We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, nice people, great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, nice people, great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great location to the battlefield and to a number of excellent restaurants. Hosts were great. Really enjoyed our breakfast "history lessons" about the battlefield, the inn, and the surrounding town. Had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
204
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived around 5:30, and were asked whether we planned to visit the Antietam battlefield. When we said, unfortunately we are getting here so late that it just isn't possible. She told us that while the visitor's center was closed, the park would be open until dark and offered to lend us a CD of an audio guide to the battlefield. While we had to rush a bit, we were able to see much of the sites and get a good feel for what happened there and the significance. She also told us that Shepherdstown, West Virginia, just across the Potomac, was W.Va.'s oldest town and had a number of nice restaurants. So right after our drive through the park, we drove there to have dinner. A quick stroll down old bricked sidewalks, and a number of good choices. The House itself has a lot of character, the accomodations were very comfortable, and the breakfast was great. The guidance that we got though, is what made us feel as if we had visited the area rather than just passed through.

Room Tip: Our room was great, next to the door to the balcony, where it would have been nice to sit and relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a night while visiting Antietam and just prior to a long bike ride back to DC on the C&O Canal Trail, and had a wonderful time in this historic and friendly inn. The next morning we awoke to a superb and hearty breakfast to start the journey home.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SvenskPojken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaQuinta, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

The inn is a charming old house, right in town for easy walking to restuarant and ice cream shop, and just a few minutes' drive from the battlefield. Rooms set up as suites with sitting areas, lots of space for relaxing. Well furnished with everything one needs from hair dryer to flashlight and Kleenex by the bed, along with good TV and DVD, complimentary bottles of water. Joann is very friendly hostess and excellent cook. Delicious plentiful breakfast -- crumbcake outstanding. She is also knowledgeable about history of the house and the area. A good experience all in all. Would go back.

Green Features: Recycling is always good, and they have bin for water bottles right by the back door.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We enjoyed our room at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. It was spacious, clean, well appointed and we slept quite well. Since we stayed two nights, we had a chance to rate breakfast based on more than one experience. Both the soufflé and the quiche were served cold, or room temperature at best. Everything else, juice, coffee, breads and fruit were OK. I'd skip the cold stuff.

The Inn's website led us to a tour guide for Antietam battlefield. Bob is a gem who tailors his approach to his clients. Very worthwhile!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ijg1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRIowner, Owner at Jacob Rohrbach Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Your review says it is for a stay in May, but actually it was a weekend in April that you arrived in the same car with Bob H (next review) . We are sorry you didn't enjoy the entree's, however you said nothing at the time, so how could we fix it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The breakfast fruit and coffee were good but the the quiche was cold. The house is historic and interesting, but the bed squeaked. The Hostess was friendly but overly-talkative. Great location for Antietam Battlefield.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRIowner, Owner at Jacob Rohrbach Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
You seemed like a self-confident adult but you stayed two nights, Saturday and Sunday, without mentioning any problems. You say there was a problem with your bed, had we known we could have remedied that right away. At breakfast on Sunday when asked you said the breakfast was excellent, but after leaving you write here about a problem with the food. The quiche you were served is a recipe that is traditionally served a room temperature. If you had mentioned it at the time we could have adjusted it for you right away. My wife takes pride in sharing her knowledge of the history of the the Rohrbach family, the murder of Jacob Rohrbach, the house, and how it all ties in with the Battle of Antietam. Most people appreciate her story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had waited over 50 years to visit Sharpsburg and I could not have stayed in a more welcoming and comfortable place. The accommodation is beautifully presented; Joanne and Paul have managed to keep the old feel of the old building whilst making it very comfortable with all modern conveniences. They are most hospitable and helpful without being in any way intrusive and the breakfasts are home-cooked heaven. I had three memorable days there and will retain very fond memories of my stay. I give this 6 out of 5!

Room Tip: I stayed in the beautiful Clara Barton suite which was comfortable and spacious, but I also sneaked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
9.3 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing