We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitable, Helpful, and Historical”
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hospitable, Helpful, and Historical”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

This inn is SUPER! The hosts bend over backwards to make sure you feel welcome. JoAnn met us at the door and showed us around. Our room was nice and the bed inviting. She advised me to watch a DVD about the Battle of Antietam and it was very helpful.

Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed visiting with everyone-that's part of the BNB experience!
She gave us a history of the inn and even let us borrow a driving CD which made everything come alive. For a civil war buff, I was thrilled and look forward to returning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roxron800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
68
211
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed in the Harper's Ferry Suite which was perfect as we had our 16-year old grandson with us. The TV was in a small sitting room separate from the bedroom, so the grandson could watch TV while we read and/or slept. Conversation at breakfast was lively and Joanne gave us some very interesting history about the house. The only thing I wish we knew while there was that they had an audio CD that we could have used to tour Antietam. If I'm not mistaken, their website said that such CDs were available for purchase. Now reading that another guest was given one as a loaner, it would have been nice to know that one was available for our use. We enjoyed meeting Dusty, the kitty, also. The inn is in a good location in the middle of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights while we toured Antietam, Harper's Ferry, and Monocacy. Extremely friendly owners, enjoyed the company of the other guests, breakfast was wonderful. Very accomodating - made me a special pot of cocoa! Only a short distance to the battlefield and lots of good eating in town, Shepardstown, and Boonsboro. Never had a bad meal. Hope the bikers got back to DC OK!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great location to the battlefield and to a number of excellent restaurants. Hosts were great. Really enjoyed our breakfast "history lessons" about the battlefield, the inn, and the surrounding town. Had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived around 5:30, and were asked whether we planned to visit the Antietam battlefield. When we said, unfortunately we are getting here so late that it just isn't possible. She told us that while the visitor's center was closed, the park would be open until dark and offered to lend us a CD of an audio guide to the battlefield. While we had to rush a bit, we were able to see much of the sites and get a good feel for what happened there and the significance. She also told us that Shepherdstown, West Virginia, just across the Potomac, was W.Va.'s oldest town and had a number of nice restaurants. So right after our drive through the park, we drove there to have dinner. A quick stroll down old bricked sidewalks, and a number of good choices. The House itself has a lot of character, the accomodations were very comfortable, and the breakfast was great. The guidance that we got though, is what made us feel as if we had visited the area rather than just passed through.

Room Tip: Our room was great, next to the door to the balcony, where it would have been nice to sit and relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a night while visiting Antietam and just prior to a long bike ride back to DC on the C&O Canal Trail, and had a wonderful time in this historic and friendly inn. The next morning we awoke to a superb and hearty breakfast to start the journey home.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SvenskPojken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaQuinta, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The inn is a charming old house, right in town for easy walking to restuarant and ice cream shop, and just a few minutes' drive from the battlefield. Rooms set up as suites with sitting areas, lots of space for relaxing. Well furnished with everything one needs from hair dryer to flashlight and Kleenex by the bed, along with good TV and DVD, complimentary bottles of water. Joann is very friendly hostess and excellent cook. Delicious plentiful breakfast -- crumbcake outstanding. She is also knowledgeable about history of the house and the area. A good experience all in all. Would go back.

Green Features: Recycling is always good, and they have bin for water bottles right by the back door.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing