We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast of our Circle Tour”

The Egg Toss Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alto, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best breakfast of our Circle Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were told about The Egg Toss by a local person so we gave it a try. The 4 of us had a fantastic breakfast. Portions were more than plenty, but each meal was full in flavor. We will be back next time we tour around Lake Superior!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    137
    27
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
258 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

A wonderful breakfast menu. We each had half portions and found them more than enough. On a weekend, get there early or be prepared to wait. Atmosphere is colorful and funky, and locals mingle with the tourists.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic breakfast place in downtown Bayfield with big windows overlooking Lake Superior. Best omlete I've had anywhere with lots of veggies, cheese and, best of all, bacon. part of a jointly owned restaurant group including the spectacular gourmet restaurant Wild Rice and Maggie's, all wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic breakfast and setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Sat and visited for hours over coffee and their great bred. Their spinach & smoked trout omelet is a must!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Egg Toss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were staying on Madeline Island and went over to take one of the Apostle Island Boat Tours. We found the service on Madeline Island to be terrible and decided to eat in Bayfield instead with the hopes of having better service. The ferry people suggested a few places to eat and we headed off to the Egg Toss (the name sounded fun!) We were not disappointed as the food was outstanding and the service was exceptional! The portions were huge, great tastes and were were treated well by our server. Great experience and we loved it so much we went back the next day before we left the area. If you want the cinnamon buns though, get there before 8am.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nkleiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Egg Toss Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing