We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bicycle-Friendly, Gracious and Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bicycle-Friendly, Gracious and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed here on an early Fall evening as we cycled our way south on the C&O Canal trail. The innkeeper provided us easy to follow directions from the bike trail and excellent and secure garage accommodations for our bikes, which we really appreciated. We stayed in the Harper's Ferry room which included a separate, small sitting area with TV and CD player. The innkeeper thoughtfully pointed out several CDs on Antietam and the Civil War. We watched the recommended one-hour CD on Antietam which greatly enhanced our visit to the battlefield the next day. The house was filled with lovely period furnishings. Our bed was comfortable and cozy and we also enjoyed the spacious and comfortable back porch. In the morning we feasted on a delicious and filling breakfast, featuring baked French toast and a huge platter of various fresh fruits. To personalize our visit the innkeeper had made a point of learning every guest's name. She introduced everyone at breakfast, and then gave us a fascinating history of the house and the area as we began our breakfast. The house is just a mile from the main entrance to the Antietam battlefield, making it a convenient stop for anyone planning to visit the park or touring on the C&O bike trail. Our only complaint was the woeful showerhead in our bathroom. As nice as everything else in the house was, it seems past time to upgrade the showerhead.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susie1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbreiten, Owner at Jacob Rohrbach Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. We make continual improvements to the Inn and were surprised that we had overlooked upgrading those shower heads. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, they have all been replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
204
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. We were able to get a ground floor room with separate entrance which gave us a real sense of privacy. The hostess and host were engaging and knowledgeable (and breakfast was fantastic). We especially enjoyed sitting around a large dining room table and swapping stories with Civil War buffs who have stayed there for years. Conversing with those who are annual return visitors to the Inn is a sure vote of confidence for the ongoing excellence of the innkeepers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphysmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

I am unsure of where to begin--one of the best B and B experiences I've ever had, in the US or abroad.
First of all, Joanne should open up a bakery in addition to running the B and B. Her food is amazing. AMAZING. Cookies are available all the time (I highly recommend the chocolate covered cherry ones), and at breakfast there were several choice tidbits in addition to the main course, which was wonderful both days. Further, my partner has severe dairy and red-meat allergies, and she completely accomodated them to the point that everyone was asking for recipes.
Secondly, the house has been very tastefully restored--the room we stayed in was perfectly clean and very comfortable, with a TV/DVD player, books, comfortable chairs for reading, etc. There is a lounge that you can sit in as well.
Further, Joanne is just an amazing host. If you want tales of local history, she has you covered. You want the scenic route into Harper's Ferry--she'll print you out directions. She does a good job of connecting everyone at breakfast through introductions and the like, interspersing thoughts and comments as she is whizzing about that help to keep the conversation going.
While we were there my partner ended up with a scratched cornea, involving a trip to the emergency room and a revision of our evening plans. I went out to the lounge to read as he napped, and Joanne talked to me for a while and went above and beyond by making me a fruit and cheese plate since we'd had to grab dinner on the fly and hadn't had very much to eat. This was an exceptionally kind thing to do, and I am still very appreciative.
Additionally, we are a gay couple who found this B and B on a gay-B and B site, and not only were our hosts wonderful and welcoming, but the other straight couples we ate breakfast with were a delight to chat with--we never felt even remotely uncomfortable.
To sum up--stay here. Book now. Great for a weekend getaway, whether you mostly hang around the house, tour Antietam battlefields, hit up Harper's Ferry, or drink up at wineries. If you need advice, just ask Joanne.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orpheus991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay, the first, at Jacob Rohrback Inn. Joanne was just wonderful! She was helpful and warm, then left us to ourselves. We enjoyed the history of the Inn and the surrounding area (Antietam, Shepherdstown, etc).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

This is a beautiful stop with beautiful rooms, service and very welcoming. Joann is a smart, interesting, warm host. The food is good. The rooms wonderful, beautifully maintained and unusually large and comfortable. The location perfect for a visit to the area and particularly the Antietam National Park. This is an A+ spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandwich42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

The Inn has been preserved and is beautiful. The hosts (Joanne and Paul) are super friendly and provided excellent meals, service and company! We look forward to returning to the Jacob Rohrbach Inn on our next trip through Antietam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clemsontigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Joanne and Paul were the perfect hosts for our regrettably short stay, on our way to Pennsylvania. We stayed in the evocative Thomas Jackson room, and you could feel the history seeping out of every pore of this gracious old lady. Positively a place we intend to stay at again when we re-visit to explore this beautiful area.
warrior193

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warrior193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
9.3 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing