We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winner of our favorite B & B”
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winner of our favorite B & B”
Reviewed May 19, 2009

The Jacob Rohrbach Inn was perfect for what we wanted; a small town, a quaint old inn with all of the modern ammenities, a delightful hostess with plenty of local recommendations for what to do and where to eat, a lovely garden and walking distance to Nutter's Ice Cream where we had some of our best ever ice cream for $1.15 with a sugar cone. Joanne's breakfasts were so good I had to get recipes. We enjoyed a personal tour of Antietam by Bob and the Stone Soup Bistro in Shepherdstown and a day trip to Harper's Ferry. We are enjoying fond memories of our visit!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGandWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
69
217
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Very nice b&b located just near the battlefield at Antietam. A great spot to explore this as well as nearby Harper's Ferry. Hosts were very friendly and welcoming and the house is quite roomy.

We were surprised that many of the other guests were more get-a-way type visitors versus people visiting the historical sites, but everyone was very pleasant and we had much to discuss over the wonderful breakfasts served here.

Be aware that the town of Sharpsburg itself has no restaurants or shops, so you will need to drive approximately 15 minutes to Shepherdstown, WV for dinner. It is an easy drive and Joanne and Paul have all the info you need to find the right spot to eat. It is a neat little town and we were glad we had the chance to explore it a bit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMoreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Joanne is a wonderful hostess--great breakfast cakes, breads, egg dishes and stratas. The best was a "stuffed french toast". The gardens are on the brink of beautiful--haven't quite bloomed yet--would love to see all of the flowers when they do bloom. It is a short drive to Antietam Battlefield. Short drive to cross the Potomac to the cute college town of Shepherdstown--several good restaurants. Easy drive to Harper's Ferry --- deserves at least a full day. Local ice cream parlor is great and very inexpensive. All in all, the area, the B & B, the food and the attractions make this a must for anyone considering a trip to the Civil War battlefields.--Oops!! How could I forget the ironed sheets??

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2009

The Jacob Rohrbach Inn, hosted by Paul and Joanne, was a delightful experience, and the breakfast was exceptional. The hospitality was warm and sincere. Since we were in Sharpsburg to learn more about the battle at Antietam, the Rohrbach Inn provided a great location to start our adventure. We recommend the Inn to anyone visiting Sharpsburg.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _frank_rMurray_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover PA
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2009

What a delight! We selected this inn because it was in a great location and looked charming. Thanks to Grandma, we were getting a much needed weekend away and it was important to stay within a couple of hours from home. I could tell from the photos it was lovely but what a surprise! Everything was so wonderful!
We stayed in the General's Quarters and I couldn't have asked for more...quiet town, luxurious room and wonderful hosts! The breakfast was awesome...full of fresh baked breads, fruits and a terrific omelet.
Overall, it was a truly wonderful weekend away and I will be sure to tell my friends about it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Twice in the last four years my wife and I stayed at the Joseph Rohrbach Inn. Both times have been wonderful experiences. The hospitality shown by Joanne and Paul were absolutely wonderful as were the breakfasts served by Joanne. On our second trip we were accompanied by our Grandson, who was 4 at the time. We stayed in the newly finished separate outbuilding that allowed him to be himself and not bother the other guests. He referred to it as the "Little House". Joanne and Paul welcomed him as they welcomed us. When we are in or around Sharpsburg, we will always stay at the Joseph Rohrbach Inn.

  • Liked — The location and the service [rpvided by Joanne and Paul
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cowboygib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

This is an well-run, exceptionally nice bed and breakfast. Our room was beautifully furnished, clean and quiet. The inn keepers were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed spending time with them and they were never intrusive. The food was excellent. They helped us find out-of-the-way places in the area and recommended excellent restaurants. Both my husband and I want to go back. We would definitely stay here if we are anywhere close to the area. A truly lovely experience.

  • Liked — Excellent rooms/food
  • Disliked — no negatives for us
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centexDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
825 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
137 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
9.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
292 reviews
9.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing