We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOTALLY AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolfsong Adventures in Mushing

Wolfsong Adventures in Mushing
Ranked #3 of 18 Tours in Bayfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wolfsong Adventures in Mushing offers dog sledding trips for all ages and abilities. We are located in Northern Wisconsin near Bayfield. The focus is on the dogs, the 50 friendly Siberian Huskies, for these hands-on, 4 hour (with lunch) and 2 1/2 hour daily trips. Learn to drive-your-own team or ride along with one of the guides. Wolfsong has provided premiere dog sled touring experiences since 1997.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“TOTALLY AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had the most fantastic time - weather, people, and dogs could not have been more perfect! What an experience . . . For sure going back!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peggy588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    5
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Awesome wintercamping week-end!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Everything was perfect... The dogs are amazingly nice and cute. The snow conditions were good. People have taken very good care of us! The cabin was vry convenient, so adventurous and kept us very warm! This is the perfect adventurous we for couples who loves the wild of also with young children. Thanks to all of you guys!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmelieJT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A day filled with exhiliration, adventure, and love.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was an absolutely amazing experience. I had very high expectations and they were exceeded. The owners and the guide are fabulous people who clearly love both humans and dogs. They were kind and patient with us and were delighted by our enthusiasm. The dogs have clearly been very loved and believe that people are wonderful. They were so happy to be with us and to RUN!

Dress warmly, but prepare for action and movement. Come with an open heart to love those beautiful, loving pups! Revel in the breathtaking landscape as you glide past, pulled willingly and exuberantly by your team. Choose at least the morning run with lunch on the trail. This is four hours and in my opinion, not long enough! Next year, we're opting for the winter camping with the dogs!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sophie109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfsongAdventures, Manager at Wolfsong Adventures in Mushing, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thanks for mushing with us! Happy dogs = happy people and great trips. We'll see you next winter for some camping by dog sled!
Sarah
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun! I think the dogs enjoyed it as much as the people did.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was my first time dog sledding and it was a very fun thing to do. We did the four hour trip. The dogs are great and Wolfsong really makes sure you get a lot of time to interact with the dogs, from helping load them into the vehicle you take out to the trail, feeding and watering them and putting their harnesses on. We were out on the trail about two hours, including a 30-45 minute lunch break. Each person gets his or her own sled to run, which has a team of 4-6 dogs. There is a guide on the front sled and the back sled, and the dogs chase the sled in front of them (each sled is 50-100 feet apart usually), so you don't have give commands or anything. When I was there, they had seven sleds including 2 for the guides, and five for the participants. One person can sit in the sled if they want (there was a little girl sitting in one of the sleds in our group), but the best thing is to run your own sled. It was really quite easy to handle. The video on thier website is very accurate and was descriptive of what this entails.

Wolfsong was able to provide a lot of good cold-weather gear, including boots, "musher mitts" and gloves, and snowsuits. I had my own gear, but used a pair of the musher mitts they provided, and brought a backpack with water and extra cold weather clothes. Using a camera was tricky while the sled was going, since you need to hold on to the sled at all times, but I got a few good shots while it was going.

One of the neat things was how excited the dogs were. They were extrememly friendly and obviously very used to a lot different people. You could tell that they just really loved to run and were jumping up from their harnesses before we got going. It's nothing like the cartoons where there's a guy with a whip yelling "mush!".

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfsongAdventures, Manager at Wolfsong Adventures in Mushing, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thanks Joe! We're glad you had a great time and enjoyed the dogs as much as they enjoyed you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfsong Adventures in Mushing also viewed

 

Been to Wolfsong Adventures in Mushing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing