We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Isaac Wing House
Nearby Hotels
$195
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove Point Lodge(Beaver Bay)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
16
7
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
7
1
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 26 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Isaac Wing House is a wonderful guest house in downtown Bayfield, Wisconsin. The amenities are perfect. The decor is warm, cozy and inviting. My husband and I shared The Phoenix room with another couple. There was plenty of room, a separate bedroom with a queen bed and two queens in the main sitting room. A sweet little kitchenette with a microwave, small fridge, sink and dishes. They welcome dogs, which we have so that was perfect for us. Jim and Trish, the owners, are there to help you with whatever you may need...directions, advice for restaurants and sights to see. In the summer there are beautiful flower gardens on the property to enjoy. There is plenty of parking available on the street or in back. It's location could't be better. You are within a block from the ferry, restaurants, the marina...everything is within walking distance. A great place to stay in beautiful Bayfield!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We are across the street from the main building. Room is OK, but no help available for bags to third floor walk up. Internet very slow. AC really poor. We won't be back.

2  Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Owner at Isaac Wing House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

During E-mail communications with the reviewer, he readily admitted that assistance was not requested with luggage which is always provided when requested. This was confirmed by the Bayfield Inn desk manager who recalled the reviewer's check in. If the front desk is busy, they frequently contact me for assistance as we live on site.
Our wireless internet is very fast. However there are several other nearby unsecured wireless routers to which the reviewer may have linked and may have slow speeds.
The air conditioning system is less than one year old and has been praised by previous guests for comfort and quiet. It is controlled by a remote which (as the sign says) must be pointed at the unit (like a TV). It has a selection for heat, fan, humidity control, as well as cool.
The common link in all three negative issues was that assistance was never requested. A simple request for help (The Bayfield Inn desk is staffed 24 hours a day) would have quickly resolved these issues and should have resulted in an enjoyable experience. Jim Bryan - owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Isaac Wing House in Downtown Bayfield, Wi. The house is set up with very clean and tastefully decorated individual suites, our suite had a separate bedroom and bathroom with a great sitting area. It also offers beautiful gardens with parking in back of the House, we walked everywhere, the location is fantastic, the nights are very quiet. I walked out of the front door in the morning looking at Lake Superior directly across the Street, we walked to the Ferry, wonderful Restaurants and Shopping, we also walked in the neighborhoods looking at the beautiful older homes. If you choose to take a drive, the location is close to many Orchards and other Restaurants or different points of interests. We also felt the rates are very reasonable comparing to other Lodging locations. We are looking forward to staying here again next time we visit. I am already missing the relaxing wonderful vacation we had.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We discovered the Isaac Wing House Emerald Suite while looking for a nice place that would accept our puppy to use as a base for exploring Bayfield over a four day weekend. We were fortunate to find this property through the Bayfield Inn. Our room was very comfortable with a bed as well as a couch/sitting area and a view of the lake. There was a whirlpool bath which thrilled my husband. The shared kitchenette with a microwave and fridge was great as we made sandwiches for hikes and kayaking. Trish and Jim, the owners, are warm and lovely hosts who are a great source of information and who have created such pleasure for all with the beautiful gardens surrounding the house. Our puppy appreciated the company of Lyra, Jim and Trisha's dog. The Bayfield Inn staff was also wonderful and helpful in many ways. We certainly will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirriusTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked the Isaac Wing House Emerald Suite through the Bayfield Inn. Not sure what to expect, we drove into town to check in at the Inn. To our surprise, directly across the street sat an adorable old red house -- the Isaac Wing House! Talk about convenient! It was a great place to stay. The Emerald Suite was perfect for us. It faced the lake and was close to the ferry/docks as well as just off main street. We could walk everywhere! Everything was clean and very well kept. There was a kitchen area right outside the suite with a microwave and frige that was convenient as well. Ice was supplied at the Bayfield Inn as was a small continential breakfast (nothing special). The gardens at Isaac Wing House were beautiful. Trish and Jim (the owners) were extremely friendly and offered suggestions of places to go when we had questions. People watching from the gliders on the front porch was also fun! When we return to Bayfield, we'll book the Isaac Wing House again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews