We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Stay again”
Review of Seagull Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Bay Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Will Stay again”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My sister and I needed a place to stay for one night, and this was the perfect place. The rooms were super clean, and very spacious. They had no other room with two beds so we stayed in the "residence". It had full kitchen, 3 bedrooms, a sauna, and large living room. The owners of the Seagull take great pride in keeping an immaculate motel, and it shows. We loved hiking along the path along Lake Superior and looking at the lake from the deck. We are thinking of coming back again next Summer.

Room Tip: The residence sleeps six very comfortably. There is some street noise in the front bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    80
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
112
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed in the residence again for two nights. Nothing like having your own 3-bedroom house with a deck overlooking Lake Superior. This is a great place to stay in Bayfield. The owners and staff are all friendly and helpful. It's nothing fancy, but it's so great having a house instead of a motel room for an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a quiet place to sleep and shower after a multi-day kayaking trip around the Apostle Islands. We had read excellent reviews about the Seagull Bay Motel and figured it would be exactly what we were looking for. Although my boyfriend and I are non-smokers, we have been known to indulge in a cigarette on the rare occasion. When they asked if we were smokers, my boyfriend responded truthfully, that we have smoked before in the past, but were not "smokers" in the traditional sense of the word. We made it extremely clear that we would not smoke in or around their establishment or in the town of Bayfield under any circumstances, but they rudely asked us to leave and said they would never rent to us. My advice, lie.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank EH321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent four nights at the Seagull Bay. What a great find! Not fancy, but spotless and pleasant - and the location can't be beat. If you're looking for peaceful, gorgeous setting and convenient location, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TwoByRail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our third stay at the Seagull Bay Motel, and we will definitely be back again. The rooms are nothing fancy but they are clean and have everything you need, including a fridge, microwave, and in-room coffee. Located on the shore of Lake Superior, you have a beautiful view from your room! The grounds are very nice, too, and you can also sit outside to enjoy the view. There is a walking trail in front of the motel that runs along the shoreline. There is no restaurant but the motel is within easy walking distance to downtown Bayfield via the trail, and there are menus from local restaurants available at the office. The staff is great. The property is 100% smoke free. The rates are very reasonable plus there are off season rates available mid-November to mid-May. No A/C but you are provided with a fan. If you are attending a concert at the Big Top Chautaqua, which is about 4 km away, there is a free shuttle service compliments of the Seagull Bay Motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just spent 2 days here. Superior view, really quiet and restful. The office staff was most accommodating and helpful. A perfect place for us and think it would be for most anyone. One of the tips about how good this place is, is that most of the folks we talked with were repeat customers. When in the office to get something folks who were checking out were trying to make reservations for next year.

Room Tip: Cottage was great, would stay here again everytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardw103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a day trip up to Lake Superior while visiting relatives in Wisconsin. We chose Bayfield since it looked wonderful from the internet pictures. We were lucky enough to get a room at the Seagull Bay Motel...This little motel is in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance to town via the trail right beneath the lawn overlooking Lake Superior.

The room looks right over the lake and with a large green lawn and lots of chairs and tables to relax and take it all in. The owners were amazing and very accommodating. The motel is dated but very clean and comfortable. The room was spacious and I had no complaints. There is no air conditioning but they provide a box fan. It was very warm that weekend so I needed the fan.

They offer complimentary ice which was very nice. The front desk is extremely informative on activities and restaurants. As we went into town and saw other hotels on the wharf right in downtown I was very pleased and preferred the Seagull Bay much more than I would have had we stayed at the other options.

Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njmaxca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
594 reviews
16.1 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
414 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Bay Motel

Property: Seagull Bay Motel
Address: 325 S 7th St, Bayfield, WI 54814-4799
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Seagull Bay Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing