returned to our room, we were again delighted as we viewed constellations through the skylights. The quiet surroundings and location helped us relax and sleep soundly.
In the morning, I found a wonderful walking trail by the lake which led directly to the Bayfield docks. Downstairs we discovered ice for the room and bagged ice ($1) - a real bargain - along with pamphlets of the area. We found staff so pleasant and helpful - we can't wait to return to the Sea Gull next summer. We would recommend the motel to anyone who desires a reasonably-priced, quiet, and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Ontheroad504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2004

We had a great time at this hotel! Very clean and simple. The staff was so helpful and friendly. If your looking for fancy, this isn't your place but if you just want to get away, have a great view, nice walking trails and get away from it all...this is your place (and it's one of the cheaper places in Bayfield)

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank NationalGeographic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2004

We found it comfortable and quaint. it was very clean and relaxing. It is a calm place.... had a good time... would go back :o)

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2004

Very clean, but small rooms. No air conditioning. Excellent location, but rooms need some updating.

Helpful?
16 Thank bucky_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
15.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
16.1 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Bay Motel

Property: Seagull Bay Motel
Address: 325 S 7th St, Bayfield, WI 54814-4799
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Seagull Bay Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing