We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice if you like a basic room but a grand view!”
Review of Seagull Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Bay Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2008

This is tucked below a road and has excellent views of the Lake. Be sure and ask for a lakeview room. On their website: http://www.seagullbay.com/ you can find out which two rooms aren't lakeside. If you can't live without air conditioning don't stay here. We stayed in room 6 and were very happy. They have a microwave and fridge as well! Right below is a walking trail that extends into town. Due to heavy rains prior to our stay and construction on the trail it was unusable at the time. I look forward to this wonderful feature the next time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a close walk to the activities of town, but far enough removed that it's a very peaceful location. It was super quiet when we were here which was wonderful. They had chairs and picnic tables out on the lawn facing the lake. It's a basic room so if you're a bells and whistles person you won't enjoy it. If you're looking for your basic needs/accomodations this is perfect. The view and quietness of this place as well as the friendly staff lend to a wonderful motel experience. The cost is very reasonable too.

This location also provides shuttle transportation to and from the Big Top. We had wanted to do this with our visit to the Big Top the night before, but they were already booked as this was a last minute trip. Instead we stayed on the island the first night and moved over to Bayfield for the remainder of the trip.

If you want to stop at a great place with comparable pricing to many restaurants for breakfast or lunch I'd highly recommend the The Rittenhouse. We've been there once for lunch and this latest time for breakfast. Beautiful place, excellent food, reasonable prices (dinner may be diff. for prices, we haven't been for that meal). http://www.rittenhouseinn.com/

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank hatchpal4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 229 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2007

Our stay at the Seagull Bay Motel was very pleasant. We were warmly greeted and given a brief overview of Bayfield, since this was our first visit to the area. The room was cozy and clean. The motel was a short walk to town and had a beautiful view of the lake. I would definately come back and recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank glucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Wow... This place was absolutely gorgeous... now given that the room we had didnt have the view of Lake Superior and initially it did make me nervous about the noise because we were close to the main road after we closed the door the noise melted away to nothing. The people in this town are big time recyclers. I love it! The room we stayed in had skylights and wonderful warm water and it was also very clean and stylish. The entire time we were there we probably saw 1 or 2 people and the place was completely booked for the Labor Day Weekend. The best part was the view of the lake when you walked towards the back of the building.... wow.... and the little path you could take to walk to downtown - watch out for dog ka-ka though...
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and wished we could've stayed longer - this area is paddlers paradise!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank xwarrior26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

I really enjoyed my stay the Seagull Bay Motel, I bet it is the best value in Bayfield.
Cons: No phones in any of the rooms, no continental breakfast, the rooms in the Western building are small and do not have a good a view of the lake.
Pros: a path runs right along the lake and past the hotel that leads you downtown. The views from the main building rooms is beautiful and the rooms in the main building are quite large.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Robin_g_Despain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2005

The Sea Gull Motel was our perfect place to stay. Arriving late in the evening, Mike had left us a note in the office which welcomed us and gave specific instructions to our room at SeaGull West. When we opened the door, our jaws dropped open as we saw a colorful mural above our bed. The details were amazing, the room itself spacious and immaculate. After discovering that treasure, we sat on the uppermost deck and marveled at the brilliant stars overhead and the view of LaPointe on Madeline Island. When we returned to our room, we were again delighted as we viewed constellations through the skylights. The quiet surroundings and location helped us relax and sleep soundly.
In the morning, I found a wonderful walking trail by the lake which led directly to the Bayfield docks. Downstairs we discovered ice for the room and bagged ice ($1) - a real bargain - along with pamphlets of the area. We found staff so pleasant and helpful - we can't wait to return to the Sea Gull next summer. We would recommend the motel to anyone who desires a reasonably-priced, quiet, and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Ontheroad504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2004

We had a great time at this hotel! Very clean and simple. The staff was so helpful and friendly. If your looking for fancy, this isn't your place but if you just want to get away, have a great view, nice walking trails and get away from it all...this is your place (and it's one of the cheaper places in Bayfield)

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank NationalGeographic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
oakdale Minnesota
117
Reviewed August 27, 2004

We found it comfortable and quaint. it was very clean and relaxing. It is a calm place.... had a good time... would go back :o)

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
636 reviews
16.1 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#1 of 2 in Washburn
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#2 of 16 in Bayfield
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Bay Motel

Address: 325 S 7th St, Bayfield, WI 54814-4799
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Seagull Bay Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing