We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow! great fish fry!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier Plaza Restaurant & Pickled Herring Lounge

Pier Plaza Restaurant & Pickled Herring Lounge
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow! great fish fry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We arrived at 4pm, worn out from a day of shopping and driving, only to find out the fish fry didn't start until 4:30. Never fear! Our wonderful waitress brought us a salad and plenty of water, and kept us entertained until we could enjoy our fish. I had a mixed plate of lightly-battered white fish, lake trout, and herring (not pickled, deep fried!). All three were freshly caught that day, and very tasty. Add to that real garlic-mashed potatoes, and I was in heaven.

Being from Wisconsin, I've had thousands of Friday fish fries in my life, but this one ranks right up there in my top 10. Add to that a beautiful setting overlooking Lake Superior, a restaurant full of friendly local Bayfield residents, and a waitress worthy of a massive tip, and it was truly a day to remember.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ryansma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    146
    53
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We loved the atmosphere of both the indoor and outdoor dining. The menu had excellent choices and the food and staff were awesome.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Sit on the deck if you can (though the flies can get pesky). The view of the pier and islands was great. The thing I remember most from this place was the big sweet potato steak fries! The rest of the food was good too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great food, exceptional service. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The views are wonderful and it's right in the heart of town. Loved their Little Smokey burger which they won and award for. The best place I've eaten at in Bayfield.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wisc0nsinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect situated close to the waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A really nice place for a summer lunch, a cold beer included.
Various numbers of burgers, sallads, sandwiches etc
Very easy going and alert staff.
Fantastic view !
Staff and view exceeds the food but all together it becomes a
good "package" ,
so good that we actually payed a second visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier Plaza Restaurant & Pickled Herring Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Pier Plaza Restaurant & Pickled Herring Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing